We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax, and enjoy nature's beauty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samar Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant
Reviewed April 5, 2013

it was an unplanned overnight stay at Caluwayan. It was recommended to us by the neighboring Jasmin Beach resort since they are fully booked. The rooms were new and modern, with infinity pool fronting seaside and overlooking rock formations. one thing to learn about "waray's" : upfront in speaking tagalog (not using courtesy words like PO and OPO, commonly interpreted as impolite), shy type which is translated by others as snob people. a tourist should have the understanding of the culture for them to appreciate the people. I informed by husband and friend about it during our stay.

the staff, receptionist and manager are all accommodating. we were even accompanied to the neighboring barangay to look for "banig" as our pasalubong (signature mat of waray).

the owner had a huge heart for his fellow resident by giving them chance to work in the resort. she admitted the need to educate the staff in terms of courtesy and hospitality since most of them are non-professionals and grew up locally.

our overall stay is good . . . super relaxing.
Food > not so good.

P.S. please do not expect good internet connection. wifi is only located in one limited area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 66 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I had great visits there for the weekend.
It's 1 hour from tacloban by van.
The place is very clean and good service.

There is one thing you should know - no wifi / Internet. And the cellular signal is not so good ...


I had good time there !

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robi-TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've stayed in this resort in june 2012 for a very few days. That was more then enough. Front desk: a disaster. Restaurant: a disaster. Service: disaster, OJT level. Room: OK. As it is brandnew. Nature: nice. Beach: plenty of jelly fish. Mobile signal: zero. WIFI: no. TV: NO. Overall conclusion: Stay far away from this resort. Samar has more to offer!.

Room Tip: Spend your pesos in another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wghvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fresh seafoods (crabs, fish, and more) plus native foods (camote, saging at puto). Clean rooms, cottages and CR. Well-manicured landscaping and well-maintained swimming pools. Owners are down-to-earth ... you cannot detect them as owners. And what's more? Prices are negotiable ... discounts are available for any type of customer ... an individual, groups, private or government ... sounds like an advertisement? But these are the TRUTH AND NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH ... try it and you'll love it...

But remember to book in advance ... the rooms may not be available

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea are more relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Light2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nice location, horrible service! Our group of 10 ordered a lot of food at the restaurant. We waited 2,5 hours for our food to arrive and when it finally did half of our order wasn't there. They were out of food but didn't bother to inform us at the time we made the order. Some of the staff told us we could eat the food we brought from home, since we were starving and they had made us wait for two hours for food they didn't even have. At the second we took out our own food the staff came rushing yelling at us for eating what we brought ourselves after all. All in all, overpriced with really bad service and a lack of logistics. Will not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Henoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

just read some of the comments here and it reminded me of a day trip i had a year ago. we rented a boat, since the language is different, it was my friend who communicated with the local boatman as to what the price was. at the end of the day upon paying we were charged a different rate, upon insisting that we pay the agreed rate between boatman and my friend, manager/owner started shouting and said that she will let the boatman pay for the deficiency ( which was thousand over!) . Never had i met management as rude as her . I shudder to think how she treats her employees. Wish everyone would boycott this place so that she would learn that in the service business, service is required, and not be such a snob.

oh another thing, there is a beautiful public beach next to the resort, but since there is no right of way, you have to pay to get into the resort in order to go to the beach.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
10  Thank v H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Quite and awesome place..room was very nice and clean..little sad because we were not allowed to swim in the sea only on infinity the swimming pool..

Room Tip: ground floor rooms facing swimming pool highly recommended..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank supladapretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samar Island
69.9 mi away
Ciriaco Hotel
Ciriaco Hotel
#1 of 3 in Calbayog City
100 reviews
12.1 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
121 reviews
12 mi away
The Oriental Leyte
The Oriental Leyte
#1 of 1 in Palo
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
187 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tacloban
94 reviews
71.3 mi away
Baypark Hotel
Baypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Calbayog City
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant

Address: Caluwayan, Marabut, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Samar Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Samar Island
Price Range: $29 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant Hotel Samar Island
Caluwayan Palm Island Resort And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing