We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star, pretty bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel President TG Mures
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Tirgu Mures
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star, pretty bad experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The only thing good is the SPA, although during weekdays some of the facilities don't work (roman sauna, Scottish shower) I guess because it's only a few people.
Everything else is at most 3 star, not 4. It's an old factory refurbished in a hotel and it's right across the street of the industrial zone - AZO Mures. It's a very polluted area, the rooms are huge, not cozy at all, pretty bad taste decoration, no room service (I had to ask twice to the reception to pick up the garbage at least!!) We arrived Sunday afternoon and we asked for an extra bed for our kid and they said there are no maids because it's Sunday and they went home !! This is NOT OK in a so-called 4 star hotel!! The hallways were dark, the SPA was dark we had to turn on the light ourselves... The heating system is with hot air, but it's very, very noisy, we slept very bad because of this, and the air is so dry we can hardly breathe. Never going back.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the national road and the industrial zone, towards the front of the hotel. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pau2875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
6
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

First is the room dimension. 45sqm, impresive! new furniture & appliances, good wifi connection. Room is clean and good quality of rest of services. Good restaurant (steakhouse), open till late. Breakfast is not quite diverse but quiet and pleasant athmosphere. location is quite out of the city but convenient for those with business in the industrial area. I definetly recomend it. SPA is available, I haven't seen it; maybe next time!

Room Tip: don't worry! all are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cata_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent 4 nights in this hotel.
It was a surprise to me the spa. It's the largest spa that i've seen until now.
Rooms are huge, i say too huge for necessary and warm (the hotel was an old glove factory before that).
The bathroom was large,with jacuzzi and hairdryear.
The breakfast was basic, a little too basic for a four stars hotel i will say.
Needs inprovements for sure (cereals without warm milk, not enough bread - with the excuse that it's weekend and they didn't order)..
The same breakfast every day (without a change).
The staff was helpful,excellent service for the cost.
The reason why you should stay here is the spa (free entrance if you stay in the hotel).
The spa has a big indoor swimming pool with 3 saunas, 3 jacuzzi, showers, and seats for water massage for feet,
relaxation room and space for sitting at the pool.
The massage here is very good. There are only two masseurs (a woman and a man, working in shifts).
In my oppinion his massage was better, if you prefer the sportish massage.
The salted swimming pool it's closed for the winter period (that nobody told us), but the saline it's open.
The only inconvenient it's that you need to get out in order to enter in saline.
The entrance in saline it's outside from the relaxation room, to the left.
The saline it's a room with salt on the floor, chairs to sit and water that is refreshing the air in the room.
Next to it it's another sauna with salted air (not very, you can barely feel the salt in the air).
We stayed until 11:30 at the pool and then retourned in the room to take the luggages out.
We noticed that we couldn't enter the room because the card was disable, but the reception told us to get out at 12:00.
I asked at reception if we can stay at the spa about 2 more hours and they answered no.
In this case have to pay for another day. Hospitality is missing here.
This is clearly the opposite of an invitation to return to the hotel.

Room Tip: if you have trouble sleeping, ask for a room overlooking the rear (garden) because you can hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabimyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I spent 2 nights there.
It was a leather glove-factory before.
Rooms are huuuuuuge, bit scary. Jakuzzi in the bathroom.
Steakhouse next door, also huge, with few guests but good food.
We could not get breakfast at 9:58 (it is served till 10:00).
It was the biggest spa that I ever visited. several areas were closed, but still ok, big salina (room with covered with salt) in the basement.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transylvania,Romania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed in a Junior Suite as well as in a room,both impressed me with the generous space,the very good amenities,the details,the fact that is a new hotel,well managed.Bath large,suite with a jacuzzi.Food excellent, breakfast a bit more than basic,could improve.Staff helpful,excellent service for the cost,BUT the reason why you should stay is the spa: Excellent,BIG indoor swimming pool with 4-5 saunas,wonderfully furbished,a spoil will not soon forget.Don't miss the massages, professional.Good fitness space.Highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.Eventually,avoid elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horatiu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself is the same as it was a year ago. See previous review below.
Few remarks:
+ easy to get to town center (3km) and to the airport (8km), good high speed stabil internet via cable, HUGE room and bathroom with jakuzzi bathtub. Buffet breakfast - not bad, fills your stomach

- if you are staying longer/don't have a car and you came for the city, it is not your place. Heater fan is quite loud in room 115. Stay in even number room as the odd is facing the road and the noi can be heard.

Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Las76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel as part of stop over on a road trip. The hotel lobby is small/average looking itself, but the front desk gives a grand feeling. The staff were helpful and gave us a discount which made us :-)

Our room had 2 queen sized beds in it, the duvets and cushions were pristine clean and soft. The flooring was carpet, the room had large windows and heavy curtains. The size of the room was very big (like 2 masters bedrooms put together) and had a dressing table with a stool and mirror to one side of it. The room was very well furnished and the decor was subtle and pleasant. We also had a sofa, chair and coffee table and a good sized television facing the bed. The bathroom was hi spec, spacious and grand (golden taps, large basin, cabinets, fancy towel rail) and had a lush turbo jet shower.

The hotel has a massive swimming pool with beautiful decor around it (cave effect?) and plenty of sitting space around the pool (chair and tables, loungers too). The changing rooms were clean and spacious and there was sufficient staff to man the desk and answer questions/queries. They also had a shop incase you forgot your swim stuff! The gym had lots of well looked after equipment, a large tv screen and and a peaceful fountain (with fish in it) as a centre piece. There was lots of mirrors in the gym and the equipment was well spaced out. There were staff floating around if you required help.

I didn't have dinner so I can't comment, but breakfast was in a modern looking dinner hall, with ample seating (table for couples and families), quite cosy with all the table wear laid presentably. There was a family having breakfast too, they appeared to be pleased with the breakfast service. The large, wall sized windows looked out onto a garden/terrace which was a pleasing view. The food was basic, bread/toast with butter and jams, some cereals, selection of meat and cheese and hard boiled eggs. Drinks included, water, teas, coffee, orange squash. The breakfast was light and suitable for veg/non veg people, great if you want to hit the hotel gym or spa later.

For the price we paid, the value was amazing. The hotel is lovely, would definitely stay there again. Recommended to couples and families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doyouwanttocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tirgu Mures hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel PRIVO
Hotel PRIVO
#1 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
151 reviews
2.9 mi away
Continental Tirgu Mures
Continental Tirgu Mures
#7 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
108 reviews
6.3 mi away
Apollo Wellness Club
Apollo Wellness Club
#5 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
51 reviews
3.8 mi away
Business Hotel
Business Hotel
#3 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
71 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plaza V & Plaza V Executive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President TG Mures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President TG Mures

Property: Hotel President TG Mures
Address: Strada Doja Gheorghe 231, Tirgu Mures 540228, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Tirgu Mures
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tirgu Mures
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tirgu Mures
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President TG Mures 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel President TG Mures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel President TG Mures Mures County, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing