We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Un Havre de paix”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Costel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Costel
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Un Havre de paix”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Friends created this hostel in a old house. Really friendly & helpfull people. Perfect. This place is just like the city of Timisoara in itself: old but charming, green, multi-kulti, open-minded, chill...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnybegold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
6
36
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Hostel costel is one of my fave hostels! It's in a gorgeous building, massive rooms which have been decorated really well. The common areas have heaps of character - loads of info, things to do. There is a gorgeous outdoor terrace with comfy couches, a hammock out the back, fresh veggie patch and 2 dogs to make the stay amazing!
The staff are helpful, friendly and really showed us a good time here! Locally made liquor, food etc was always around! Definitely a good place to come for a chill out, a sense of home and some romanian fun
Thanks for an great few days!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank LucyR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Tucked away in a little street in a residential area, Hostel Costel has oodles of character.An old villa that has been tastefully transformed by the team into a cheerful meeting point for travellers.

The ultra friendly staff welcomes you and instantly makes you feel at home, as does loveable little Bronco, their dog.

You can sit for hours chatting in the quaint kitchen and adjoining hang out browsing through old vinyls,tasting different teas, or at the terrace, or the rear garden under the apple tree and grapevines, or in the sitting room.The place has been designed to encourage conversation and sharing of travel tales.

The hostel is located well within walking distance of the city centre, yet away from the humdrum.

The dorms are large, well ventilated, done up in bright, happy colours.The private room is indeed private, located upstairs.

The toilets and showers have not been left out in their aesthetics, but could be cleaner.

A stay at Hostel Costel makes your stay at Timisoara a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zcaarthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've been visiting Timişoara on 29th june 2012 for a concert with my band and we stayed at Hostel Costel. The place is amazing, it's far better than most of the hotels and the staff made us a very warm reception. It has a beautiful garden, it has a lot of a space and I must say, I would've stayed there the whole summer! Whenever I'll come again to Timişoara I will stay again here no matter what! If you're planing to visit Timişoara, and you want to have a great place where to stay, Hostel Costel is, by far, the best option.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the garden area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

yes, this is one of the best hostels where i stayed the last three years. A beautifull house in a inspiring and calm area. And nice hosts, sometimes its really difficult to leave somewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugo_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uebeschi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2012

By far the best hostel I stayed so far. And the others weren't bad at all. Located in a calm area, but just 10 min. walking and you are in the middle of the city center. It's in an old, big and beautiful villa, with a lot of amazing and selfmade details. And surrounded by a nice garden. But the best on Hostel Costel are the hosts. You can feel and see their enthusiasm and heartblood. My advice: Go there and feel happy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I've been travelling around the world for the last seven years of my life, and I have never, ever stayed anywhere as welcoming as this. From the second I arrived until the second I left (kicking and screaming, I might add), I made so many friends, eaten such delicious food, and truly had one of the best experiences ever.
Thank you guys for giving me this opportunity to give such a fantastic review.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkidner18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timisoara hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Timisoara
NH Timisoara
#1 of 49 in Timisoara
283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Timisoara Hotel
Timisoara Hotel
#4 of 49 in Timisoara
359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 49 in Timisoara
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
North Star Continental Resort
1.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa del Sole
1.6 mi away
Apart Hotel Iosefin Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Costel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Costel

Property: Hostel Costel
Address: Strada Sfetca Petru, Timisoara 300093, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Western Romania > Timis County > Timisoara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Timisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 90 year old villa has been completely renovated by us and transformed into the warm and cosy Hostel Costel. There are 3 shared bedrooms and one private room besides various common areas (living, chill-lounge, garden, etc.). Situated on the riverbanks our location is close to the historic city-center, campus area and all the party places. If you are just passing by or staying longer this is the best place to start your trip through Timisoara/Romania! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Costel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing