We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B, close to painted monasteries and activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilde's Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilde's Residence
Ranked #1 of 35 Gura Humorului B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good B&B, close to painted monasteries and activities”
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We were a group of 8, extended family and friends, ages 31 to 71, from the US, Mexico and Romania. We stopped for two days while on a tour of Romania, Hungary, Austria and Czech Republic.

The stay was great overall. It's essentially a good bed and breakfast. Better than a couple B&B's I went to recently in San Antonio, TX. We rented the whole place, so we were the only visitors at that time. The house is pretty old, but it was cozy and well kept. We found bath robes and new toothbrushes in the bathroom. The owner was pleasant and not too intrusive. She seemed to be keeping the staff on a very tight leash. There was a ping pong table and a dart board in the backyard. There were cold drinks and bottles of wine at very reasonable prices. Breakfast was good.

We booked a package with three events. First, we took a ride in horse carriages through the fields and climbed a hill to have dinner with the shepherds. This was perhaps the best experience in our whole trip. They cooked sour creamy polenta with cheese, a delicious lamb dish, and served fresh sheep cheese, sausages, bread and plum brandy flavored with local berries. All this at sunset at the top of the hill, with great views of the river and valley. Second, we went to visit a local painted monastery. Nice, though they are not too different from each other, unless you're there for the details. Before we left, we visited the local Peasant Traditions museum. I had low expectations from a small town museum and was pleasantly surprised. The director gave us a tour in French. We ended up spending almost a couple of hours. The place was small, but well organized as a circular route through the four seasons and the way life was shaped around them in that region. Although the area is now mostly Christian, the museum abounds with pagan artifacts and traditions, and the curator gives an excellent presentation.

I'd definitely stay there again. This place was a nice break after a few not-too-good lodging experiences in Romania. After reading the previous reviews, I guess we were lucky to have paid cash in Romanian currency, thus avoiding odd surcharges. Having traveled to Romania before, I knew it was a pain to use credit cards in most places.

[I just looked at their website, www.lucy.ro, and noticed there are many changes since my stay there. The number of rooms increased by a factor, there is more staff and more activities. I hope the owner keeps managing it herself, as she was clearly the one who made the difference there.]

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    45
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
89
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Location excelent, very good food (local food from natural sources, try the yogurt or trout fish). Actualy this is the first time I write a review for a location, it impress me so much in a positive way. They deserve a high rate on accomodation and food! The location is near by the railway station (Gura Humorului) and verry close to Voronet monastry. There is a traditional vilage house that is very nice to stay in. It has the traditional looking outside but very nice and modernized interior. There are also other rooms in the fron building. The restaurant have quite a lot of traditional food and the terace si excelent and quiet. The people are nice and friendly willing to make your stay plesant. I've tried also to look around other places to stay in Gura Humorului and this is the best i've seen. It worth to stop by.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Caifornia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed 5 nights and were really sorry to leave! The room was perfect, the bathroom modern and very convenient, the service impeccable and friendly, the breakfast more than you could possibly ask for, very delicately served and included in the room fare, the gardens and many options for dinning (under the stars, under umbrellas, amongst the plants and flowers?), the food and fresh vegetables,(we saw them making their own jams in the afternoons), good wines, we thought we had hit the jackpot when our driver left the not too exciting road and got into Hilde's country road entrance as we first arrived. Then we were shut off from the rest of Gura, and within the best distances for the visits to the monasteries, our only reason for traveling so far north. Lucy the owner is a dear, an excellent manager, she has obviously tried to have the very best of everything. I don't know where she has found all the nice things with which she has built. Every room is different and the bathrooms are very individually and nicely appointed. I want to explain that we are 2 experienced language professors and have been to many places of the world during countless trips. Where we stay is very important to us, the place has to be also cozy and reflect the culture of the country. I studied the internet for months before deciding on Hilde's, and it was more than we had expected! Lucy also provided us with a very helpful driver for the monasteries, and found us a flight with Carpatair from Suceava to Munich which was our next stop of the Summer. We would like to also recommend the airline, which was new to us, and extremely well organized, very much on time and with very good service and seats, etc. The small airport was very nice too. What a Summer!!! Talking to Lucy under the stars we learned a lot about the history and saga of the area. Don't miss the Folklore museum just down the road from Hilde's, it's the only such in the country and a little jewel, and it was also Lucy's suggestion. Money machines also near, and there's a very interesting and large open air market within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssalessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Nice place with a great staff. Rooms are adequate though not stupendous. Breakfast is very good. The pricing and staff, however, make this a wonderful place to stay when visiting the painted monasteries.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twoprofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

This hotel/guesthouse was our very favorite accommodation during our wonderful visit to Romania! Even though we loved every region in the country, staying at Hilde's made Southern Bucovina extra-special. The location is excellent....in a quiet street off of the main street in the town, within easy driving distance to all the monasteries. The property itself is beautiful.....set on an acre of land with an apple orchard and lovely gardens. I can't say enough about the charm, beauty, and comfort of this guesthouse. The rooms are each decorated according to a unique theme, and the personal touches, like flower petals strewn across the bed, candles scattered throughout the room, and a lovely balcony, set Hilde's apart from the norm (and not just the Romanian norm.....Hilde's is absolutely up to and exceeds Western and American standards). But the best part about Hilde's is the owner and staff. Lucy is such a wonderful hostess. She spent so much time with us.....sometimes just chatting, sometimes helping us out with questions we had, always making us feel at home. And her staff are wonderful, too. I can't thank them enough. We were sad to leave.....we felt like we were leaving friends behind! We hope to be back someday.....

  • Liked — Beautiful decor, lovely grounds, perfect location, superior staff and service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank katsusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed here two nights as our base for visiting the painted monasteries. There were problems with our reservation (on the guesthouse side) -- they had us under the wrong name (even though they had the correct name from email correspondence), so we ended up with a lesser room than the one we had originally booked. The room had no soap or shampoo. Arriving back after the first day, we discovered that the room had not been serviced. We were told that since we had taken the key, they couldn't get into the room -- apparently there was only one key to our room. We requested soap and shampoo and we received towels and soap -- but no shampoo. Apart from these service issues, the room was clean and the restaurant was quite good.

  • Liked — Location & the restaurant
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cfischer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We spent two days at Hilde’s Residence in beautiful Bucovina.

Our Apartment was a splendid combination of practical modern and traditional furniture, all put together with Lucy Glaser (the owner)'s artistic flair and attention to detail. We dined out of doors on delicious, local food and homemade wild fruit aperitifs, one evening also learning to make rose and strawberry jams with Lucy in her kitchen. Lucy and her staff were warm and chatty without being overbearing, and took pains to make sure all aspects of our visit were taken care of. In particular, we were grateful that Lucy put us together with an exceptional guide (Oana), who ended the visit a friend. Oana gave us an alternative, stimulating view of Romanian history, especially that of the great painted Monasteries.

If I have one regret, it was that there was not more time to relax in the idyllic, colorful garden which Lucy works so hard to maintain, and gorge myself on cherries.

  • Liked — Comfort, style, tradition
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank clairerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gura Humorului
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bucovina-Club De Munte
17.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhof
Hotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 12 in Suceava
160 reviews
17.9 mi away
Popas Turistic Bucovina
Popas Turistic Bucovina
#1 of 3 in Sucevita
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Humor
Casa Humor
#3 of 35 in Gura Humorului
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Roata
La Roata
#2 of 35 in Gura Humorului
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Conac in Bucovina
La Conac in Bucovina
#4 of 35 in Gura Humorului
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilde's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilde's Residence

Property: Hilde's Residence
Address: Sipotului Street Nr. 2, Gura Humorului 725300, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Suceava County > Gura Humorului
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Gura Humorului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilde's Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born out of a fortunate series of childhood's desires, mixed with mature and assumed plans, Hilde's Residence appears now as a small, but very stylish and cosy residence in the heart of Bucovina. The concept of BOUTIQUE HOTEL allows us to offer our guests ambiance, comfort, delight, relaxation. We, Hilde's TEAM welcome you into our large "family". We dedicate our soul and skills to create the familiar and cosy atmosphere of "home". We are very pleased when our guests notice the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hilde's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing