We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service”

Restaurant terasa Gradina Banateana
Ranked #81 of 249 Restaurants in Timisoara
Cuisines: Romanian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The restaurant was right on the river which was lovely. We found the gentle breeze to be welcome given the large number of heavy smokers among the guests. The restaurant does not have a dedicated non-smoking section. The food was standard Romanian comfort food fare. It took quite a while for a waiter to acknowledge, even longer to get the food, and even longer still to get the bill. This on top of the restaurant being practically empty.
I would not recommend this restaurant for tourists.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pondtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    18
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"EXCELLENT"”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and i visited Timisoara these year.We heave very good experience at Gradina Banateana.The food we head we enjoy so much! Everything is made in the house:soups,"Ciorba de burta"Mititei and everything else. Bravo Feri!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CETATUIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant Overlooking the Bega River”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a most enjoyable evening with Timisoara friends at the Gradina Banateana Restaurant. The food was very good, standard Romanian comfort food fare. Portions were generous.
Service was leisurely, friendly, and efficient.
We chose the patio garden on this abnormally hot August evening. We found the space adjacent to a walking path on the Bega River to be very attractive. We found the gentle breeze to be welcome given the heat and the large number of heavy smokers among the guests. The restaurant does not have a dedicated non-smoking section.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bfg1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romanian food with Heart”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I was 2 days ago at Gradina Banateana Restaurant. Huge Discovery! even if we were without reservation, the team makes an effort and they offer a good position. We order traditional romanian food. the suggestions of the waiter were good,following our wishes. The food, well cooked. my recommandation: Pancakes from Banat, Clatite Banatene. 5stars from 5. I reccomend a stop after that to the bar, Cafee People

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank floringh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant terasa Gradina Banateana also viewed

Timisoara, Timis County
Timisoara, Timis County
 
Timisoara, Timis County
Timisoara, Timis County
 
Timisoara, Timis County
Timisoara, Timis County
 

Been to Restaurant terasa Gradina Banateana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing