We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samar Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Over priced ,rude mangement,a big mistake,payed for pool it was closed ,payed for boats none avab!. Many bugs in room

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caluwayan, Owner at Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

The said guest checked in on Monday which unluckily the pool was closed - on Mondays, pool is closed due to maintenance and cleaning. This guest was informed and we explained why it was closed, however we assured that at 11 A.M., the pool will be ready for use. We offer a free boat service to our checked in guests upon availability. Unfortunately, all boats were taken when this particular guest checked in.
Our rates has been the same since we started in 2005!
The bugs and insects cannot be avoided, no matter how we tried our best to keep the resort clean. This is due to the tropical location of the place. Also, we have a "no bringing of foods" policy and we inform our guests about this. If food is consumed inside the rooms/villas, this is an invitation for insects and bugs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 64 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

The location of this beautiful beach resort is very scenic; with all the limestone formations you could think you are somewhere in Vietnam’s Halong Bay. There are four beach cottages, each with own balcony; these were the original part of the hotel. And then there is new main building beside the (very nice) pool.
The kitchen is not up to the standard you would expect at such a nice hotel. After a couple of dinners you really have enough. It also does not help that if things are “out of stock” they remain out of stock for days. Even if it comes to easily available things like Mangos for the Mango shake. What a difference to the Sirangan Beach Resort in Sorsogon where the Manager herself goes everyday to the market and to purchase whatever is missing for the dinner you have ordered. Problematic is also that the waiters have to work from early morning until evening and then they are of course tired. Therefore they attempt to close the bar early, sometimes as early as 9pm.
But nevertheless, it is a beautiful resort and I will certainly come back should I be in the region. But next time I will think twice whether to take one of the (beautiful) beach cottages or better stay at the main building. Because we were a bit disturbed by the huge rats which we saw in three of the four cottages we had rented, they not only enjoyed our chicharon which were in a still sealed package but bit holes in some of my wives cloths and in one of our bags. The management was not really concerned (is it a common problem?) and did not even make the effort to offer us any compensation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rolofromaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I am so frustrated with the experience me and my family had in Caluwayan Palm Island resort recently. Unwelcoming atmosphere by the staff...first question that greeted us at the gate was..'do you have food with you'? What the [--]! I understand if they do not allow food inside but guest can at least pay for the corkage. Instead of a warm hello, that was what greeted us. Service was very poor and dissapointing. Over priced cottages and food for a very terrible service! And to top it all, the owner seems to be an uneducated woman without manners and etiquette. She could not care less if she was shouting and gnarling at her staff infront of guests! I have been to five star hotels and resorts in other countries but so far I have not seen service as terrible as theirs! I certainly would not recommend them to friends anymore.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
7  Thank karloe9882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

They serve good food at very reasonable price, they provide budget-friendly facilities like swimming pool, boat rental, cottages for day and overnight stay and artistic landscapes. This place is very calm and should be the next stop to be explored by the adventurers for its untouched natural beauty.

Tip: Be careful with swimming in the sea for the jellyfish.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharmingHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Great location, 45 - 70 min van/bus (towards Marabut) ride from Tacloban City (40-120 Pesos), will drop you off directly at the resort gate. Nice Infinity pool, 2 very basic Open Cottages with clean communal washrooms; and en suite two-level villas available. Breakfast was not so great, but Filipino lunch/dinner was good value for less than USD$5. Don't expect entertainment as this is a very quiet beach resort to relax and soak up the sun and scenery. Beach is ok and pool pretty clean, but beware of some building noise around the pool area as the resort is expanding. The 3 floor hotel building should be finished around January 2012. No internet access yet, but this apparently might change soon.

Room Tip: Choose between basic Open Cottages (like a tent with a roof) directly at the beach, and proper AC vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lortzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Very pretty place. A good place to spend a day. Make sure to rent an outrigger and paddle out to the islands.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nevyntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

WE arrived around 8:00 in the evening and were tired after a trip from Manila, but we were not able to sleep well because the aircon was not cool and were bothered by bites possible from ticks or mites. We occupied a P5,000.00 villa good for 5 persons but were given only 2 towels, a few bots. of shampoo and 2 tiny bars of soap. During our lunch the following day, a fly lay baked in one of the scallops we ordered. When we reported this, no action was taken; as if it was just a minor thing. We paid by credit card and the bill shown was P8,600.00+. When I arrived home from the trip, I discovered that what was punched was P8,960.00. I do not recall any explanation given.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank LemDag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caluwayan, Owner at Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

This is a reply to the review posted by a guest entitled "Dishonest Cashier, Fly on the Food, Overpriced Cottages":

Dishonest cashier

The total bill (accomodation & food) was P 8,960.00, as reflected in the ledger card which was politely presented to the guest and affirmed by saying ok to the cashier.

No amount for the 2 joiners P280.00 each or P560.00 (extra charge for the 2 excess persons) was reflected on the ledger which the guest fully well know that he was supposed to pay the same as properly advised when the group checked-in all 7 ( the maximum is 5 occupants only per villa) - this fact was communicated to the guest when he reserved for the accommodation. The cashier forgot to reflect the same on the card. Upon checking of all orders there was an additional order worth P120.00 which was not included in the order slip, which to both this and the joiner-stated above was not paid and not included in the amount stated above.

Upon check-out, the bill was presented to the paying guest and the cashier politely told the guest to please check everything first. After awhile the paying guest affirmed it and gave his credit card for payment. It was swiped but suddenly one of the company of the guest came and told the cashier that some orders and items ordered where not given, according to them, worth of P175.00. Without checking, the cashier just said ok and refunded them the 175.00 in cash. But overall, the guest still owe the resort P680.00.

With the above facts, how could the guest tagged the cashier dishonest when they were the ones very dishonest when they failed to inform the cashier that they ought to pay the joiner and the additional thing they ordered?

Fly on the food

Good Friday was a real busy day for the resort and these guests saw it. Anyway, they were properly placed in one of the beach cottages for their lunch inspite the waiting guests reserved for that day waiting already.Their food was served and one of them was scallops served on a platter. If there was a fly on it, the same could not have been while being cooked. It might be that while the food was on the table already that fly flown in and it was for them already to safeguard the food as the place is not free from these objects considering the tropical location however we manage to keep the place clean. The thing to have done was to call the attention of any of the staff if indeed the fly was on the food when served and noticed so that we could have replaced it with another food. The complain came later, the guest presented a fly placed on the empty-single scallop shell and not the whole platter of scallops as ordered. This complain might not have been attended to properly as everyone was busy and we really apologize for that.

Overpriced cottage

Upon reservation, be it online, text or call, guests are always advised/informed as to the tariff of the accommodation. This guest was no exemption. The rate for the villa which this guest reserved was for P5,200.00. Aside from the rate, guests are also informed that the villa has a maximum capacity of 5 people only as overcrowding is being discouraged as the airconditioning system is only for the maximum occupants in each villa. This guest knew this. Guests are also informed that it had 2 free breakfast with the price and the villa has hot and cold water, with TV/DVD, free pool use and boat use for island hopping. This guest knew these too. When this particular guest checked-in, it was already, past 8 pm and the housekeepers were already gone. The villa was prepared for 2 as the usual thing we do until the guest arrives to be able to supply the number of towels in the reserved villas. In the registry card, this guest left the space blank for the number of persons checking in enabling the staff not to properly give them the needed things and to these, joiners are not given towels or linens or extra toiletress unless, they pay for extra bed and beddings. Could these guests fault the management for their being too dishonest because they knew they were violating the resort's policy already when they checked-in all 7 of them in one villa and complained that it was not so cold? What do you expect when you overcrowd a place? We have a 24-hour security service at the resort. the guests could have called their attention for any concern as they are instructed to, and they sure could have attended to the concerns of these guests.

To the writer of the above review, damaging as it is, as all people may have a chance to view it, we thank you for it because it gave us a chance to air our side and for the viewers to note how irrresponsible it was made. We appreciate comments negative or positive because it gives us the chance to improve but will definitely not ignore this kind of write-ups. You could have checked things first with the management before posting...

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samar Island
69.9 mi away
Ciriaco Hotel
Ciriaco Hotel
#1 of 3 in Calbayog City
95 reviews
12.1 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
115 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Oriental Leyte
The Oriental Leyte
#1 of 1 in Palo
20 reviews
12.7 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#7 of 21 in Tacloban
5 reviews
71.3 mi away
Baypark Hotel
Baypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Calbayog City
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant

Address: Caluwayan, Marabut, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Samar Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Samar Island
Price Range: $29 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant Hotel Samar Island
Caluwayan Palm Island Resort And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing