We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in great location”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is very good value for money - an excellent 3 star choice. very nice pools - one of which is heated in winter - set in lovely huge gardens. The beach is just across a small road, and is sheltered by a reef. There is good snorkelling and the beach is relaxed and quiet. Staff are friendly and the rooms are nice. We had 2 extra beds in the room but still had enough space. Breakfast was good, we did not have dinner there as the restaurant was lacking a bit in atmosphere in the evening as it was low season (and there are great restaurants directly by the beach only a few minutes away). Overall, a very good 3 star in an excellent location.

Room Tip: ask for a garden side room, otherwise you will only have a view of the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustrianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    345
    251
    82
    46
See reviews for
307
247
41
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

mixed thoughts on my stay at novotel reunion at the time that i stayed they were french holidays and hotel was full of french people ...the location is beuatiful , set among the garden ..but not directly on the becah ( you do have hotels that are directly on the beach ) the rooms need to be updated .the quality of beds is very bad ..i am alergic to mites so i had to be on medicine non stop .the hotel has french flair...nevertheless i expected more from novotel reunion

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Limited Internet access in rooms, problem when you travel for business.

Sleeping ok, breakfast and service ok. Location ok. Small bedrooms, only std rooms, no superior or muxury rooms. So no upgrade with aclub card.

Best regards

David Busalacchi

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank d_busalacchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a hotel that survives by reason of its location. With a short walk to the beach which is superb. The swimming pools were great, the room however was only average, restaurant buffet = 35€ which was rather expensive but the food was reasonable cocktails were expensive conside a bottle of champagne instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank besidec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Cocktails on arrival = a carton of 'no frills' cocktail juice and so the experience began. Noisy air-con, shower wouldn't drain, mini fridge only cooled to room temperature, pen holder provided as coffee cup, pool out of service, TV wouldn't work, a la carte menu actually means you have no choice (because they ran out), dogs and cats hassling guest as they eat, scrambled eggs soaking in water mixture for breakfast and grab what you can because you will have to compete with the birds for the other options. Then the hotel ran out of water. A few staff were O.K but all in all don't ask for help because they won't come. The best thing I can say about this hotel is the bread was pretty good. Save yourself the greif.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in a poolside room and found it nice. The only downside was aircon was a bit noisy but was cool enough in the room anyway.Nice sized bed and big bath.
Great location on the beach. All you do is go out a gate and through some trees and you arrive 1 minute later at a sandy beach with coral reef that has fish galore. To see them, you hire snorkels and goggles for free.
Great pools, Jacuzi, tennis courts.
Transport is ok. We caught the bus to St Leu and St Paul for 1.40Euro and St Gilles city centre is a 40 minute walk along the beach form the hotel.
We will be back and will make sure we know so french because it is not spoken alot here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with Even numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cale32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We only stayed two nights at this hotel. It was ment to give us two days of relaxation, after a lot of hiking in the mointains. After Check-in we went to our room. As soon as we opened the door, there was this horrible smell of old smoke from zigarettes. The people, who must have stayed before us in this room, must have smoked hundreds of zigarettes. We immediateley called the reception and asked politeley if we could change the room because of the smell. She told us that it was not possible because the hotel was fully booked. In fact, that was not true. At breakfast in the morning, not even half of the tables available were occupied oder ready to use. The beach and the pool was OK. The manager wrote us later that they do not have non-smoking rooms. I do not understand that because almost everey hotel I stayed at in the last 2 years has had non-smoking rooms. So, just make sure that you demand a smoke free room and everything should be fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianW25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#3 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2,457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#2 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Residence l'Archipel
Residence l'Archipel
#6 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alamanda Hotel
Alamanda Hotel
#15 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
536 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles

Property: Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles
Address: 123 Boulevard Leconte Delisle, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island (Formerly Novotel Saint-Gilles La Reunion)
Phone Number:
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the west coast at one of the most beautiful swimming spots on Reunion Island, just 2 km from the centre of town, the Relais de l'Hermitage Saint Gilles La Reunion features 173 airconditioned rooms, two swimming pools, a childrens pool, a jacuzzi, 2 tennis courts, 2 restaurants, a bar and two private car parks. Enjoying direct access to Hermitage Beach, the hotel is ideal for a family holiday fully enjoying the magic of Reunion Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Saint-Gilles La Reunion Hotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Novotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains Novotel
Relais De L'Hermitage Saint-Gilles Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing