We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, like a Holiday Inn express but with Transylvania all around you”
Review of Alexis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexis
Ranked #22 of 87 Cluj-Napoca B&B and Inns
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, like a Holiday Inn express but with Transylvania all around you”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a great hotel to use as a base to see the Central city of Cluj or take day trips to the surrounding areas. The staff are friendly and accommodating and speak very good English. The breakfast is the same or better as any you'd get at a Holiday Inn - and European coffee is always better.

Room Tip: Suite is large enough to accommodate three people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryQU88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razvan B, Owner at Alexis, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Mary,

We are very delighted that you were so pleased with your staying at our hotel.We will try to improve our business constantly,so all our customers could leave our hotel fully satisfied with our services.
We hope that you will return with your family to explore even more of our beautiful city.

Best wishes from Cluj!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
2
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed here for business in January 2012. The hotel is very basic. Room size is more than OK, the bed is good. The walls are thin, sound from the next room can be heard. Bathroom is small and basic, and there's no way to take a shower without getting the whole floor of the bathroom wet. Not that that is a big problem; all is dry and clean again at the end of the day.

Breakfast is the most basic I have ever seen. The Irish Pub next door also serves breakfast. I haven't tried that, but I suppose it could be a good alternative.

Smoking is allowed in the lobby. My room was a non-smoking room and it was clean, no smoke odour there.

As I can't compare it to other hotels in Romania, I'll rate this one average.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crushert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razvan B, Owner at Alexis, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest from The Netherlands,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest last year in January.Let me tell you that since then we have improved many things at our hotel,starting with a more diversified breakfast and also we have replaced the old shower cabins with new ones,which don't allow the floor and bathroom to get wet anymore.

We hope that someday you will return to check this improvements.:)

Regards from Cluj!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Hotel Alexis is a new hotel, opened in October 2010 according to their website. It looked like not everything was ready yet; the first floor was just an empty hall, and an entire wing was still under construction.

I had requested a non-smoking room, and the house rules stipulate that smoking be forbidden in rooms. However, my room had a bad stink of cigarette smoke. Maybe smoke diffused from the lobby, where smoking was unfortunately allowed.

The hotel is very basic. Cheap materials have been used to furnish the rooms. Corridors had just white painted walls. The bathroom was very dimly lit. There were no toiletries, except for liquid soap and shower gel, no shelf to put my own toiletries on, and no towel racks. The glass shower wall was completely useless and did not prevent in any way water from spraying all over the bathroom when taking a shower.

Free wireless internet was available in the room. The hotel has a parking lot in the backyard, and I parked my motorbike right there. Breakfast buffet was very simple and not so many options were available. The staff at the reception were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackXJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razvan B, Owner at Alexis, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly,we are glad that we could have you as our guest.

Secondly,since you have been here,we arranged our first floor for conferences,but our hotel is finished since 2010,I suppose that what you may thought that was an under construction wing,was our neighbor's new building right next to our hotel,with same architecture and painting(from orders of the City Hall).

Regarding the smoking,since we have a lobby and a bar,where we serve drinks and coffee,naturally some our clients want to smoke,we can't forbid them this,maybe the cigarette smoke you have felt was from the earlier guest,who didn't take in consideration that it was a non-smoking room(we have also smoking ones) and still has smoked there.Still it is our job to check if the room is OK,maybe the lack of time didn't allow us to vent enough the room.In this case if our client comes to reception and tells that he has a problem with the smell from the room,we change his room with another one.

Also since then,we have removed our old shower glasses and replaced them with an entire shower cabin,which don't allow the water to spray all over the bathroom anymore.We have put some shelves and towel racks too.

We have improved the quality of our Swedish Buffet also.

If you are considering a new trip to Cluj,you are invited to be our guest again and see all our improvements.


All the best from Cluj!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cluj-Napoca hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
396 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#9 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fullton Hotel
Fullton Hotel
#40 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
212 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
#6 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hanul Fullton
Hotel Hanul Fullton
#18 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis

Property: Alexis
Address: Calea Dorobantilor 26, Cluj-Napoca 400121, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexis 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical and business center of Cluj-Napoca, only 200 m from the Justice Court, Alexis Hotel offers air-conditioned rooms, free indoor parking and free Wi-Fi.All rooms at Alexis Hotel have a mini-fridge and cable TV, and each includes a private bathroom with hairdryer.Hotel Alexis offers laundry services to all its guests. The staff also organize car rentals and help with luggage storage.Alexis Hotel is 100 meters away from the Lucian Blaga National Theatre, and the Botanical Garden is 2 km away. Guests can drive to Cluj-Napoca Airport in 10 minutes or walk to the Babes Bolyai University in 5 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alexis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing