We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the center of Trans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Transylvania Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here for three days, hostel is in the great position, reasonable price, very nice and young stuff, quite helpfull, alll speaking english. I would come here again. It is also a good place to meet people...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ante P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 127 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed there for only one night... but I stayed till about 2 am the next day due to my midnight train but they were very accommodating about that :) they allowed me to stay in the common room and even gave me a blanket to take a nap :) Its also a great place to meet people and go out with them for a coffee or something because the people working there are very friendly too:) I will definitely go back there if I am going to Romania :) they have really big rooms and toilet plus free cereals and milk for breakfast which is really thoughtful of them :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Perfect, breakfast is not the best, but the dorms are spacious and not cramped. The staff are polite and very helpful. The lounges (there are 2) are really nice and the kitchen is clean and well stocked. I can't think of a criticism, except that the milk at the breakfast table wasn't real milk, but I trust that this has been rectified.

A good choice.

Room Tip: The dorms are perfectly good. I can't comment on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sahotaonlinetuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in a twin room which was very roomy. Most staff were incredibly helpful! I only really say it's not the best because we've stayed in amazing hostels all over the world. But this place was affordable, friendly and they could provide you with information about anything you needed. The kitchen was ok, and you could probably cook in there if you needed (we didn't) and the place was very clean. Great location close to all the attractions and a nice cozy place. Would probably stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat_brown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was on the train from Brasov to Sighisora but my travel radar was not working for I didn't get off the train after it pulled up. I wasn't reading the time on my ticket or looking out the window for my stop.

Anyhoo, since I had no plans I stayed on the train (without paying) and got off 3-4 hours later in Clug-Napoca. Plus I didn't have any guide book pages and had hoofed it into city centre to find a McCafe for wifi connection for rooming.

At check in, hostel's Michael speaks gooder English than me for he studied the classics in the university there after growing up watching Cartoon Network. Easy to find since I was totally lost mentally and physically.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CafeConCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Transylvania Hostel really made my time in Cluj a great experience! I was only there for two days but i will definitely be going back. The hostel is right in the city centre and it has a great common room, outdoor area and clean /spacious rooms. It was a great hostel to meet other travellers and the staff were amazing! Very friendly and were happy to take a group of us from the hostel out at night which was a lot of fun. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keelinmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Situated in the Old Town of Cluj. Very nice, comfortable and clean! You can sleep well at night. There's a well-equipped playroom and kitchen (free cornflakes;). You can also spend a little time on a terrace. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W.D. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Topaz Boutique Hotel
Topaz Boutique Hotel
#47 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Transilvania
Hotel Transilvania
#11 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Confort
Hotel Confort
#6 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#7 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transylvania Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transylvania Hostel

Address: Strada Maniu Iuliu no. 26, Cluj-Napoca 400095, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: $16 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transylvania Hostel is a comfortable and friendly backpackers hostel nestled squarely in the center of Cluj-Napoca. With a variety of shared dorms and private rooms we are ideal for backpackers, Erasmus students, couples, and small groups alike. We proudly offer a common room for socializing, game room with billiards and ping-pong, and a self-catering kitchen to prepare your own meals on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Transylvania Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transylvania Hostel Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing