We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and decent rooms”
Review of Hotel Agape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Agape
Ranked #55 of 57 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We found the Agape a very pleasant and quiet place to stay in a good location. Nothing spectacular about the rooms, but roomy and quiet and everything worked. Breakfast was fine, if not exciting, and the location of the hotel just off the main square and city centre is ideal. There is a very decent self-service restaurant on the ground floor, and the setting of the rooms around a courtyard is picturesque. Plenty of good restaurants and cafes nearby. Overall good value and a good choice for this city.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017


We appreciate your feedback.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 80 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2009

I stayed at the Agape on business. There is a central courtyard that is freezing as would be expected - and around which various rooms can be found.

The room was tacky, electrical wiring showing has not always made me feel at home! The radiators were on full blast, windows could not be opened. Talk about dry atmosphere!

The breakfast was the worst breakfast I have had in 25 years of travelling. Period. Without equal - I had a double take on the fried eggs..the sausages were the boiled variety and cold. My powers of english cannot allow me to describe them. I had breakfast once needless to say.

There was no free water in the room - so you had to purchase from the min-bar which was warm! i.e did not work - complaining falls on deaf ears so no point saying any more on this.

I am amazed I have taken the time to write a review. Truly awful. There is a hungarian restaurant in the hotel (there are actually abouot 3 I think) - I visited it on one night and the food was ok and service was friendly - but this was overshadowed by the rest of this truly awful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ITConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

We understand your concern and appreciate your feedback.
We will take all the necessary measures to ensure that the next time you will have a more enjoyable experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Hi there!
Having read some of the reviews of hotels in Cluj while I was looking for somewhere to stay, I was horrified! We wanted to pop over for a long weekend to visit my daughter who, having just graduated, is working in Cluj for three months. I told her about the awful reviews for the hotels and she went and had a look around for us. She found this hotel and what a JOY!
If you are considering a visit to Cluj, this is THE hotel to stay in. We booked the apartmente and were delighted to find a huge living area, seperate bedroom and lovely bathroom. Dressing gowns, slippers, toiletries - all the things you'd expect from a good quality hotel and at a brilliant price. We arranged everything via email and when we arrived the receptionists couldn't do enough for us. They showed us to our room and when my daughter arrived they provided us with a vase for the flowers she had brought. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and when we realised we needed an extra night, they dealt with this and we were able to stay in the same apartement and as our flight was at 6 a.m., they organised a taxi for us a 3.30 a.m. and even gave us two huge breakfast packups to take with us. Truly a wonderful stay with the Hotel and of course, it was fabulous to see our daughter! Absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifestooshortYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017


We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Good location, rooms have different standard, read less, then in western Europe, old but clean.
Breakfast very poor, good restaurant in the hotel/
Reception very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TrippGenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

We understand your concern and appreciate your feedback.
We will take all the necessary measures to ensure that the next time you will have a more enjoyable experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We were in winter holiday in Romania passing trough Cluj-Napoca on the way to Sighisoara.We reached the city of Cluj with the help of a young romanian couple who was extremly kind and helpfull. They recomend us the hotel.
Planned to stay 1 day but we end up staying 3 days.
Nice rooms,well furnished,good location,good service,very nice breakfast,had also lunch there and was perfect !
If we will have to go in Cluj definetly we will go to the same hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank little_inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017


We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Judged by the standards for a local, family-run hotel, the Agape does very well indeed. The location, and the setting around an interior courtyard are the biggest pluses. Breakfast is better than what you would find in many locally run places ... but quite limited by international standards.

But the service and friendliness of the staff is very genuine. And the hotel offers an excellent pick-up service for guests arriving at the local airport. Which makes this an ideal landing spot for anyone unfamiliar with Cluj, or just wanting an easy and practical arrival with minimal fuss.

We did tip the driver ... but apart from this transfer service was completely free, included in the regular rate of the room.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanschr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017


We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

The best thing about Agape Hotel in Cluj is the location: 1 min away from Piata Unirii, the center of Cluj, and 2 min from the main monuments (St. Michael's church, opera house etc), 10 min walk to the Botanical Garden (the most beautiful I've seen so far).

Breakfast included (lots of choices of food).

Large rooms, large bathrooms, clean and well maintained.

The only downsize was that our room was facing the street and during night it was a little noisy.

Overall a very pleasant experience, I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatalinaAdriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017


We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
1.3 mi away
Topaz Boutique Hotel
Topaz Boutique Hotel
#47 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
25 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gala Cluj-Napoca
Hotel Gala Cluj-Napoca
#40 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Confort
Hotel Confort
#6 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agape

Address: Strada Maniu Iuliu nr. 6, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agape 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Agape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agape Hotel Cluj Napoca
Hotel Agape Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing