We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare, good italian restaurant in Transilvania”
Review of La Teo Restaurant

La Teo Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 90 Restaurants in Tirgu Mures
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hello! Ciao! Szia! Salut! La Teo, No. 1 Alexandru Papiu Ilarian street (right next to the Medieval Fortress and "Petru Maior" University). We specialize in Italian style dishes and International classics. Our restaurant is unlike most restaurants in the city: we use only fresh local produce and Italian DOP traditional specialities. We serve illy espresso coffee and house made cakes and deserts. La Teo is self proclaimed to be the city's friendliest restaurant, run by a friendly owner Teo and his family.
Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rare, good italian restaurant in Transilvania”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

One of the few Italian restaurants which have a really good chef, and this means good food! Without it would be just another fancy, overpriced restaurant. But the italian food is almost perfect.
Positive: good chef, nice furniture, good wines
Negative: smoking is allowed! I never liked those restaurants where the smokers and non-smokers are not separated. I think a restaurant should be only non-smoker. The romanian beers are available only in small bottles and there are very overpiced. Waiters could be nicer as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carsteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    47
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I ordered a grilled turkey breast and some pickles. There wasn't anything that would impress my taste buds.
The service was a little bit strange. Due to waiter's impatience we had to order in two rounds: first order for me and one of my friends and second for the rest of the friends. When I ordered the pickles I specifically said that if they contain vinegar I do not want. The waiter assured me that the pickles were not made with vinegar. The waiter brought me the pickles, they had vinegar, of course I did not eat it. At the end, when the waiter took the empty plates and of course the almost untouched dish of pickles, he asked me: they (pickles) are with vinegar, right ? No apologies, no refunds, no reaction, nothing. I would expect at least not to pay for something I did not want and did not eat...

Overall the food is average and overpriced. The service could be improved a lot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transylvania,Romania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Italian Cuisine”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Here,one can taste the real Italian food,as the chef spent some years in Italy.I always choose it when I want some home made tagliatelle,some florence steak(fiorentina) or a good carpaccio.Very good wine selection,prices are ok,but not cheap.Worth going,as is the only place in town where you can really eat "a la italiana"!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Horatiu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best italian I had in Romania and good service”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We came here this summer with a grup all the way from Sighisaora, Draculas city, and worth the trip cause is also near the medieval citadel of the Mures city, so we had a visit of that to.

Our guide said that it's the best italian place in Romania and because we love our italian back home we really canceled our last Saturday night plans in Sighisaora.

I had a slice of pizza, it's really thin and full of mozzarela. However, I choosed the Beef Chateaubriand stake still. It was the best, really I had this good only in the US, and the americans know their stake I might say. The kind waiter said that it was an argentinian stake so I had to go for it. The italian red wine was a delight to.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“free sauna + free cigarette smoke inhaling”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The restaurant does not have a terrace (which is fine, right, because there would be an air-conditioning system working, right ?)

HOWEVER, once we got in:
1. It was hotter inside than outside (in July !) => air-conditioning was OFF / not working.
2. A thin curtain of cigarette smoke hit us right from the door. Why? => there is NO separation (two distinct areas separated by a door, or so) between the smoking and non-smoking sections of the restaurant. The only "separation" is the front and the back of the restaurant. Come on!
3. The waiter's attitude was negative. He did not apologize for this, although I told him that it smells the cigarette. He was not willing to talk to us, gave us the menus and took off right away => not welcoming at all.

Now, I understand that the menu could be good, and the food could be good.
However, first impressions count. Who would want to have supper in there, when it's too hot, you breathe cigarette smoke and the attitude of the waiter is bad ?

We left right away. There are other choices downtown.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Teo Restaurant also viewed

Tirgu Mures, Mures County
Tirgu Mures, Mures County
 
Tirgu Mures, Mures County
Tirgu Mures, Mures County
 
Tirgu Mures, Mures County
Tirgu Mures, Mures County
 

Been to La Teo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing