We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine hotel but bars and dogs will keep you up all night” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitolina City Chic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capitolina City Chic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine hotel but bars and dogs will keep you up all night”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

No matter how friendly staff is or how clean your room is, once it is five A.M. and pounding music and barking dogs keep you awake, slowly but surely all appeal to this potential fine business hotel is lost.

I've stayed in this hotel a few times and kept coming back because it has a good location and, when the bar owner next door is on a holiday and the surrounding dogs have full stomachs, the hotel is okay. However, after last nights amnesia i have vowed to never return.

Perhaps Tripadvisor should add the functionality to add a sound file.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Bulll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    36
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
29
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed at this hotel while we attended my son's wedding in Romania. The family had 7 rooms. The staff was wonderful. They helped us in every way they could and really made it easy for first tme travelers to Romania.
The hotel accomodations were good by European standards and excellent for Romanian. There is an elevator to go to the upper floors. The breakfast was included and was comprised of pastries, meats, breads, vegetables and even eggs. The hotel is right near the center of town and within easy walking distance to most of the sites.
I would definately go back to Hotel Capitolina. and I thank them for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katheyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

Spent a week at the Capitolina taking in the area and found it to be ideal. The services provided were what we wanted - a clean, well-maintained room with good heating and A/C, nice bathroom and sufficiently wide-ranging buffet breakfast. They have good English skills but if you speak to them in Romanian they don't try and show off their English. There is a prompt room service for food which gave me the best penne carbonara I've ever had.

It doesn't have restaurant facilities (but we wanted to dine out), common areas to hang out in (but we wanted to see people in the town), bars, night porters or all the other things that elevate the star ratings and the price. But if you don't need those, why pay for them?

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GeoffChall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

I was staying at City Central Hotel (great place) up the street and extended my stay but they were booked so I moved to the nearest hotel, Hotel Capitolina.

It smelled like stuffiness and disinfectant everywhere. I question the frequency with which they stream clean their carpets? I left the windows in my room open all day and it was still smelly when i got back altho not as much.

At least the bed was clean and comfortable and there was 'net access in the room.

Bathroom was recently renovated but not of the highest quality, but that's not a dealbreaker for me. Some things were starting to come undone already. The shower was an event, somewhat of an ordeal but an entertaining story (see photo). Actually, the stereo radio in the shower was great.

Breakfast was good. The staff were nice.

I wonder though, and this is in other places in cluj - why people don't open windows more to let fresh air in?

  • Liked — Location, near the office i had to go to.
  • Disliked — Smelliness, didn't feel overall clean.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bettyx1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2006

I stayed at the Capitolina during a conference and was very impressed. The price was very reasonable, the room was modern and clean, and the minibar was well stocked. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A real bonus was the availability of free internet connection in the room - not wireless, but I was able to connect my laptop easily. Although it doesn't have some of the facilities of big hotels (gym etc), I would definitely stay at the Capitolina again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, nice room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bec_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2006

Our first room had dried urine on the toilet seat (despite the seal over the seat proclaiming it had been sanitized) and the television was broken.

Desk and floor staff were very friendly and helpful.

They moved us to a different room on the second night. This room did not have a working air conditioner; the air was warm and humid. We had to sleep with the windows open but due to the construction on the street, vehicles would pass over a steel plate making a load "klang" regularly through the night and frequently after 5 AM. We barely slept.

We asked for a (paltry) 5 euro discount for the second night without A/C. The desk staff said that only the manager can discount and that he wasn't going to be in that day.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hidektol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa - Hotel ESCALA
Villa - Hotel ESCALA
#2 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lol et Lola Hotel
Lol et Lola Hotel
#6 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Plaza Hotel
City Plaza Hotel
#12 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
#3 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#8 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitolina City Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitolina City Chic Hotel

Property: Capitolina City Chic Hotel
Address: Cluj-Napoca, str. V. Babes nr. 35, Cluj-Napoca 40012, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitolina City Chic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitolina City Chic Hotel*** is created especially for the business people traveling in Cluj-Napoca. Here you have only 4 reasons to prefer us to the concurrence: free high speed internet in every room, free digital safe in every room, home cinema (free), business newspapers (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Capitolina City Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitolina City Chic Hotel Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing