We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LUX* Saint Gilles
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Boucan Canot(Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains)
$289
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Kerveguen(Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains)
$96
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ermitage Boutik Hotel(Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains)
$168
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles(Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains)
$198
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tama Hotel(Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains)
$132
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa(Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains)
$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel de la Plage(Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Les Aigrettes(Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains)
$109
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Le Recif(Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains)
$235
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Les Palmes(Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (2,821)
Filter reviews
2,821 results
Traveler rating
1,633
750
301
105
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,633
750
301
105
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla plageour honeymoonbuffet restaurantbeach restaurantromantic dinnermain restaurantcoral reefla cuisinehelicopter ridehotel restaurantsanywhere in the worldwonderful hotelcolonial stylekids clubchoice of restaurantsyour feetperfect holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 2,821 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just got back from 13 nights in the Lux, including having our wedding and reception there by the beach, and everything was just brilliant.

The hotel is great from arrival. The reception staff are very friendly, and the grounds and exterior of the building are very beautiful. The pool is lovely as well.

The rooms are nice, and the fact that they are in blocks of 6 or 8 (all facing the sea) gives the impression of secludedness.

The breakfast is just fantastic, with literally anything you could want being available, and the waitstaff very friendly.

There are a variety of restaurants for dinner, though which ones are open vary by night. We didn't use them very much for dinner as we tended to be out and about, but one thing we did note is that at €45 the buffet is discouragingly expensive.

When relaxing around the hotel there are lots of nice little touches, such as an ice cream booth on the beach, great club house with lots of sports equipment, and even a secret bar.

For the wedding itself the staff could not have been more helpful. The management were very friendly (both to us and to all of our extended families who were staying in the hotel). And although ours was not a big reception, we felt that we had the full attention of the organisers, and they couldn't have done more to accommodate all of our requests. And on the night the waitstaff were incredibly attentive and helpful.

All in all, highly recommended and really hope we get to come back one day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GallenMcGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like once again to whish you all the best & to thank you very much to choose our hotel for your wedding.
We are always delighted to help guests to celebrate life & love.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in a close future or maybe for your first anniversary.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Probably one of the best hotels at the Reunion Island. The site is remarkable next to the beach with nice design and greeneries. Five or four stars, that is not so important. We got a warm welcome at the reception, got a nice cocktail and were explained all that is important to know about the facilities of the hotel (spa, restaurants, snorkelling, activities, ...). The staff (room keeping, waiters at the restaurants) are friendly and perfect hosts (no complains at all). You can reasonably ask whatever you want, It will be done with a smile ! Rooms were spacious and with all comfort. We tried the beach restaurant (best to make reservation in before !) and the 'Kitchen' several times and got delicious food. Of course the Island of Reunion is 'part of' Europe and prices are comparable to the continent, but you get better service and better hosts !
From our hotel we organized several trips to Saint-Leu, Saint-Denis and le Maïdo (recommandable). The hotel has a good access to the main roads !.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyfourGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to write this review.
I have been delighted to read it and very proud to share it with the other team members.
It's a real pleasure to see we have been able to meet your expectations.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back un a close future now.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

An attractive ex-colonial style hotel complex with all the facilities you would expect of a 5 star hotel, including large clean pool, several high quality restaurants, excellent breakfast buffet and bar with beach service. The hotel backs on to the beach with fantastic snorkelling offering beautiful marine life just within a metre from the water's edge. It certainly meets the criteria for 5 star facilities however our experience was that it was lacking in several areas which mostly come down to client focus, attention to detail of the simple things and attitude from staff.
The room was well stocked with bathroom products, tea and fresh ground coffee, great, but not all refreshed/topped up each day. We had to ask for extra... we also ran out of pellets for the anti-mosquito air-diffuser. I know this is a bonus, but if you are going to provide it, keep it stocked. As mentioned the decor is modern chic so greys, black, strong browns and light blues. Stylish, but a little severe in contrast to the relaxing beach setting. This would have been fine had all the fittings been in place but we had two walls with pictures lights, but no pictures, just the screws where they came from. The other walls were bare, hence stark. We asked at reception about this, but they said it was off peak so they were decorating. This didn't make sense since we were occupying the room, we saw no sign of refurbishment in the hotel and their occupancy couldn't have been more than 50%.

We had a problem with the room safe on day one and an engineer came promptly to work on it. It transpired that 3 of the 9 keys on the pad were out of action. The engineer left leaving us the impression he was going to get it replaced or repaired but did not return. We raised this reception, they did not offer an alternative room or safe, they said they would get back to us but never did for the whole of our stay. We were left to use it as it was.

House maids were polite as were some of the reception, however a considerable number of the rest of the staff we distant and some on the border of surly. This may be because of their lack of spoken English, but even those with a union jack flag on their badge seemed to poorly comprehend simple English.

When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist took us round the hotel. She was very nice and polite but left us a little bemused with some of her questions. “Which room are you in again?”, “Does your deal include breakfast?”. You would have thought she would have checked before taking us on the tour.

There were several occasions when staff at breakfast gathered in cliques to negatively criticise other staff or working conditions instead of focusing on helping clients. One morning, the maitre d’ had told a waitress to take some coffee to a particular table, but that waitress had forgotten which table it was. Instead of just quietly telling her where to take the coffee, she told her she would have to manage by herself. The waitress then put the coffee down on a table which happened to be the correct one, but the dinners were away at the buffet. The maitre d’ shook her head and tutted as to signify that this was not the correct table. Following this the waitress had to disturb three couples to check if they were waiting for the coffee. In the end she went back to the original table when the guests returned and gave them their coffee. In the beach observing the sunset and decided to order 2 cocktails, we asked the waiter to take the order which he placed at the bar. Ten minutes later we had to return to the bar to check. The barman informed us that the waiter would be with us shortly. We waited another ten minutes then and had to carry them to the beach ourselves. 20 minutes later, we asked if we need to sign for anything. We were told they would bring this latter. They never did.

On another occasion the same bar staff were talking about working shifts, fully audible to nearby guests. One waitress said that she didn’t mind staying over her 12pm finish if the bar got busy and she was needed for service. The other staff told her not to do this and work strictly to her hours even if this meant the bar was understaffed and guests had to wait longer as a result. Although they are within their employment rights to take this stance, it was unprofessional for this to be audible to guests and certainly supports the feeling that we had that some staff had an attitude of not caring for the guests.

The next day, we needed the concierge a couple of times but had poor luck. Once at 7:30pm and we were told he had left at 4:30pm and the receptionist couldn't help with a simple request. The other in the middle of the day we were told he was on his break. Surely the other reception staff can cross cover or offer to pass on a message and get the concierge to get back to you, again initiative.

On our last day, we had a return flight very early so had to leave at 5am. We asked for a small snack since we were due to miss breakfast (starts at 6am) the staff kindly put together a mini picnic box for us the next day at no charge, this was very kind. It would have been great initiative if they had offered it in the first instance, but even more so with this knowledge, they didn’t have the foresight to arrange for a porter to help us with our luggage from the other side of the site, which we had to struggle with at 4am.

We visited in July which is low season, so we had no problem eating in the 'La plage' restaurant. Great food, good service. It was a shame however, that not many restaurants were open on some days because of low season. One of the days there was no restaurant open because there was a wedding.

We got the impression that the management were trying hard with entertainment and tricks, but it came across to us as confusing. For instance they advertised a telephone on site that you can call home free of charge, but they didn’t say where it was, you had to find it. They had a special fixed price brunch for July 14th but on the posters it didn’t say what you got for the price… and I know it’s pedantic but anything after 12noon is not brunch. They had some singers in the bar one evening, but this was from 7-9pm, which is an odd time you would either be there for an aperitif, or already out to dine. A total of 3 couples (including us) had returned from an early meal after 8:30. The management would have done well to have them sing much latter that way I am sure we would have all stayed and spent more in the bar. We also struggled to get hold of some basic information that should be made readily available; for example it is not until then last day that we found the place where the films playing at the beach cinema were. Similarly, the list of restaurants open was just a little card positioned in one of the restaurants which you would never see if you are just passing by. The hotel needs a central place where one can find all information required.

Overall, the hotel has a lot of good points and we would recommend it as a destination if you visit Reunion. It just needs to dot the ‘I’s. It should see itself as a luxury 5 star beach hotel, not a snobby 5 star metropolitan hotel that need not go further because it has already gained its 5 stars and is still cheaper than the Ritz. We really liked the place and feel it has potential, that’s why we review. If all (not just some) staff could smile and acknowledge the guests, brush up on their English (if they want anglophone business – they may not need it) and try to think ‘how can I help’ and not ‘oh no what do they want’. Then that might make a difference.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OYP-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to write your very detailed review.
We aim for quality & guest satisfaction that is why we shared your review with the management team in order to take the right decisions to increase our service quality.
We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for your next trip in Reunion Island.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

reunion is a great Island to explore from vulcano to beach And lux is a great place to relax very friendly staff great rooms with ocean view make sure to rent a car And explore. lovely golf course with great views in Proximity. Also Try good restaurants in neighborhood

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are pleased to see we have been able to meet your expectations and next time we will do our most to be above your expectations.
Looking forward to welcome you back in a close future.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely hotel in Reunion, we stayed for 3 days as part of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. Loved the restaurant on the beach, and they put on a special romantic meal with fantastic food. Service was excellent and the Front Desk went out of their way to help when disaster struck and the helicopter company that was meant to be the highlight of our stay cancelled overnight. With just a few hours until we left they helped book us on to a trip with another company (tip: use Corail helicopters, they were great) and saved the day. The trip was superb, from shoreline up volcanoes and through amazing valleys and waterfalls, well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to write this review.
I am pleased to read that we have been able to save your honeymoon highlight.
At LUX* Ile de la Réunion we are delighted to help guests to celebrate life and love of course.
Looking forward to welcome you back maybe for your first anniversary.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews