We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated Elegance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LUX* Saint Gilles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LUX* Saint Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Understated Elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights recently in this truly delightful hotel for our anniversary celebration. LOCATION: outstanding, right on the white sandy beach within the lagoon.
ATMOSPHERE: is very much laid back and uncomplicated, with an understated sense of elegance.
SERVICE: was always very welcoming, prompt, courteous and professional.
ROOM: neat, very clean, serviced daily to a high degree and comfortable.

FOOD/BEVERAGE: 1/ Buffet Breakfast was simply of outstanding quality, a perfect example of where less is more, highest quality and fresh ingredients, lovingly prepared. Baked breads & pastries amongst the best in the world. Orange juice, freshly squeezed & chilled as you wait. Great way to start the day. 2/ Dinner in La Plage restaurant was in a beautiful beachside setting. Good food & wine list.
BEACH: fantastic snorkelling right from the shoreline, great sea life & colours to see. Fish would feed right from our hands. REGRETS: stayed too short a time(3 nights), would love to return for an extended stay. LUX has the formula right, high quality in an understated, elegant environment. All, on an island that's waiting to be discovered. Highly recommended, my family loved it..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Manager at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Dr,
We thank you for your kind comment. We are sure that it will certainly help new customers to finalise their choice.
We look forward to welcome you in the near future,
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    631
    248
    88
    30
See reviews for
563
1,242
63
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

A wonderful stay if you like relaxing between sumptuous breakfasts buffets, swims in the pool, snorkels in the sea reef lagoon, a game of tennis before a first class dinner on the fringe of the beach, with a comfortable sleep before it all starts over again.

We spent 4 nights here and it was so good we only decided to leave the secure compound once in order to make a drive up to the rim of the volcano crater at Piton Madou (worth the 1 hour windy drive).

If I had to find a negative - it would only be that one of two of the restaurant staff were aloof and grumpy. But all the other other staff at reception, the games lodge, and the beach hut were friendly and spoke great English in response to our terrible efforts at French.

We didn't want to leave. And were hoping we would miss our flight in a traffic jam on the way to the airport on order to have an excuse to stay longer. No such luck!

Room Tip: There can be lots of children in tow - so perhaps ask to have one of the rooms in a block further aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Potate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Manager at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Customer,
Big thanks for your comment, and make sure that we strive to make our customers comfortable and make sure that they celebrate life.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I spent four nights at this lovely hotel. My room was well appointed and serviced (including a nightly turn-down) and had a view through the trees of the lagoon. The room furnishings were good quality and comfortable. The one thing missing in the room though was a small side table to accompany the armchair (I used room service twice and had to eat with the tray on my lap - not ideal). The best thing about the room has to be the superb bath products - substantial containers of shampoo, condition and shower gel - with the most wonderful variety of frangrances, including bergamot, citronella, ylang-ylang and ginger. Breakfast was very good, and meal options in the beach bar very good, if not a little on the pricey side. A nice touch was the screening of movies on the beach on some nights. Definitely more of an adult-orientated hotel, which suited me just fine. Professional and friendly, obliging staff. Location of the hotel was superb, being right on the lagoon in Saline-les-Bains, and within easy walking distance (on the beach) of some fun beach clubs (which serve drinks and good meals - I can recommend La Bobine). Would definitely stay there again, and strongly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper levels (balcony) offer more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morningside71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Manager at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valuable customer,
We are acknowledging your comment and thank you for it.
We are looking for a suitable solution regarding the room service in order to make it more comfortable.
It is, as well, with great pleasure that you have experienced some of the new services LUX* is providing to its customers, like the brand new bath amenities fragrances’, the screen on the beach as well as the ICI bar.
We certainly look forward to welcome you soon again, in order for you to discover plenty other exclusive LUX* services.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arzier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

They already 'warn' you on their webiset and corporate communication; LUX is a 5-star resort without the 5-star poshness. Indeed, it's very laid back, not stuck-up, yet very beautiful. Located on one of the most beautiful beached of Ile de la Reunion, they pamper their guests as good as they can. But is that realy worth 5 stars?? NO! There is nothing you can actually complain about, but it just is not 5 stars. Maybe it is the expectation that comes with the 5 star label....at last I then do expect that little poshness and stuck up attitude.....exactly what I like and what I pay for :-)
This is more 4 star at 5 star prices (but on a 5 star location!!).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We arrived on a busy Friday night when the lobby area was in the midst of a big party preparation and lots of tour buses in the driveway, so our first impressions were of a large package holiday hotel, but it turns out it was just a big event that had been planned for that evening, and overall the hotel was pretty quiet.

After a reasonably fast check-in, we were escorted to our room, which was clean, modern, "4 star" quality for most places. Our room had about 7 moths flying around it which were pretty hard to get rid of, but the free bottle of welcome champagne made us forget, and while at dinner they came back and sprayed the room to get rid of them.

Spent one full day at the super nice and warm pool, beach & lounge chairs, and an amazing beachside lunch directly on the beach. Very authentic local cooking, where we got to go the kitchen and scoop out our own Creole tasty servings onto our plates! Reall tasty And delicious!

Beach front area is very nice, plenty of chairs, comfortable sitting areas, lots of pretty fish in the sea, overall very relaxing.

This is not quite a "5 star" resort you would find in other high dollar destinations, but for the island, price and everything else considered, this place was great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeneandJuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnano, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent 6 nights in february 2012 for our marriage anniversary. The location with a beautiful park and beach is really great. We had a Deluxe room with a terrace viewing garden/ocean.
At our arrival we had a Vip welcome in our room with champagne and marcarons (cookies) but unfortunately they were completely covered by ants. A real ants pest was never done (inspite of our demands) and we had ants on the walls and inside the cabinet during our all stay. We had also some problems with our air conditioner repaired after several hours. As far as the service is concerned we can say that it was not excellent, the beach towels for instance were not always available. We had however a beautiful holiday at Lux because the location, the food, the beach were perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hottinger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril d, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir
In complement of the mail I sent you, I would like also to answer you on TRIPADVISOR.COM.
We aim for satisfaction & quality, I feel very sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay so please accept my sincere apologies.
Be aware that every Manager involved with the Ant issue has been informed in order to take corrective action.
I am glad that the conclusion of your stay is “We had however a beautiful holiday at Lux because the location, the food, the beach were perfect”.

Best Regards,

Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Chef de Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

In a few words, one of my best trip... I stayed 4 days with my husband and we loved the beach, the food, and the wecoming.
It was Paradise!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Constance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#3 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
#7 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#2 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Akoya Hotel & Spa
Akoya Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in La Saline les Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
5.2 mi away
Iloha Seaview Hotel
Iloha Seaview Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saint-Leu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
7.8 mi away
Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Saint Gilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Saint Gilles

Property: LUX* Saint Gilles
Address: 28 Rue du Lagon | L'Ermitage (après le Leader Price), Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island (Formerly LUX Ile de La Reunion)
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Saint Gilles 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the western coast of this lush volcanic island, LUX* Saint Gilles (formerly LUX* Ile de La Reunion) faces a shimmering expanse of aqua-blue waters, fringed by a stretch of immaculate sands. Tucked away in acres of beautiful tropical gardens, Creole villas sit in the shade of coconut palms and filao trees, just steps from the coral-sheltered lagoon at L'Hermitage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your LUX* Saint Gilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Ile De La Reunion Hotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
LUX* Saint Gilles Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing