We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday!”
Review of LUX* Saint Gilles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LUX* Saint Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

A perfect relaxing and welcoming hotel. We were supposed to stay here for three days, but decided to stay a week instead and skiped other plans.
Even if the hotel was quite big, it didn't feel that way. You had the beautiful beach nearby, the pool and lots of reastaurants and space.
The staff was very friendly, helpful and serviceminded. The food was outstanding. I still dream about the grilled squid with kaffir limesauce and pineapple melba with vanilla icecream....
The location was also very good and we went to other small bars and restaurants sometimes. A very good place to spend your holiday and I will very much like to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Madeleine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent on sharing your experience at LUX* Ile de la Réunion on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to note we have met your expectations by giving you the “perfect holiday”. It has been a pleasure to host you for more days than planned. As our goal is to make you celebrate life, our team is happy to see that their passion and professionalism make you enjoy your stay.

We will be enchanted to have you back to enjoy the beautiful lagoon, our Island Kitchen at La Plage with our “outstanding” grill squid and our fresh pressed lemonade: the Softly Softly, there are plemty of raisons, too long to tell.

Sincerely always,

Stephane Baras
Directeur General.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,594)
There are newer reviews for LUX* Saint Gilles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

The bathroom has seen better days, the shower fixture was very loose, there was mould all over the tiles, soap holder chipped, a disgusting smell was also coming out the drain.

The floor was dirty, Fridge door broken, batteries dead in the remote controls.

The internet was also a let down, with an old fashion code system.

Overall not the best experience for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ochanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are sorry to notice we didn’t meet your expectations as our goal is to provide you the best service possible to make you celebrate life.

We have considered and analyzed your esteemed feedback and I have noticed with concern your comments.

It will be a pleasure to host you again and show you we can be as perfect as you required.

Yours Faithfully,

Stéphane Baras
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very kind welcoming!Great hotel staff-from General menager Mr.Stephane Baras to the housekeepers.Special thanks to Charline for the support that we received for our comfortable accommodation.I am a wheelchair user and we received a room upgrade for our better accommodation.
Very clean and nice rooms.Bathrooms are conveniently with quality
accessories!
We were very happy to stay in Lux hotel!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Let me personally thank you for the time you spent on sharing your experience at LUX* Ile de la Réunion on TRIP ADVISOR.

It’s a real pleasure to notice we meet your expectations and make your stay as comfortable as you required.

Charline is grateful to see your comment and let you know the pleasure was shared.

All the team is enchanted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we were happy to give you the best accommodation possible as our passion is to make you celebrate life during your holidays.

It will be our pleasure to host you again to share a new unforgettable experience with you.

Yours sincerely,

Stephane Baras
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ended honeymoon here after touring the island and made the perfect finish. Very understated but perfect service. Beach towels provided were phenomenal! Swim in sea before breakfast, when sea was calmest, gave the appetite needed when faced with the spread.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LincolnCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you spent to share your experience at LUX* Ile de la Reunion on Trip Advisor.

First of all, thank you for choosing for an event as important as your honeymoon. As our passion is to please you, we are glad to see we meet your expectations and succeed in making you celebrate life.

All of our team and myself would like to congratulate you again for your wedding, we wish you all the best.

We hope we will host you again, maybe for your wedding anniversary, to make unforgettable memories together.

Yours faithfully,

Stéphane Baras
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I still remembered when I started my Communication with Lux Team for my upcoming conference. I was little nervous as I experienced before the language barrier (most of people dont speak English) but I really appreciate the efforts & support of whole Lux* team which made everything to go so smoothly. Hotel team deal us with so professionalism and provided all the support required to make our business trip successful.

Everyone at the Hotel is so positive & supportive. They takes your Job as their own job and will not leave you until its done.

Also, I would like to thanks not only on behalf of my company but also on behalf of our guests for your kind hospitality.

Also, I would like to mention that I experienced the worst treatment by the Travel Agency (Mille Tours) recommended by Hotel. Mille Tours should not be in the recommendation list of Hotel.

Rest all was great.

Thanks for Kevin, Christophe Adam & all the Reception Team.

We would definitely be coming back to you :) :) :)

Room Tip: Take the ground floor room to enjoy the Scenic Beauty
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIJAY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for the time spent on writing a comment on TRIP ADVISOR following your stay at LUX* Ile de la Réunion.

Christophe Adam, Kevin and our Reception Team thank you very much.
We are proud to see our passion made your stay an unforgettable one. We aim for guest satisfaction so we are very happy to see we have been able to meet your expectations and to please your clients.
We thank you for your confidence by giving us the opportunity to host your business trip.

We’ll be delighted to host you again for another business trip or maybe for the pleasure to discover the beauty of our Island.

Sincerely yours,

Stéphane Baras
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We don't frequent 5 ***** hotels, this was a first time for us. And we did enjoy it a lot. Certainly a pricy destination on Réunion but it comes with a full package and high service level. Our entry level room was nice though the outside needs repainting. Enough space and nicely spread buildings on the premises. For the lagoon you really need water shoes! The breakfast is excellent and so is lunch and dinner. During our stay only the la plage restaurant was open due to low season. Magnifique located! As honeymoon couple they arranged a dinner for two on the beach. Perfectly set... All about the details... Very romantic and something to remember!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jeronimoburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the LUX* Ile de la Réunion on TRIPADVISOR.

We are proud to see we succeed at giving you the best honey moon possible and we thank you for trusting us on such a big event. It’s a pleasure to show you the beauty of our Island with the Lagoon of l’Ermitage and to make you celebrate life with romantic and unforgettable moments.

May your first time with 5 star hotels start a new big adventure with us by giving us the opportunity to welcome you again for your wedding anniversary.

Sincerely yours,

Stephane Baras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Having read over the other reviews, I am wondering if we have stayed in the same hotel… My husband and I are seasoned worldwide travelers, both through business and pleasure.
I have to say our first impression of the hotel on arrival was great. It’s definitely a 5 star location. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Refreshing drinks were served on arrival, and our room was made available earlier than expected. The buffet dinner served on first evening (Saturday) and breakfast was very good, but expensive. Unfortunately, that’s were the good points end. Very friendly staff, albeit contributing, do not make a 5 star establishment. I will break down our impressions in categories :
Location : Definitely 5 star. I would not complain about the noise (not too frequent) of the lawn mower no more than the noise of the overhead visiting helicopters and the incessant sounds of the waves crashing on the barrier reef. This kind of noise comes with the territory and beyond anyones control. The grounds of the hotel are well kept and clean. The lagoon is a little uncomfortable to walk in without protective footwear but the water is crystal-clear. This is it’s natural environment and makes for fantastic photographs.
Room : Needs refreshing. Bathroom way too small and only big enough for one person. Bath edges covered in mold…. Not 5 star! Not 3 star even…. We could clearly hear our neighbors in the next room and overhead. No view of lagoon on ground floor. On last evening, the room staff did not come to turn down our bed and treat us with the usual chocolate and bottle of fresh water…
Bar and Restaurant : Due to the many seminars over the week, most restaurants remained off limits to the other guests and service was very slow. We found that more attention and priority was given to the seminar groups… Food served in the restaurants (with the exception of the Orangerie) only fair and overpriced. Breakfast too expensive at 25 € per person. Buffet meal (when available) only fair and too expensive at 45 € per person and without drinks! Maybe have less choice and more quality leading to less waste also… Service at the bar was equally slow. Drinks were way, way, overpriced and the cocktails the worst we have ever had… We had to ask for olives to accompany our aperitifs… In every single other establishment we frequented on the island, whatever it’s size or statue, we were automatically served some sort of nibble with pre-dinner drinks…
Recap : 5 star island, 5 star location, 5 star friendly staff… you are half way there to make it a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to rent a car. For views over lagoon, reserve room on upper floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank N_Lorenzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the time spent on writing this comment on your stay at our hotel.
We are truly sorry to hear that we didn't answer your expectations as our main goal is to make your desires come true and make you celebrate life.
However, it is a pleasure to see our team has showed you their passion and we're proud to see their warmness helped you enjoy your stay with us. Also, it's a pleasure to host you in such a beautiful place and we are proud to share the beauty of the Ermitage lagoon with you.

It will be a pleasure to host you again and try to show you we are a 5 star hotel worthy.

Yours respectfully,

Stephane Baras
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#3 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1,355 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
392 reviews
4.0 mi away
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
#7 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#2 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
468 reviews
5.2 mi away
Iloha Seaview Hotel
Iloha Seaview Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saint-Leu
733 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akoya Hotel & Spa
Akoya Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in La Saline les Bains
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Saint Gilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Saint Gilles

Address: 28 Rue du Lagon | L'Ermitage (après le Leader Price), Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island (Formerly LUX Ile de La Reunion)
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range: $236 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Saint Gilles 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the western coast of this lush volcanic island, LUX* Saint Gilles (formerly LUX* Ile de La Reunion) faces a shimmering expanse of aqua-blue waters, fringed by a stretch of immaculate sands. Tucked away in acres of beautiful tropical gardens, Creole villas sit in the shade of coconut palms and filao trees, just steps from the coral-sheltered lagoon at L'Hermitage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your LUX* Saint Gilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Ile De La Reunion Hotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
LUX* Saint Gilles Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing