We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A seafood lover's heaven!”

Filimonova and Yankel Fish-House
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Patriarch Ponds
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A seafood lover's heaven!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I often eat at Goodman's when staying on Tverskaya, especially when my steak-loving colleague comes along but fancied a change. I love seafood and this place hit the spot. You could choose lobster which would be wandering around the tank until moments before you ate it!
I ordered the crab and mushroom cocotte to start and it was superb. A really rich sauce, tonnes of mushrooms and plenty of crab - large pieces, none of this flaky stuff, and a cheese crust.
Main was seafood and grilled veg - plenty of scallops - queen and sea, octopus and prawns, the veg were aubergine, courgette and yellow pepper.
There was ample seafood - the main reason for ordering the dish, I grant you, but only one piece of each veg. I would have preferred a little more. The dish was very well flavoured and tasteed really fresh.
Dessert was a creme brulee with blueberries.
the restaurant was relatively quiet - Monday night, heavy snow in early February, but a really nice place.
Service was very good, my waiter was attentive and never far away, possibly becasue it was a little quiet, but he was not pushy in any way.
I am getting used to "moderate" pricing in Moscow equating to extortionate anywhere else. Three course and 2 glasses of one of the cheapest wines (tasted very good) left me R3000 lighter, but richer for the pleasure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    28
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best snails in Moscow :)”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

One of the most suitable places for a business lunch for those who prefer fish. When ordering, you may want to look for Fish-Dinner menu - the best price/quality offer. The offered grilled Sea-Bass is prepared very well.

I must mention the snails with garlic, which are delicious when served with some white wine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yas4ik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Value for money fish in Moscow”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a nice alternative to a few expensive fish restaurants in Moscow, as prices in Filimonova are reasonable and the fish is fresh. Owned by the same group as the Goodman steak house chain. They have a few outlets, but my favorite is the one on Tverskaya -- quality is consistent. Their wine list is moderate, but includes several choices below 1,500 rubles (50 dollars). Grilled dorada or seabass is very good, as is grilled seafood platter, mussles and salmon. Apple pie with icecream for desert is truly excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxV_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“just okay to tick an outing”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I pushed wife into a vertually empty hall on an evening following a boat trip on Moskva river as their one outlet faces the getoff stop. I owed a party and ordered one of a pricier fish dishes plus wine. What arrived was eatable / drinkable - and that's it. We sure had tasted better wines on our travels, to speak nothing of Malaysian fish preparations, sizzlers etc. This here, alas, was as ordinary as I may fry at home with little oil and herbs on hand. With not even a live band around to dispell out boredom, we headed home, the night out nipped. The girl attendant handed us a leaflet and invited to call again. I can't blame her nor the Chef - they are captives of the listless atmosphere. Perhaps the cooked fish was too. Blessed are the handful of other eateries that have overcome the listlessness. I realize that I am being up against so many happy zany reviews but then it's Russia you know.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elbaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastically fresh, tasty seafood in Moscow! Tbepckar 23”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

A local took us to Filimonova & Yankel Fish House for dinner. Best seafood meal in Moscow (on our 6th night in Moscow, so we had tried a few). We had the special of the day - sea bass with either Broccoli or French fries for 990 rubels - around US$30. Excellent wine list.
Located at Tbepckar 23; down drive way, recognisable by orange themed decor. Nr. Pushkinskaya metro.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margot349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filimonova and Yankel Fish-House also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing