We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Wedding”
Review of The Inns of Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inns of Aurora
Ranked #1 of 5 Aurora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our stay at the Aurora Inn was absolutely wonderful. We had many rooms to view since we were there for my daughter’s wedding. The rooms were spotless as well as being decorated spectacularly and the surrounding countryside was just matchless – so calming to the spirit. Oh, and the beds…they were like heaven, so cozy and so soft – I am normally an early riser but it was tough even for me to get up in the morning. We also enjoyed waking to a basket full of muffins, freshly brewed coffee and tea that were delivered to our door.
Now for a story about their help…
On her wedding day my daughter’s husband-to-be presented her with a beautiful love letter that he wanted her to read right before she walked down the aisle to become his wife. The letter was then passed to someone who was to give it to the maid of honor for safe keeping but had somehow ended up in another person’s hands. During the course of the night the letter had managed to be misplaced and was not discovered missing until the following evening when everyone had packed up and left. After arriving back home and searching through bags, purses, boxes and cars, we called the Inn. We were told that the rooms were all cleaned and that the help had left for the evening but they would check with them in the morning to see if anything had been found. We figured the letter had been put into the trash and there would be no way to recover this sentimental keepsake.
The following day another call was placed to the wedding coordinator who informed us that the letter had actually been found in one of the rooms we had stayed in. Some thoughtful housekeeper had realized the irreplaceable worth of this letter and took it to the front desk to have it mailed out rather than just discard it. Thank you!!
We will never forget our stay and plan on visiting on a yearly basis – well worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariD295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for The Inns of Aurora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 293 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I spent 1 night at the inn to celebrate my birthday. In spite of the rainy weather we had a great time. The inn is a real treat. We stayed in room 5 and it was spacious and clean. The bathroom is huge with comfy bath robes. We couldn't utilize the porch with the rocking chairs because of the rain but it sure looked inviting. The grounds in the back are beautiful with lots of adirondack chairs. We enjoyed the breakfast the next morning in the dining room with being able to order whatever we wanted. The down pillows were probably my least favorite feature. We definitely plan on returning and trying a room on the lake side where it would be less noisy from the street noise.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lake side to get away from the street noise
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our mini vacation. Beautiful location in a quaint little town on lake Cayuga. The service was wonderful. The pre breakfast coffee and muffins delivered to the room was really special. We even extended our stay! The TV was a little small and outdated. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Check in was smooth and polite. We were taken to our room. The lake view balcony was great. Dinner was delicious. Service was fabulous. The entire staff seemed to bend over backwards to make everything perfect.

The one negstive? I would skip the "boat tour." It's just a boat ride on a loud fishing boat. Captain dropped us off at wrong dock, and some townslady had a conniption fit. Townspeople do not seem enamored of the Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After reviewing locations on TripAdvisor for a week away 25th wedding anniversary I settled on the Aurora and room 4 as suggested. Simply put a very relaxing get away and terrific room and service. Morning coffee and muffins on a shared deck (no one but us on it all week) followed by the included breakfast and off we went for local golf, wine tasting and theater in nearby Auburn. The Inns restaurant options on site were great and the service very personal. Highly recommend. Staffing was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 4 as noted often is a great room. Whenever anyone asked what room we were in they stated we we...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveinActon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spend a short stay at the Aurora Inn and we were not disappointed. The location is beautiful and the Inn is a blast from the past with all the current amenities. We stayed in room 1, the only room available when we booked. Room 1 was overlooking the main entrance of the Inn with a very sizable balcony and no noise at all. I am a very light sleeper and I did not hear a peep. Not from inside or outside. The room and bathroom are quite spacious. Sunset on the lake spectacular. We did enjoy dinner and the service in the restaurant. The complimentary water on arrival and chocolates with an inspirational note at turn down were a nice touch. We also appreciated the complimentary muffins, coffee, and tea delivered in a charming basket in the morning.

If the Aurora Inn was to improve on anything I would recommend 3 things.

1. The room is spacious enough to accommodate a King size bed and believe like me quests would appreciate that.
2. The extremely small TV is difficult to see. Too high, does not swivel, and in a strange location with the furniture arrangement.
3. The shower grout should be changed.

All in all we would return to the Aurora Inn without hesitation and plan to do so.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZIMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We live in the Finger Lakes region of NY state. We are familiar with the village and Cayuga Lake...both are incredibly beautiful and you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for night life do not come here! The Aurora Inn is classy and traditional without being too stuffy. You won't want to wear your baseball hat at dinner but don't worry about a tie either...really beautifully furnished and the setting on the lake looks like something out of a movie. The restaurant could use a little tweeking however...not bad but pretty expensive and the service is slow. They are pleasant but I think under staffed...especially in the high months of summer...the food all the way around was not bad...but I was not leaving there dying to go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakeeffectfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
17.6 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
720 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
351 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
15.5 mi away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#6 of 11 in Geneva
266 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cayuga Morning Star Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inns of Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inns of Aurora

Address: 391 Main St, Aurora, NY 13026-9608 (Formerly Aurora Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aurora
Price Range: $166 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inns of Aurora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of Cayuga Lake amidst a tiny, heritage village in the heart of the Finger Lakes, the Aurora Inn and its lakeside dining room has a pedigree dating back to 1833. The original country inn has been impeccably restored to appeal to today's most discerning guests. The Aurora Inn has all the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with services and amenities that only a luxury hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Inns of Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Aurora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing