We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service! Elegant and peacefull. go for it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
romania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great service! Elegant and peacefull. go for it!”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We went in June, off season. After a 10 h flight from Paris a good oriental massage relaxed us. we had a junior suite with jacuzzi in the bathroom. the room was big and the furniture elegant. from the junior suite we could go directly to the pool, surrounding the suites. In the evening they have live music on the beach terrace. you can enjoy a cocktail and hear the ocean. at 6pm the sun sets and a walk on the beach is very nice. Dinner in this hotel is a delight. The french cook offered us each night something different, tasty and elegant dishes, with a great design. The high level of professionalism is seen in each service. The SPA is divine. The beach has little coral rocks from place to place but is ok. the ocean was a bit angry, but ok for this period of off season.
I would come back any time with great pleasure. The staff is very nice and helpful and you see a smile everywhere.

Room Tip: the ground floor rooms have connection to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielaberbece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    196
    87
    42
    17
See reviews for
84
322
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I came here after receiving a christmas gift.

We stayed 2 nights with my girlfriend and we enjoyed very much =)

This hotel is really well located, the hotel restaurant is one of the best in Reunion Island.

Can't wait to go back again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanoiLuxorGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Dated hotel with correct personnel however a bit distant compared to other good hotels. In need of repair in different aspects but trying hard to justify the high prices. Most items 20-50% higher than other 3/4 star hotels. Beach nice but dangerous to swim. Bring eater shies if you want to get in over the rocky bottom.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

No hotel on the island deserves a four star rating but this hotel was exceptionally poor. Although Le Saint Alexis has a lovely location on the beach it is diminished by the quality of the rooms that are on par with a Motel 6. Service in the restaurant was exquisite but unfortunately it was completely negated by the incompetent, uninformed and argumentative service at the front desk. Absolute worst hotel service I have experienced in my life. Managers are completely incompetent and obviously have no interest in return clients.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lololola17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Velha, ES
Level Contributor
407 reviews
302 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel. The room was huge with all the amenities of a luxury hotel and had a nice balcony. The pool around the hotel is very nice. From rooms at the ground floor you can directly step into it. The food at the restaurant was great and the waiter very friendly and professional. We loved the hotel - even if it was abit pricey. The beach is nice for a walk but not that outstanding in terms of beauty.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Spent a few days at Le Saint Alexis after two weeks of backpacking in La Reunion. Despite being quite old (and in some cases in need of a revamping), the St Alexis proved to be a really enjoyable hotel. It is located straight on the beach of Boucan Canot, one of the most popular of the island, especially nice if you like surfing or snorkeling. The room was spacious, with a small balcony directly on the sea. There were only a few guests in the hotel (aug 2008). When the hotel is full in the high season, this is probably not as good since it can become quite crowded.
Breakfast: excellent. Good food, lots of choice, and the terrace just above the beach is great.
Diner: not the best I had during our stay, despite being the most expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Me and my wife has spend perfect holidays in Le Saint Alexis between January 4th and 8th 2009.
We lived in room No. 108. Room was comfortable, clean, pretty big, with separated toilet and superior bathroom (with jaccuzi), bed was good. In room we find also safebox, minibar, TV-set and well-working air conditioner. From balcony opened great wiev to hotel inner yard with excellent pool.
In room I use high-speed internet (for fee). Wi-Fi connection also working in hotel lobby.
Service has excellent, hotel staff was very kind and helped us always. Restaurant staff works as good team.
Hotel has 3 restaurants. On 3rd floor restaurant we has breakfast. Assortment of food was good. Interesting additive on time of breakfast was sparrows who try to eat scraps. They don't interfere us.
Lunch has served in 1st floor restaurant. Because we all days go to trips on island we only once eated lunch in hotel. It was good.
Dinner has served in 1st or 2nd floor restaurants. It's depends from weather. 1st floor restaurant haven't the roof, and if raining or after rain, we eat on 2nd floor. Dinner food was very good - absolutely by standards of gourmet restaurant.
Hotel has a very interesting architecture. It seen very lovely annd beatiful.
The best and most attractive thing was the hotel pool. I never seen bigger pool in any hotel erarly. All surface of inner yard of hotel and also outer perimetre - it has pool with clear, warm and fresh water.
Unfortunately the hotel beach hasn't the best. Sandy beach with sharp-edged stones and coral fragments. Big stones was also strewed in low water. And finally - breaker waves goes freely to beach because Reunion almost haven't the protecting barrier-reef.

  • Liked — All was great
  • Disliked — Maybe only beach area
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 mi away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#3 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Akoya Hotel & Spa
Akoya Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in La Saline les Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#2 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence l'Archipel
Residence l'Archipel
#6 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
Address: 44, route de Boucan Canot, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#5 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint Alexis Hotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing