We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Timisoara”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Timisoara
Ohio
Level Contributor
282 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“One of the best in Timisoara”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The rooms are quite spacious including a seating area and desk. The bath is large. It is quiet at night (mostly) and you can adjust your own room temperature. The staff are very responsive and polite. It was a good way to spend my last night in Romania before leaving for other destinations.

A few areas could be improved. The wifi is weak and you cannot access it in the bathroom or breakfast room. Breakfast is not for vegetarians--there were not enough vegetarian hot dishes. It is not accessible. There are huge steps you must climb, with luggage, to enter the hotel. This stopped it from getting a full 5 stars. They have to configure the entrance to make it easier for getting in and out with luggage.

Still, it was one of the best places I have stayed in Timisoara.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    81
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
44
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Even though my partner and I stayed here a couple of months ago, I still feel I'd like to spread the word about this hotel.

We spent three nights here last year and I was very impressed with the quality of the room and the service provided.

The parking facilities were good and on the morning of our last day, the staff had made us a packed lunch as we had numerous hours of driving ahead of us.

We'll definitely be back the next time we're in Timisoara.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hotel is situated 3-5 minutes from center (walking distance) and that is great. Rooms are nice and clean. Heating is good and adjustable. Staff is friendly. Parking is limited (about 10 spaces). Elevator was broken and we were on the third floor...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I would like to rate this hotel 3.5 out of 5 but don't have the option to do so using Trip Advisor - it is not a very good hotel but it is above average.

I stayed here while traveling on business for 1 week. To be straight, the hotel is probably not at the 4* N. European/US Standard but it is well located, it is clean and comfortable and the staff are very helpful. It is most like a good 3* in N. Europe/US and for the excellent rate I was more than happy with what I got.

A couple of points -
the WIFI did not work for me at all but I didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel so didn't do anything about it.
Contrary to other reviewers I thought the breakfast was fine - fruit, yoghourt, eggs, selection of bread and cheese, cold meats, juices, water, coffee - the same as anywhere else.
Everyone smokes everywhere in Romania so you will find people smoking at dinner in the restaurant, which if you are not used to it, is not that pleasant...but this is nothing to do with the hotel as such as it is the same everywhere you go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieMacEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Poor breakfast, avarage room, avarage service... Not very bad, but definitely doesn't worth 4 stars! I can give 4 rank in case of 3 stars, but not for 4!
Restaurant - is worthless.
My room was too hot (in mid November), but all windows were locked.

Room Tip: My room was too hot in mid November.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

the hotel is classified 4 star, but the service provided such breakfast, efficency of the staff and the rooms decoration is for a 3 star hotel max.
Savoy hotel is conviniently located , walking distance to the hearth of the citycenter .
.

Room Tip: considering the level in Timisoara , room's rate should be cheaper, around 40 €
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonimomilano_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stylish place, modern but with an established feel. Well-located, a short stroll across the canal to the main square. Good free wifi, nice breakfasts, excellent staff. Superior rooms are worth the extra (penthouse apartments very spacious), but standard rooms are of good quality too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for great review. We are waiting for you next time you are in Timisoara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timisoara hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Timisoara
NH Timisoara
#1 of 49 in Timisoara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timisoara Hotel
Timisoara Hotel
#5 of 49 in Timisoara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Galaxy
Hotel Galaxy
#4 of 49 in Timisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa del Sole
0.6 mi away
North Star Continental Resort
0.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Iosefin Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Splai Vladimirescu Tudor 2, Timisoara 300193, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Western Romania > Timis County > Timisoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Timisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property, built in 1935, has always had an air of exclusivity and refinement. Behind the original facades, the rooms are tastefully and sympathetically restored. The interiors are contemporary and have a real sense of style, while retaining much of their original, quintessentially art-deco elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing