We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilde's Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilde's Residence
Ranked #1 of 35 Gura Humorului B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed three nights here. Very nice staff with computer and English abilities. Comfortable room, amazing breakfast with regional foods, nice restaurant. Beautiful grounds to enjoy. Definitely would return!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    45
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
89
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at what I found on this location. It's a good example for all Romanian entrepreneurs that want to have a similar business.

Pros:
- close location from city center and Bucovina's monasteries
- real and amazing bio food
- big garden with a lots of green and flowers
- free wifi
- free parking
- nice and helpfull personnel
- warm and traditional architecture
- themed rooms

Cons:
- not very accesible for Romanian tourists
- near to the main road. Some cars noises.
- Yang room doesn't have a very good bathroom
- dim light in the hallway and bathroom

Room Tip: Pay attention to the picture rooms when you choose it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabadj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had the best of times at Hilde's ! Wonderful setting in the middle of an orchad, quietly tucked away from the main road, Hilde's Residence is simply a great place to spend some time when in Bucovina. It is a good starting point to do excursions in the whole region and to visit the Monasteries (Voronetz, Moldovitza, Sucevitza, etc.) The rooms are decorated with taste and very comfortable, the staff is great and speaks very good English and the food is just delicious : they grow their own fruit & veggies, they have their own poultry, pigs, etc... Everything bio, well prepared and tasty ! A great experience which we will surely renew as soon as possible !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Hilde's, the place is beautiful, homey, the staff is warm and always attentive, food is bio and extremely tasty, you are close to all main attractions of Bucovina County.
Rooms are differently decorated so each has its own theme, we arrived at a good time to choose so were very happy with our chioce: Love Story room. We felt most welcome the whole time we stayed, enjoyed the wide variaty of our breakfast, the comfort of our room with a terrace full of flowers (actually the whole interior garden was full of flowers).
The only minus was our choice for the fist dinner there, the spice chicken wings were unimpressive, but the second evening's course, cesar salad and grilled vegetables we could't have enough of. Delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms are differently decorated so each has its own theme, we arrived at a good time to choose so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndaTinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy G, Owner at Hilde's Residence, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Anda,
Thank you for your review .
Even if we already got our customers oppinion during their stay it makes us happy to see that people really care about to write down their experience .
That helps other other travelers to choose or not, our location ; it's very important that people spend their time in the right guesthouse .
So , we encourage out guests to help other travelers to find the place they are looking for and that best suits their interest .
We would like to grant you for that good job .You are now on the List of our Dear Guests.
Please mention that issue in your next booking mail . We would like to appreciate it .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a fabulous place to stay if you have a trip planned to the painted monasteries (or even if you don't). The rooms are comfortable and impeccably clean, the restaurant excellent, the garden beautiful, and the staff friendly and helpful. We stayed two nights, and I wished we could have stayed even longer and tried out the spa a bit. They pay a great deal of attention to all details (e.g., fresh flowers on the table), yet their service doesn't seem artificial or forced. We recommend Hilde's Residence with great enthusiasm.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Love Story" room, a double with balcony, and it was spacey and convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy G, Owner at Hilde's Residence, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Sharon ,

That's wonderful to read your appreciative review.
Thanks a lot my dear. Many thanks too from our future customers who will appreciate their stay at Hilde's after choosing it by reading your comments. The best oppinion comes from somebody who experienced it and who can prove it.
Our Dear Guest List got one more lovely person ! You are on the top !
Please allow us to offer you a 10 % discount for the next booking . Everybody will be more than happy to welcome you again at Hilde's .
Friendly regards from our Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed two nights at Hilde's Residence. It is a lovely little inn or pensiune as they are referred to here. We were warmly welcomed at the reception and the check in and out was quick and efficient.

We had a twin bedded room which was fairly small but very comfortable. There were nice crisp, white duvets and extra pillows and quilts in the closet. The large windows opened onto the central court yard.

The bathroom was fairly modern with a tub and shower combination.

There is free wi-fi which was reasonably fast.

The breakfast buffet in the morning was simple and included the usual meat, cheese and various baked goods which were excellent.

Hilde's also has a nice little gift shop where you can buy jam, honey and local liquer made/bottled on the premises. This is a great place for a home base to visit the painted monestaries and other local sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy G, Owner at Hilde's Residence, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Laurski Family ,

We are very pleased to find out that our guests take the time to share their experience at Hilde's .
Thank you for all appreciation .This is the best award for our staff. It makes us feel important and to be aware that people care about us and that they appreciate our endeavor.

We would like to see you again at Hilde's Residence ,anytime !

Hilde's Team warmly invite you and let you know that you are to be found on our "Dear Guests List"
Kindly ask you to remind it at the next reservation . It helps us to offer you a special rate.

Faithfully ,
Lucy Glaser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I can't say that I had a terrible stay but this place is way over-rated.
It is situated just 30 m. away from the main road so don't expect a quite place, as you will hear trucks pass by day and night.
You will probably like the apparently small room prices, but to be honest if you come with a family and you add the supliment for small children using existing beds (not additional beds) and breakfast, the price for a night can almost get double. For me this is just not quite fair.
The prices in restaurant are not as you expect them to be in a unite like this. So you will probably spend more for the food then for the living. It should have been ok if you had something realy great and not an average local overpriced food like you will find in here.
So, my point is that this place is almost ok comparable for the country standarts but way over-rated and over-priced for local standarts. It does not deserve to be no.1 local place, just be sure of that.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kontiki23, Owner at Hilde's Residence, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for the review.
One can see from far away that something is mischievous in that review.
Even if you don’t declare your identity , the given information are enough for us to identify you.
You are our ex client from Moldova Republic who made recently a reservation for a 2 rooms apartment and asked about your 6 and 9 years old children to stay for FREE like it happened in November 2013.
We decently informed you that each room/apartment at Hilde's is rated for Double occupancy and offered you the 3 nights lower rate + the fidelity discount + free breakfast for the 6 years daughter , explaining that in November you’ve received a promotion rate which is not available anymore.
The answer was a rude and threatening E:mail and …the review above.

Regarding the pointed aspects in your review there is a question that comes out:
If everything is over rated and over-priced and you didn’t feel good at Hilde’s , why did you make a new reservation for the same apartment ?

You say we shouldn’t be the Nr 1 Guesthouse in Bucovina . We didn’t asked about . Our customers decided. One can notice that 96 customers out of 98 have a different/opposite opinion to yours. 2% are absolutely necessary to make the difference.
Anyway, we are always open to new recommendation and appreciate each customer who takes the time to write a review.
Respecting our work and our offer you are anytime welcomed at Hilde’s .

Kind regards,
Lucy Glaser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gura Humorului
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bucovina-Club De Munte
17.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhof
Hotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 12 in Suceava
160 reviews
17.9 mi away
Popas Turistic Bucovina
Popas Turistic Bucovina
#1 of 3 in Sucevita
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Humor
Casa Humor
#3 of 35 in Gura Humorului
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Roata
La Roata
#2 of 35 in Gura Humorului
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Conac in Bucovina
La Conac in Bucovina
#4 of 35 in Gura Humorului
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilde's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilde's Residence

Property: Hilde's Residence
Address: Sipotului Street Nr. 2, Gura Humorului 725300, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Suceava County > Gura Humorului
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Gura Humorului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilde's Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born out of a fortunate series of childhood's desires, mixed with mature and assumed plans, Hilde's Residence appears now as a small, but very stylish and cosy residence in the heart of Bucovina. The concept of BOUTIQUE HOTEL allows us to offer our guests ambiance, comfort, delight, relaxation. We, Hilde's TEAM welcome you into our large "family". We dedicate our soul and skills to create the familiar and cosy atmosphere of "home". We are very pleased when our guests notice the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hilde's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing