We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy pub food-nice pool table”
Review of Fargo Bar & Grill

Fargo Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Aurora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Casual food and atmosphere are the calling card of this charming restaurant and tavern, which is located directly across the street from the Aurora Inn. The chefs put their talents on display creating daily features that will impress everyone, from the most critical foodies to guests just looking for a great home-cooked meal. Take a turn playing pool or throwing horseshoes in the backyard pit.
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yummy pub food-nice pool table”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

DOn't look for fancy here, just fine food and fun. Try the pool table and have a drink in the back. Service was quick, menu was varied enough to eat there more than once, bartender was attentive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank theresa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    71
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romulus, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Finger Lakes”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We went to the Fargo based on a recommendation from a friend. We were in Ithaca and went the extra few miles and it was well worth it. Located right in Aurora, it has an old time pub feel inside. The decor is simple and dark with hitorical photographs on the wall that are a pleasure in themselves. We ordered soup and lunch and even though I'm a big eater I struggled to finish. It was a huge amount of food at an extremely reasonable price. The soup was excellent (Clam Chowder) and the lunch was delicious (a BLT with homemade chips). We will definitely make the drive again to try some other dishes. If you are in the area (or even the region), do yourself a favor and stop in.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nothing to write home about......the wings were average, had too much sauce and the burger was okay. service was good as well but nothing exceptional.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bergsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bethany, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Afternoon late lunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Burgers were great. Service was wonderful. This place had a great college town atmosphere. We sat in the bar area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
334 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Another Unexpected Surprise.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My GF and I were spending the afternoon geocaching around Cayuga lake when one of our searches brought us to Aurora, New York. We were anxious to take a break and my GF spotted the Fargo Bar & Grill and said words I love to hear her say. "Looks like our kind of place". Those words are special to us because they symbolize what we like most on our day trips. That's a Bar & Grille with local charm and character. If it has that then we go into and hope for the next best thing and that is great decor, good food, cold drinks and a personable bartender. We always sit at the bar and drink and eat and we grill the bartender for all there is to know about the establishment and the locale.

Well we went into the Fargo and it was everything we wanted it to be. Including the most hospitable and informative bartender we've come across. We learned so much about the Fargo and especially the Town of Aurora. It is a great little town with history that will amaze you. If your reading this and you are in the area do yourself a favor and stop in Aurora and see the town, but do stop in the Fargo and enjoy this little jewel of an establishment.

Rest assured we will be back to the Fargo again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fargo Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Fargo Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing