We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Ramada Cluj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Cluj
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Ramada on our first trip to Cluj out of many to come this year.

There were plenty of pleasant employees available to assist, great variety for the breakfast buffet (although it never changed during the week) and clean rooms with an abundance of storage. Water pressure was fine, self-enclosed shower cubical kept the water off the floor, bring your own toiletries: the soap and shower gel is fine, but the shampoo/conditioner combo will not be good for all. Good, reliable WiFi and room safe are free. We were in room 328 on the quiet back of the hotel instead of the main road on the front side. This room has a little balcony overlooking the gardens of the private homes behind the hotel.

We liked the top-floor pool (water temp could have been higher), sauna and steam room. We both enjoyed massages (60 min for 80 Lei). There are a few other treatments available, but not a full spa. Room service meals were good, they make a nice chicken Ceasar Salad. The price for room service is the same as if you ate in the restaurant (no extra fees).

We will be traveling to Cluj monthly for the next year and we will visit again.

Room Tip: Backside of hotel away from the main street car traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ontheroad5056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 211 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed at a few hotels in Cluj-Napoca for business and this one is easily the best so far. It is a good solid business class hotel. I have stayed at hotels around the world and this one easily compares. I stayed in the Ramada for 10 days, so I got a good feel for the place.

Internet = Wireless was easily a solid 1.5 Mbps or more. Enough to easily do Skype back to the states with my wife and kids. I was never wanting for bandwidth any time of the work day or weekend.

Breakfast = It was included with my room and well worth it. A decent selection and great atmosphere. The staff was very helpful. I only have two complaints. 1) The espresso/cappuccino machine was barely tolerable. If you want good coffee, expect to go elsewhere after breakfast. 2) I wish there were more vegetarian/vegan options. Having some cold grilled vegetables and salad does not cut it. Fortunately I am a flexitarian.

The room = Clean, modern, comfy and well designed. As good as any higher end business class hotel I have stayed in the states.

The gym = A little on the small side, but well equipped for a hotel gym and the view of the city is excellent. I wish there was more than one treadmill though. Do try the odd skiing/rollerblading machine, it was an buttkicker, but in a good way! I did not get to use the pool unfortuntely, but it looked very inviting.

The bar = Good selection, wel stocked and helpful staff. You can eat there too. Try the warm appetizer of the Hungarian pancake meal that I forget the name of. It is like an entire meal. I think I had it a few times it was so good.

The staff = Excellent. Always willing to help and always nice.

In conclusion, I'd stay here again without hesitation. If you need to go to Cluj-Napoca and like hotels, put this place at the top of your list to stay at. It is one of the best there and not terribly expensive considering what you get.

Room Tip: Try and ask for one on the side facing the neighborhood. The other side is on a major road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank synchrophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

In summary, a good business hotel, given the choice, with a short walk to the city centre.

I've stayed here three times whilst on business in Cluj and get a pretty consistent experience. The hotel is new (built 2012) and you get a clean, modern, spacious and well appointed room as standard. I have experienced the heating system issue, though this was not a problem on my most recent visit. There was no bathtub in the ensuit in the rooms I've stayed, just a shower, which wasn't issue for me. There is a swimming pool and gym. Both are not available 24h, and the gym supports a cardiovascular and limited weights training (free weights are only up to 10kg). The staff are helpful and the staff in the restaurant are very pleasant. Breakfast is pretty good, though I wasn't too taken by dinner. The WiFi is complimentary and is of a very good speed and reliable.

Accommodating for the business traveler - absolutely
WiFi - free, high-speed, and reliable
Fitness - good, but no great for weight training
Toiletries - provided, but would bring your own.

Room Tip: On the back of the hotel, some have a balcony - ask at reception.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Ethan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very nice place in Cluj-Napoca, Close to center. Rooms are nice made, clean. Wifi working well and for free. Bar is closing at 10pm, which is nit very convenient, but not that important as it is really close to city, where you can find lot of fun. Helpful nice staff, good breakfast and wonderful pool on the roof ... excellent view to whole city. I feel very good there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Majlo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here recently, it is what I consider a good business hotel, reasonable priced and sized room, big comfortable double bed with duvet, flat screen TV, Wifi included, swimming pool and gym (though I didn't visit these), good and not too expensive restaurant, good and varied breakfast buffet, mini bar in the room, dressing gown and slippers provided, good shower with plenty of hot water (though it did flow brown to start, possible work on the water infrastructure so cannot blame the hotel, and it was clean on subsequent days). The staff were pleasant and welcoming.

On the down side, there is no bar as such and limited seating in the reception area. There is a bar/restaurant area with tables (fully set for eating) but the menu is the same as in the main dining room so can't really see the purpose of this. The hotel is also not close to the city centre, but with taxis incredibly cheap (three colleagues and I went to the Ursus Brewery restaurant, probably about 4 or 5 kms away and the cost was 8 RON which is €2 - unbelievable!) this is less of a problem than it may be. The taxi drivers seemed to speak sufficient English which was useful.

There is incidentally a good Chinese restaurant called the Shanghai right across the (very busy, be careful!) road, we had a nice meal there. I also recommend the Ursus brewery restaurant mentioned above, six of us ate there and had a good meal with plenty of a variety of beer, some of our number drinking the large litre steins, for the equivalent of about €15 a head.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are available, so if a non smoker make sure you request a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

In Ramada the rooms are big and clean, wireless wi-fi is included into the price The showers have warm water. Gym is available, nice wellness with a pool-steaming room and sauna other than a fitness room, open from early morning to evening. the hotel has good breakfast, room service is expensive but ok quality. The location is near is a local shopping area. Excellent choice, I strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It was my first time in this hotel and I have to say from the welcome to departure everything was perfect and well arrange. The swimming-pool on the top of the hotel is the place to go to relax of your day.The breakfast buffet is large with various selection for continental,american,... breakfast. Just one detail, it's a bit far from city center, especially in winter time when you don't walk outside to walk due to cold weather.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnaud P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
432 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
#4 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#11 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#7 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Cluj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Cluj

Address: Calea Turzii 43 - 49, Cluj-Napoca 400193, Romania (Formerly Akantus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#9 Business Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: $98 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Cluj 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find convenient amenities in an ideal location at the Ramada Cluj hotel. Perfect for business or leisure travelers, and complemented by modern and elegant style, our Cluj Napoca, Romania, hotel is close to the area’s best attractions, restaurants and airport.Those traveling on business will enjoy Executive Floor and Executive Lounge access featuring a business center with computers along with meeting space and dedicated conference services. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi Internet access and then enjoy a meal and drink at Akantus Restaurant or Avocado Restaurant & Lounge, both located on-site. When it’s time to relax, visit our Spa and Wellness Center, complete with Health Bar, indoor pool, sauna and steam bath and unwind from your busy day, or get a great workout at the fitness center. Free limited guest parking is available and roundtrip airport shuttle service is offered for a nominal fee at our Cluj-Napoca hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Cluj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Cluj Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing