We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location, very friendly owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Vacoa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Vacoa
Certificate of Excellence
Nijkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb location, very friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We went here to start our vacation on Reunion island. We stayed here for 4 days in june 2013. It was very calm and quiet on the location, not many other tourists around. Which was handy, because we basically had the whole property for ourselves! :)

The owners, Nathalie and Yves, are very lovely. A Belgian couple, speaking both French and a bit of Dutch. That was very handy, because most people on Reunion island only speak French!

We got a ground floor room, with a bed, fridge, closets, tv, aircon and bathroom. Basic but sufficient. Although we found the room to be a bit tiny. But everything was clean and worked fine, which is most important.

There is no breakfast served, but the local bakery and supermarket are nearby. You can walk there, or lend a bicycle (which is available for free). The communal kitchen is well equipped with your basic needs for preparing your breakfast/lunch/dinner. There is even a charcoal bbq to use.

In the public area around the kitchen and garden, there is free wifi. We did not get proper wifi reception in the room, but that didnt bother us.

The location of Le Vacoa is excellent. It is in a residential area, close to the sea (few hundred meters, nice walk). And the towns of St Gilles, St Paul or St Leu are nearby: only a few minutes drive with a car.

If we ever come to Reunion island again, we will definitely return here, and enjoy the calm laidback hospitality of this truly magnificent place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadronner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    43
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
64
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Koksijde, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This residence is a warm place to stay: very friendly and helpful hosts who make you feel at home immediately. The open place: little separate isles around a patio with shared kitchen, makes it a cosy environment where people laugh together but where a private moment is respected ànd can be held if needed. Le Vacoa is located at max. 1 km from the beach, which can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. It's situated in the lagoon area whose fish and underwater life never stops to amaze... Nothing more was wished for to make this 3 weeks journey at the Vacoa the best trip so far!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with very friendly and helpful hosts, who can also speak Dutch. It's clean, it's cozy with a nice pool and a kitchen in the garden, where you can cook your own meal and meet fellow travelers/guests. The beach is a short walk and it's also nice. You'll feel really welcome! If I ever go back to Reunion, I would go again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our multilingual hosts were friendly and helpful. The shared kitchen facilities provided hostel style comraderie between guests and airconditioned rooms ensure a good night's sleep. We enjoyed the swimming pool on the hot afternoons and the free wifi access in the communal area. It is well situated for touring around the rest of the island or for lazing on the beaches of the lagoon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains hotels
0.2 mi away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#3 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Kerveguen
Le Kerveguen
#9 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gill...
#11 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence l'Archipel
Residence l'Archipel
#6 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#2 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vacoa

Property: Le Vacoa
Address: 54 rue Antoine de Bertin, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Reunion Island
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Vacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vacoa Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing