We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn!”
Review of The Aurora Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Aurora Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Aurora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2011

I should start by saying I never write reviews for places. Ever.

I purchased a deal for the Aurora Inn on livingsocial.com. The deal itself was great, and the inn was just lovely. The staff was helpful, the in-house restaurant was wonderful, and the place itself was beautiful. So many small thoughtful things that added to the experience. Room service twice a day (the second time in the evening, they leave chocolates on the bed), breakfast downstairs OR muffins/coffee delivered to your room, more fireplaces in one building than I've ever seen.

Room Tip: Lake views are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 298 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed in the king suite - room was more than expected. Separate sitting area, great bathroom with separate shower and whirlpool bath. Food offered in restaurant was upper end expensive with limited choices, but delicious. Only complaint - down pillows on bed were too soft, resulted in a poor nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

All the positives already mentioned are absolutely true. We loved our stunning yellow room with the black and white toile details, luxurious amenities and elegant touches. We booked the least expensive room, since it was all that was left, so I can only imagine how beautiful the others must be. The scenery was gorgeous at this time of year. The town, as such, is very quiet and there's absolutely nothing to do unless you are a Mackenzie Childs fanatic (of which, we learned, there are actually many). But we wanted a rest and that's what we got. Apparently, the place is very busy on the weekends as it is much admired as a destination wedding venue. But it was very quiet when we were there. Driving around the countryside is breathtaking in the fall. The wineries are on the opposite side of the lake, which requires some driving. The food at the inn was pretty excellent for breakfast and dinner. Dinner books up quickly and they don't seem to give any special deference to hotel guests, so you have to make a reservation asap if you have a preferred time.
You feel like you're in the middle of nowhere (no offense) but everything is very sophisticated. The people who work there are very friendly and helpful, too. People travelling with children were graciously treated.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Just returned from a 1-night stay at the Aurora Inn. This is an elegant, beautiful place - we will stay longer next time! When we booked it, we weren't sure it was for us, but we can now confidently say just about anyone would enjoy being here.

Our room was large & spacious, with a lovely deck area and view over the lake. The bed was ridiculously comfortable - we were compelled to ask about purchasing their pillows (we love our pillows at home, so this is a statement). The room design is classic, but fresh and airy - not cluttered or outdated. Solid modern amenities - new windows, flat screen TV, nice bathroom design with a great walk-in shower, Aveda products.

The setting is also special - we hung out on the dock & lazed in the hammock. Listened to the waves and breeze from our room - the upgrade to lakeview was well worth it. The 'village' is teeny and quiet, but has a restaurant, a coffee shop and a little market store. We enjoyed wandering - took a long walk down country roads in the morning - very peaceful.

First thing in the morning (at our requested time), they left a picnic basket with coffee & mini-muffins at our door...which we enjoyed on the deck! We had a great breakfast later in the morning (this is included with the room) - ordered off the menu, sitting outside at their restaurant overlooking the grounds & lake. Beats any B&B experience that we've had.

We'll add a note that we did check into a highly regarded B&B later on this trip (shall go un-named), with prices approaching the Aurora Inn. It was so substandard, we actually left after 1 night. Never done that before. Next time we visit the Finger Lakes area, we will stay at the Aurora Inn...and look no further.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JabaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Village setting. Modern convenience and restored history. I had visited years ago, and this was MUCH nicer. For me, this would be a Destination in the future. I enjoyed walking in the village and along Cayuga Lake shore. The new elevator was good since I had a third floor room. My room was pristine, down to the clear glass door on the shower. There was a comfortable reading chair with a good light. The HDTV and CD/DVD player was inside a wooden cabinet with door that closed. My room had a balcony with two white wooden rocking chairs and seating for two others. I sat out there and read my book, drank my coffee, and enjoyed the morning light. The sunset from the lakeside old stone mill on the property was photogenic.
The room came with a beautifully prepared breakfast in the Inn's dining room. I chose an outdoor table overlooking the lake. Since breakfast did not open until 8am, they offered coffee and cream of my choice and four little muffins of different flavors which came outside my door, delivered in a basket with photocopied articles and summaries from the day's New York Times. Very civilized. Excellent, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpledesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We recently returned from a visit to the Finger Lakes and enjoyed a wonderful one night stay at the Aurora Inn in Aurora, NY overlooking beautiful Cayuga Lake. We hated to leave this inn and when we go back will definitely stay more than one night. This beautifully restored historic inn is exceptional in all ways. Our room was gorgeous, spacious and decorated with the highest quality furnishings one could hope for when away from home and anticipating a special vacation. We had a lake view room with a private door to the porch furnished with rocking chairs and a view of Lake Cayuga. The marble bathroom was right out of the best magazines and had all that one could hope for. The bathroom was stocked with top of the line bath products and fabulous towels. Our room did not include a bath, but instead a gorgeous glass shower with a marble seat. Check the website for rooms that have baths with jacuzzi's, etc. This inn definitely has them. By the way, the website is excellent and the pictures of each room accurate. The staff was welcoming, friendly and accommodating. We had a fantastic dinner in the dining room that evening and as our meal was ending the sunset over the lake was exquisite. In the morning the inn serves a full, menu ordered breakfast, included in the price of your room. No continental buffet here! Aurora is a beautiful, small college town and a walk along the main street is relaxing, fun and the lake is always right beside you. The Aurora Inn is a very special inn and one definitely worth visiting...especially since inns of this ilk seem to be very rare these days!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teasel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

My husband and I went to the Aurora Inn in early June for a friend's wedding.The rooms were very spacious and clean, and the entire hotel is very cozy. The breakfast was included and consisted of a nice variety of items such as omelets, french toast and pancakes. There was a mandatory housekeeping charge that we didn't really think was necessary but at least they told us about it before we arrived (but after we reserved the room).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
17.6 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
727 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
362 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
209 reviews
15.5 mi away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#6 of 11 in Geneva
272 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aurora Inn

Address: 391 Main St, Aurora, NY 13026-9608 (Formerly Aurora Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aurora
Price Range: $166 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Aurora Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of Cayuga Lake amidst a tiny, heritage village in the heart of the Finger Lakes, the Aurora Inn and its lakeside dining room has a pedigree dating back to 1833. The original country inn has been impeccably restored to appeal to today's most discerning guests. The Aurora Inn has all the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with services and amenities that only a luxury hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Aurora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Aurora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing