We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and very nice”
Review of Grand Hotel Napoca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Napoca
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I only stayed for 2 night.
The room was clean and pretty big with a nice view to the Cluj Arena stadium.
I didn't had breakfast at the hotel restaurant, but had lunch once and it was ok.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEEA_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 199 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

Nice clean hotel, excellent location, within walking distance to centre of Cluj. The bar and restaurant area is quite spacious and well designed. There was a dog roaming freely in the reception, I didn't mind, he was very sweet actually, but it may bother some of course. People saying it smelt of smoke, i didn't notice that. The rooms were very tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelu D, Specialist Marketing at Grand Hotel Napoca, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hello Mr. Andrew and thank you very much for you review on TripAdvisor. My name is Nelu Dican and I am the Specialist Marketing at the Grand Hotel Napoca.
We want to improve ourselves every day and that s the reason that I write you today.
We saw that you were not satisfied about our breakfast so I want to ask you what kind of food you wanted to find on our breakfast.
Thank you again for your review and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel was part of the COSMOS tour.
It was adequate as far as I can remember.
Room was ok but agree that there is a strong smell of smoke - which the Receptionist claimed no one smokes there?
Walking distance to centre of town and castle.
Breakfast ok.
Definitely not 4 star.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was trainer in Grand Hotel Napoca and enjoied the professional infrastructure of the seminar and conference rooms and infrastructure. Alse the assistance by the event manager was very good. I stayed one night. Rooms are ok, but not 4*. Breakfast was in a big hall where you are lost. There is a buffet for self service. On the empty tables nothing is prepared. So you even have to serve yourself with cups, knofe, fork and spoon. Staff in breakfast hall was unfriendly and not interested in guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaBrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My second business trip to Cluj required me needing a nice hotel with Business functionality and good location. Advertised as a 4* hotel I expected a somewhat high standard from the hotel but was sadly very disappointed by the stay at the Grand Napoca.

I stayed a total of six nights and by the 3rd night was considering checking into a different hotel, some key failures
- Room wasn't cleaned at all on day 2, and after enquiring at 5pm was told no staff were available and could only be done following day.
- No hot water on day 4, had cold shower
- No Wireless internet except in Lobby
- No Breakfast buffet and little to no choice in Menu
- Entire hotel really stunk of smoke including room
- Aircon unit was broke and after asking twice about repairs no luck so had to sleep with Door open which meant getting traffic and noise at early hours in the morning.

After brining these issues to the various members of staff had little to no luck and received exceptionally poor response to my grievances.

I had 2x Clients check out early and move to the Hilton which was far from ideal due to their list of complaints about the hotel. Ultimately these problems come down to management and I found the staff helpful and polite but unable to action any of the items to get these issues resolved. Very disappointed and i'll not be staying at the Grand Napoca nor recommending this hotel to my clients in the future.

I really do hope the above issues can be resolved as the hotel has plenty of potential.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lrdweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Smokey hotel from enerance to exit... But has parking which is huge in Cluj.the front desk is very nice and there is a bar right off the lobby. Center city is a small walk but the park is very close. Internet is available at the hotel and there is a gas station right next to the hotel too. The park has a recreational center and pool where you can sewin, a lake you can rent a row boat or a boat shaped like a swan.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54LauraS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have stayed 1 night in the hotel. It is a big former communist hotel, renovated a few years ago. The location is not perfect, but it is ok, it is situated near de center, so 1 km away. Some of the rooms have been renovated and it has 4 stars, other rooms have only 3 star. I have stayed in a 3 star room, which was ok, but the room has been situated on the 1 floor, and was looking on a big rooftop, which blocked the entire view. The room is clean, the bathroom small and nothing special. The breakfast is good. There is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, not even in the first floor. The price is average 55 EUR/night for a double room, breakfast included. If you want to stay for a short period, the hotel will make it, but for longer stays I would recommend an other hotel.

Room Tip: Ask rooms higher than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kissk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
422 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#11 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Transilvania
Hotel Transilvania
#12 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Confort
Hotel Confort
#6 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
182 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#7 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Napoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Napoca

Address: Strada Goga Octavian no 1, Cluj-Napoca 400698, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: $66 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Napoca 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Napoca 4* is located in the heart of Cluj-Napoca. It takes only 4 minutes to the city center, 2-5 minutes to the football stadiums, 20 minutes to the airport. The New Grand Hotel Napoca was entirely renovated in 2010. Today it is the biggest Conference Center in Transylvania, offering 4000 seats. It can accommodate 320 guests in single, double rooms & suites. It offers free private parking & free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Napoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Napoca Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing