We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty creole buffet”

La Marmite - Restaurant Creole
Price range: $20 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Worksop
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty creole buffet”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We went as part of a large group for lunch and everyone enjoyed the creole food but the roast pork wasn't great. There were plenty of choices on the buffet including veg, fish, octopus, duck, and meat in cari and rougail forms. The buffet format means that you can eat quickly and try many dishes.

The meal deal includes a soft drink and was EUR18 for adults and EUR15 for children.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piers G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    283
    162
    60
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went with a group of friends and we had a great time. We were greeted with some rum tasting at the entrance to the restaurant. We chose the buffet and got our drinks from the bar, so I don't know if there was an a la carte menu nor can I speak to the service. The food was great, typical creole with many choices in pots on the open fire, so the food was always hot. I have had creole food in other restaurants on the island and this one had a lot more variety and was very tasty. The price was 20 euros for the buffet and 3 euros for a beer, which I thought was very reasonable. This is not an upscale restaurant but a down to earth place with good food. I would go back any time and so would my friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food - go early....”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went to La Marmite in December 2012 just before Christmas. We had a great time we did not have to wait despite it being quite busy and full. The food choices were plentiful and the pots were filled regularly. We did however go early evening and would suggest the same. the food is good and it is worth the visit. Typical Creole cuisine tasted great....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouisaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella - Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, good idea but do not come late!”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The place was theoretically nice, to sample creole cusine. Dinner was spoiled by a serious problem: arriving at 9:30PM, the 20 plus choices marmite buffet was almost finishes and we could just sample maybe half of the choices, and the ones we could taste were also the leftovers of people arrived earlier (who chose the best bits).
That is not nice at all!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank RobyTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marmite - Restaurant Creole also viewed

Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
La Saline les Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
 
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
 
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
 

Been to La Marmite - Restaurant Creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing