We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrible place to stay in (awful service, rude personnel, stale food, disrespectful manager)”
Review of Deja Vu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deja Vu
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Let's start with the location. Their website tells us that the pension(this joint is hardly a hotel) is located 5 minutes away from the center of the city. 5 minutes by taxi, that is. A walk from Deja Vu Hotel to the Center would take you 40 minutes if you know the city and 20 minutes if you take a bus. The location is pretty secluded, and there is nothing to see in this area.

Secondly, my husband and I reserved a double room that was described as having a king size bed. The room looked totally different than the one in the photos on the website and the bed wasn't a king size bed, there were two little beds joined together with two separate covers.

Needless to say, this arrangement wasn't comfortable at all for us, we could barely have some sleep on our first night(we had reserved 4 nights), partly because there was a gap in the middle of the bed(where the two little beds were joined) and because we had to cover ourselves with 2 separate bed covers.

The next day we asked the receptionist to change our room with the one that was shown in the picture when we were tricked into making reservation by the fake presentation, but she was very cheeky and disrespectful when she told us that we had to pay more if we wanted that room and that the bed we had, was indeed king size, practically calling us stupid. We asked for the manager who didn't want to speak to us at first, but after waiting for her highness for a half an hour on a Sunday afternoon. She was very rude to us, my husband and I said "hello" and introduced ourselves, but she wouldn't acknowledge my presence, like I wasn't there, before even saying anything about our issue. We explained our problem with the room and asked her for the room that was shown in the picture, the one we paid for. The pension was empty by the way, we were the only guests staying there and now I know why.

Finally, after telling us it is our fault we picked that room and that she is doing us a favor and we should be more careful next time, like there would be a next time.The fault belonged to them because they falsely promote their "hotel". We threatened to call the Romanian consumer protection institution and one minute later, we got what we paid for in the first place.

The TV screens are tiny, the TV in our first room didn't work at all, the bathrooms are tiny, you have to wait for five minutes for the water to get warm, the little fridge wasn't working either. Also, the service is terrible and the food is stale.

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't do it :)
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cztraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Deja Vu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 79 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

Having been to Romania before, but never Cluj, we arrived late in the evening and needed a place to stay. The staff here was very accomodating to us although we checked in after their normal business hours. Parking is limited and you need to park along the street, which is fine because the neighborhood is quiet and seems safe.

Our room was one of the ones without a window. It didn't bother us as there is not much to see outside in this area of town. Overall the room was nicely organized, clean, and even came equipped with an air conditioner and stocked mini bar!

I have only a few complaints because of the price of the room...The toilet and the sink were not properly attached to the wall/floor and were loose. This was a bit annoying every time I used the toilet as it rattled and shook. Also, the television was small and dated...again, it was fine BUT the remote control was so old I had to hold together the front and back and firmly press down, just to adjust the volume. These may be small things if you are in the room just to sleep. But, if you are spending a few days in Cluj-Napoca you may not want to spend them all here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faithandthemuse32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

First off, the staff was very helpful and accomodating. The rooms however were just okay. Smoking is allowed in the rooms and they filter into your room. I did not like this at all. There is no lift, so if you have heavy luggage, you will have to take them up the stairs, so be aware of this. The restaurant food quality was fine, but the breakfast was just average. Nothing really special. There is limited parking, but it was sufficient. The hotel is located in a nice, residential area and there is a nice Chinese restaurant up the street that gives a nice view of Cluj-Napoca. Overall, though, I would probably stay at a different location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Never having been to Romania before, I was impressed with its history and beautiful castles with friendly people as well.

A tip for travellers - fly into Cluj-Napoca in the north to see all of the beauty of Transylvania including the very beautiful old part of Sighisoara. A great base when you fly into or out of Cluj is the charming Deja Vu bed and breakfast. Have a look at the exterior photo of the hotel and you'll see how beautiful the construction is. The same is repeated inside as you go up the stairs, and the rooms are spacious and have quiet air conditioning!!! which many Romanian hotels don't have.

Some rooms have a skylight with block out cover which is novel and effective - this s Romanian style and not a disincentive at all as suggested by a previous reviewer.

Breakfast is plentiful and fresh with everything from cooked eggs to healthy muesli.

Thanks to the ladies who run this place who were very accommodating and their English is excellent, which made things easier.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manager_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDejaVu, Manager at Deja Vu, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Dear sirs,
Thank you for choosing DEJA VU Pension. We are delighted to find that you feel well at our hotel. We appreciate your feed-back and we hope to see you back soon.
Kind Regards
- Deja Vu team & management-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Basic B&B in a nice residential location of the city, 15 mins walking from downtown. Not much happening around it, but taxis are very cheap to move around in Cluj. Place is very clean, rooms are small / bathrooms tiny and on the second floor rooms have no window, just a decent size skylight, which is sort of different , as long as you are not claustrophobic, and not raining. Breakfast menu is reasonable. Wireless Internet does not have proper coverage in the room, but there is wired internet .Staff very accommodating and friendly. Overall , if you want to spend a night or two is OK, reasonable value for the money, but I don't have any other reference for Cluj hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmi_dbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDejaVu, Manager at Deja Vu, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Dear sirs,
Thank you very much for your review. Your opinion is very important to us, in order to improuve our services.
If the Classic room with skylight window was not as your demands, we recommend the next time a Deluxe rooms with normal window or a ground floor suite with private terrace.
We are working on wireless Internet network, and we hope that soon all rooms have access. For now, the reception and lobby area is wireless internet and on every room is cable ( wired) internet.
We hope to have you as a our guests again soon.
- Deja Vu management-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We booked based on reviews but were not so thrilled when we got there. This is a house that was turned into an B&B, there are some funky arrangements with windows etc. The room we had booked had no windows, only a skylight. We didn't like it and traded up to the small apartment which was better (and more $). The restaurant (we only had breakfast there) has windows that face a wall about 12" away so it's very dark. Breakfast was ok, not great. Wifi doesn't reach into all the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g-and-s-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We enjoyed your hotel very much. The night we arrived you had a private party in your restaurant so you served us our dinner at a special table set up in the lobby. A great experience!!!

We would very much like to know where you purchased your red wine decanter with the thumb holes. Have not been able to find one here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopy61fallbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Confort
Hotel Confort
#6 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
175 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Gala Cluj-Napoca
Hotel Gala Cluj-Napoca
#47 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
26 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Univers T
Hotel Univers T
#20 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Transilvania
Hotel Transilvania
#12 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Napoca
Grand Hotel Napoca
#14 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa - Hotel ESCALA
Villa - Hotel ESCALA
#3 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deja Vu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deja Vu

Address: Ion Ghica 2 | #2, Cluj-Napoca 400306, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: $43 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deja Vu 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Deja Vu is situated in a quiet residential area of Cluj-Napoca, a 10-minute walk from historic central Cluj-Napoca. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free wired internet. The Deja Vu’s rooms feature cable TV, a minibar, and a bathroom with hairdryer. The guesthouse is decorated in the style of Art Nouveau, inspired by the architecture of Gaudi. It is decorated with 19th-century furniture and features a bar and a 24-hour front desk. The restaurant serves international cuisine as well as Hungarian and Romanian specialties and fine wines. Only 247 m from the bus station, the Deja Vu is also close to the Central Train Station. An airport shuttle is provided upon request (for an additional fee). Located in the peaceful quarter of Grigorescu, Pension Deja Vu is close to the Central Park and the Somes River. The Babes Sport Complex, featuring a swimming pool, tennis court and children's playground, is only a short walk away. All major attractions in Cluj-Napoca, including Unirii Square, Museum Square, and the Botanical Gardens, can be reached in a short walk. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deja Vu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deja Vu Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing