We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have Thought Of Everything”
Review of Hilde's Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilde's Residence
Ranked #1 of 35 Gura Humorului B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Have Thought Of Everything”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Here you go: clean, decorated well, good beds, tv, wifi, excellent reception staff, above average restaurant, great place to relax and eat/drink outside, parking on the premises, and a good little gift shop. Serves as an excellent hub for exploring the monasteries. The lady that owns it has kept in mind the needs of the traveller, and the rooms are priced fairly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvy2olympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kontiki23, Owner at Hilde's Residence, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your appreciative review and for taking the time to write down your oppinion. This is for us the best reward .

Please let us insert you on the "Dear guests List " at Hilde's .

Eagerly to welcome you soon and to offer you our warm hospitality ,

With best wishes and regards,
Lucy Glaser & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    45
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
89
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A perfect and lovely place. Clean, good-sized room with lots of shelf and places for personal items in bed and bath rooms. Wonderful food. And a delightful staff. Hilde's is a 10-15 walk from the city center but that was not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldguy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kontiki23, Owner at Hilde's Residence, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are very pleased to read your nice and sincere comment . Thank you for remembering Hilde's Residence as a lovely and confortable place.

The "Dear Guests List" won 2 members more .

Please let us believe that you or any of your friends/relatives will enable us to offer a special gift at checkin at Hilde's .

Kind regards ,
Lucy Glaser & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Disapointing after the reviews we had read. It is just good in comparison with equivalent establishments world wide. I suspect it is resting on its laurels. Rooms are variable, second room we had with (shared) balcony was good. Decoration in some rooms would not be to everyone's taste. All the usual facilities in the rooms. Restaurant was very bland, with food average. If weather was good and you could sit outside in garden, experience would be much better. (It is pleasant sitting out with a drink in the afternoon or evening). Little else in area and town (not particular pleasant) is a long hike away down a very busy road. (Although the restaurant in Pensiona Lions opposite was much more fun better value for similar food). Service is erratic, second morning waiters too busy on their computers to bother serving anyone. Breakfast was very average. Wireless internet worked well in rooms.
Having said that receptionists were unfailingly welcoming, friendly and helpful.
With a bit of a tweek it could be much much better.

Room Tip: Room with shared balcony overlooking garden (you must hope those sharing balcony are not going to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kontiki23, Owner at Hilde's Residence, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Our Dear Guests,

Thank you a lot for your comment and for taking time to write it down .

We appreciate that you made a last minute or a walk in reservation , this is why you had to change rooms .
We are so sorry of all dissatisfaction and that you didn't mentioned them immediately; most of them could be solved on the spot .
Regarding waiters ....yes, could be that they had a bad day ( who hasn't one ?) . I'm happy that this day is over and they continue to be the friendly , welcoming and smiling staff .

Your comment helped us a lot and this is why you earned a place in the "Dear Guests List " at Hilde's .
Be anytime welcomed !

Yours sincerely ,
Lucy Glaser & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything is perfect here, once visited this pension you will not have to look for something new. I am thankful to everyone who work there for creating an unforgettable environment for us.I want to go back as soon as possible. The most professional staff I have ever seen. The rooms, the food, .... everything is just perfect.If you want a romantic and relaxing week, just go to Hilde's Residence and will not regret.For pictures just visit the website,are 100% real.

Room Tip: Junior Suite Butterfly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kontiki23, Owner at Hilde's Residence, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are more than pleased to read your comment . Thank you so much for your positive perception.
We are very happy when our guests understand and approve our simple , homely and particular traditional style .
This is what we meant , these are our beloved guests !
Please let us put you on our "Dear Guests List".
Just let us know about at the next reservation .

Friendly regards,
Lucy &Hilde's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We enjoyed at maximum our time here! The staff was nice and very helpful. The location of the hotel is very good. We ate dinner at the restaurant and the food was wonderful. Overall, a great place for a relaxing stay.The SPA also a great surprise- the stone massage a "gift" at the end of a hard day. All on superlative here, we will come back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dia_priefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kontiki23, Owner at Hilde's Residence, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Nothing is making us happier than a positive perception of our service.
Thank you so much for all comments .
I was told many times that "Guest should fit to the Hotel".
It seems to be right .
We remember you ( especially Dana ,our Masseuse )and hope to welcome you next year at Hilde's.
You are on our "Dear Guests List " . Please mention it at the next booking .

Sincerely ,
Hilde's Staff & Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We so enjoyed our time here! The staff was excellent and very helpful. The location of the hotel is a less than five minute walk from the train station, as we did not have a car. The Painted Monasteries in the area are a must-see as well. We ate dinner at the restaurant and the food was wonderful. Overall, a great place for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svansoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kontiki23, Owner at Hilde's Residence, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Our Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for remembering Hilde's and for all that friendly and appreciative comments regarding staff and service.
This is a big reward for people anywhere working in service. They would know if they are good enough or not.
Due to friendly guests like you , they became aware of their value . We all are thankfull to you .
Please let us offer you a special position in our "Dear Guests List" .
You, or any friends/ relatives may benefit of it . Just let us know .

Friendly Greetings to Sunny California ,

Lucy Glaser & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very nice people, a lot of space with o lot of flowers and trees, excelent fresh food, fabulous rooms, clean and very confortable! A lot of traditional things, , a lot of fun, magic place with stuning views.If i can stay here forever i'l stay happy...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjcalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kontiki23, Owner at Hilde's Residence, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Our Dear Guests,

We are very thankfull for the review and for all appreciative comments .

We are happy that you appreciate the nature and the simplicity of the place . This is what we have meant and we are happy when guests considers .

Staff is happy to have your appreciative words and they are most thankfull to you.
We all hope to see you again at Hilde's ; you should benefit of your special position on our "Dear Guests List ". You and all your friends/relatives !

Friendly greetings from Bucovina ,
Lucy Glaser & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gura Humorului
0.5 mi away
Best Western Bucovina-Club De Munte
17.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhof
Hotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 12 in Suceava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
17.9 mi away
Popas Turistic Bucovina
Popas Turistic Bucovina
#1 of 3 in Sucevita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Humor
Casa Humor
#3 of 35 in Gura Humorului
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Roata
La Roata
#2 of 35 in Gura Humorului
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Conac in Bucovina
La Conac in Bucovina
#4 of 35 in Gura Humorului
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilde's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilde's Residence

Property: Hilde's Residence
Address: Sipotului Street Nr. 2, Gura Humorului 725300, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Suceava County > Gura Humorului
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Gura Humorului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilde's Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born out of a fortunate series of childhood's desires, mixed with mature and assumed plans, Hilde's Residence appears now as a small, but very stylish and cosy residence in the heart of Bucovina. The concept of BOUTIQUE HOTEL allows us to offer our guests ambiance, comfort, delight, relaxation. We, Hilde's TEAM welcome you into our large "family". We dedicate our soul and skills to create the familiar and cosy atmosphere of "home". We are very pleased when our guests notice the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hilde's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing