We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Humor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Humor
Ranked #3 of 35 Gura Humorului B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a fairly new property just a few minutes away from the center of Gura Humorului. The location is quiet and we got a very good night sleep. We were here for two nights during our Bucovina leg of the trip. Breakfast was just great and one of the best we had in Romania aside from the one in the home in Maramures. Rooms are good size, ours had a nice balcony.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamD650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

First room assigned had a terrible bathroom odor, got another room and the shower leaked. Rooms are nice size and balcony had great view. Staff was friendly. Lots of stairs. At 11pm they shut the door to the front desk so you have to go out the back, thought that was odd.

Room Tip: lower floor unless you like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasGunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
224 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Smoke in the dining room, evening disco, irregular heat that can't be regulated, no room service, distance to walk to the spa ... good buffet breakfast the day it was offered, but so so individual breakfast the other day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed just one night before heading off to visit the painted Monasteries of Bucovina and we enjoyed out stay.

The staff is friendly, had the best breakfast of all while in Romania, room was large and very nice. It is located close to where we had a home hosted dinner and to the painted Monastery of Voronet. It was snowing so had a very winter feel to it.

Had an enjoyable, brief stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheljane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Spent two nights here while touring Bucovina's stunning painted monasteries. The hotel has a small lobby bar, excellent restaurant and large well-appointed rooms. Wifi is spotty, but since this is in one of the rural regions of Romania, I was not too concerned. Easy, short driving distance to Humor and Voronets monasteries. Six set choices for breakfast were offered, included in the room price. Away from the downtown area, it provided a quiet, comfortable retreat. Highlights:some of the best borsch, with a generous helping of velvety smantana, thick sour cream of my dreams. Helpful, attentive staff made this a delightful stop on my tour.

Room Tip: My room with a king bed had anise balcony to let in the local breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoyenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

We were back to visit my wife's family near Suceava but picked Gura Humorului to have the chance of some skiing & to visit some of the surrounding monasteries. Originally we were going to stay at another Hotel in the same town but the costs got crazy with Xmas & New Year "packages" - they wanted to charge us full price for the kids but they wouldn't be allowed attend the Xmas or New Year's dinners!

Anyway to cut a long story short we found Casa Humor and they understood the needs of a family with kids! We saved a bunch of money (kids half-price and they were allowed to attend the dinners1) and got a really nice appartment - the pictures don't do it justice! Everyone had a great time, although the snow melted after a few days and there was an unseasonal warm spell ...

High quality accomodation, too much food & drink and great value. Lots of Carol Singers and Traditional dancers for Xmas & New Year. Can't say more than that.

Two warnings: (i) The tradition in this region of Romania for Xmas and New Year is that the "meal" goes on ALL night! If you want the main course & desert you'll be waiting until 3.00-4.00 AM and the party doesn't wind down until about 5.00 AM ... lots of traditional dancing, songs, etc, in between courses and of course there is way too much food, but it is quite an endurance test if you want to stay to the end; you have been warned ;-)
(ii) The tradition for Santa is that kids get their presents at dinner on Xmas eve; that probably works for local kids who get a single present. Our kids were up way after midnight with the excitement of meeting Santa - he makes personal house calls in Romania! - and playing with their new present(s) ...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mihaela_corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

Situated at 3-4 km from the faimous Voronet Monastery, Casa Humor offers the best conditions for a relaxing holiday. I stayed at this lovely place in June during a visit to the monasteries in Bucovina. The location is perfect, very closed to Voronet, very close to the city center and away from the noise of the road, at the end of an alley that takes you at the foot of a hill. Built in style, Casa Humor welcomes you from the moment you approach it. Very good service, very clean, spacious and confortable rooms, with balconies overlooking the surounding hills. It also has a very safe parking lot at the back of the building. I was impressed by the quality of service and the hospitality of the staff (including the owner of the place). The food menu covers traditional dishes which is a "must to try" when in Bucovina. You have the choice of having the breakfast in the restaurant or on the terace outside. Behind the building at the begining of the hill, there is a very nice bbq place, with a small play ground for kids. I strongly recommend this place for anyone who wants to have an enjoyable stay, leisure or business (Casa Humor also has a conference room with all the facilities, which I found great).
Living abroad for many years, I wanted to revisit the beautiful places Romania can offer enjoying both the comfort and the specifics/traditions of the place. Casa Humor blends all of these in a very pleasant way. If you go to Gura Humorului, don't hesitate to look for this place. More details on www.casahumor.ro.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Horea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gura Humorului
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bucovina-Club De Munte
17.7 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhof
Hotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 12 in Suceava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
17.9 mi away
Popas Turistic Bucovina
Popas Turistic Bucovina
#1 of 3 in Sucevita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilde's Residence
Hilde's Residence
#1 of 35 in Gura Humorului
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Roata
La Roata
#2 of 35 in Gura Humorului
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Conac in Bucovina
La Conac in Bucovina
#4 of 35 in Gura Humorului
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Humor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Humor

Property: Casa Humor
Address: Aleea Stefan cel Mare Nr 5B, Gura Humorului 725300, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Suceava County > Gura Humorului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Gura Humorului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Humor 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Humor is placed in the picturesque mountain resort of Gura Humorului, Bucowina - Romania, just few kilometers away from the famous monasteries Voronet (2km), Humor(5km) and just 5 min from Soimul Ski Slope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Casa Humor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing