We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going out of your way for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pirates Cove Beach and Surf Resort
Ranked #24 of 58 Samar Island B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way for”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was very pleasently surprised by my trip to Pirate's Cove. The best description I could come up with is that the resort is a mix of Baja California style meets one of Jimmy Buffet's dreams. The whole resort is extremely well done, and well thought out. This is not a large style resort run by a rich hotel group, but the dream of the owner who has spent countless years imagining, creating, and repeating the cycle. It is an extremely well thought out, well done dream.

The resort is run through with colorful tile throughout the resort. The childrens pool is massive, and something out of a dream, complete with slides, towers, and obstacles. Below that is a different pool that is filled by the tides every day. It is a magical spot, rimmed with artistic concrete seating areas, that was the perfect time to spend a sunset or sunrise. There is a jacuzzi overlooking both. Separate from that area is an adult pool that is grand indeed, with large tile walls, and different levels. Overlooking is a jacuzzi that is heated by a small fire, which creates an amazing evening sight and experience.

The amenities are the thing. Besides the pools there is great sorkeling, due to the resort being perched on a reef. Fishing poles and snorkeling equipment are free to use upon request. There is also a volleyball court, a small climbing wall, and one of the most amazing slot car setups I have seen. There is also river tubing available, but was not the right season when I visited. There are also great cave exploring chances, which I did not do either. Of course, there is also a very solid surf break that would be fun for lots of different beach activities.

Rooms are clean and did the trick. We had one towel that was not very clean, and we were given clean towels when asked. Based on previous reviews, we asked for the room with the balcony over the ocean. This was a solid tip, and was amazing. It was nice to feel restless during the night, walk out on my balcony, and feel like I was somewhere really amazing, really different. Rooms also come equipped with solid air con, cable TV, wifi, a fridge, and a cooking area. There was no hot water in the room, but this wasn't necessary for is. The water is warm by itself. If this is a necessity, there are rooms that use solar heating to give hot water.

There are only two negatives. One is that there is no food served at the resort. This is less of a problem as there are places in town that deliver, and menus and phone calls are provided by the resort. The second negative is the location, in Borongan, East Samar. It is about 4 hours away from both Catbalogan and Tacloban. But my title holds, it is worth going out of your way for, especially if you are anywhere in Samar.

The hospitality, also, was tremendous. An anecdote: I was craving big, thick, quality burgers and was saying how it was difficult to find that in the Philippines. The owner mentioned that his wife was a great cook, and that if I bought the ingredients she would cook some up. I accepted, and the burgers were absolutely delicious. Based on the amenities, and the other positives, I will be making this a for sure destination on my next trip to the Philippines.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Nolan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
7
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

GOD! Such a terrible place with a trrible customer service... When you get there you wil be welcomed with a bill!!!! The lady owner is the worst ive seen... Ive. Been travelling a lot but this is my first time to experience such service... The owner keeps on shouting to the guests.. Terrible terrible.... Im not gonna recommend this resort to any of my backpacker friends.... NEVER!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Markeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I had 4 great days at Pirates Cove on my journey round Samar Island.

Next time i will stay longer as there are many things to do in the area. I visited Divinubo Island (walked on the reef at lowtide) and an interesting cave tour with af friendly local guide.

You can go snorkelling, surfing, visiting caves and old mines, visiting Divinubo Island, surf, visiting beaches, check out Borongan town etc. The owner Pete and his wife has a lot of tips for activities in the area, just ask.

Pirates Cove have different types of accomodation, you can check it out, at the web site. Its very clean, friendly and helpfull. Everything is wildly creatively decorated, rooms, walkways, bathrooms and pools and it is a great location so close to the sea!

Borongan itself is a friendly town.

If you travel here from Tacloban or from any other long distance location, go with the air con mini vans, that does not make as many stops as the jepneys or local buses.

Have a nice stay :-)
Steffen E. Nielsen
Denmark

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steffen E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

this unique resort has everything you need for a relaxing getaway by the sea. its isolation is an advantage as you will only see travellers and surfers looking for that special place. the town of borongan is just a short walk away for all your needs. an advantage is the kitchen and the wifi is great. because of the brilliant construction design of concrete and tiles everything is sealed off and very clean. comfortable resort accomodation is lacking in this country [ somebody should take notice of this place]. pete is very friendly and you will get a good laugh. [probably been around too many aussies, poor bloke]

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davo504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I found Pirates Cove to be a great place to stay.

We stayed in a well furnished, clean cottage with A/C and cable TV and plenty of room to move.

Best of all our cottage had a balcony that extended over the ocean reef. Wow !

So we could sit on our balcony in the gentle sea breeze at night and eat and drink and watch the tide come in and out and listening to the sound of the gentle waves.

During the day at high tide there is a good and reliable reef break for surfers to surf although I didn't do much swimming while I was there.

The resort, itself, is built very creatively - each cottage is individually designed and built to be totally unlike any of the other cottages.

I rented a motor bike (excellent condition) for a week and really enjoyed riding the roads around the resort for the week. There is not much traffic around here so it's very safe to do.

There was a wireless internet connection and a room for racing slot cars which was a lot of fun. There are also some great swimming pools (very creatively designed).

Borongan, itself, is a safe and welcoming town. About 15 minutes scenic walk from the resort is the boulevard where you can eat and drink all you want as the sun goes down in the evening.

This is a great place to forget about city living and the rat race for a while.

Room Tip: Get a room by the sea and, if you are lucky, the cottage with the balcony that extends over the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I found Pirates Cove to be a great place to stay.

We stayed in a well furnished, clean cottage with A/C and cable TV and plenty of room to move.

Best of all our cottage had a balcony that extended over the ocean reef. Wow !

So we could sit on our balcony in the gentle sea breeze at night and eat and drink and watch the tide come in and out and listening to the sound of the gentle waves.

During the day at high tide there is a good and reliable reef break for surfers to surf although I didn't do much swimming while I was there.

The resort, itself, is built very creatively - each cottage is individually designed and built to be totally unlike any of the other cottages.

I rented a motor bike (excellent condition) for a week and really enjoyed riding the roads around the resort for the week. There is not much traffic around here so it's very safe to do.

There was a wireless internet connection and a room for racing slot cars which was a lot of fun.

Borongan, itself, is a safe and welcoming town. About 15 minutes scenic walk from the resort is the boulevard where you can eat and drink all you want as the sun goes down in the evening.

This is a great place to forget about city living and the rat race for a while.

Room Tip: Get a room by the sea and, if you are lucky, the cottage with the balcony that extends over the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany - france
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I lived 3 times in Philippines during months, working and visiting Philippines. I have been to some incredible and awesome places in Philippines, but Pirates Cove for me is The special one.
Incredible resort, nice place, incredible spirit ... Pete and his hand made resort are number one. A dream that became real !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jul29Brittany_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samar Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Ciriaco Hotel
Ciriaco Hotel
#1 of 3 in Calbayog City
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
GV Hotel Catarman
GV Hotel Catarman
#5 of 7 in Catarman
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
GV Hotel Catbalogan
#5 of 8 in Catbalogan
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
S&R Bed and Breakfast
S&R Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 13 in Calbayog City
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Octopussy Bungalow Beach Resort
Octopussy Bungalow Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Dalupuri - San Antonio Island
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Meaco Hotel - Calbayog
#4 of 13 in Calbayog City
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Cove Beach and Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Cove Beach and Surf Resort

Property: Pirates Cove Beach and Surf Resort
Address: Pirates Cove Beach and Surf Resort Rawis Beach | Bato, Borongan, 6800, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Samar Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Samar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirates Cove was established in 1992 - first in the region. We try hard to insure our visitors coming all the way here have a good time. We are more of a self-serve place with kitchens in the rooms, restaurant delivery - keeps it less expensive. Surfing, Diving out front, kids water park, pools, gas bbq, good meat shop, climbing wall, bikes, billiards, slot car track, cable, a/c, fridges in all rooms, aquariums, jacuzzis, river tubing, caves, kayaking, eco treks. We help travelers with a large range of services,getting boats, where to go, rides to town for supplies, facilitating their interest, etc. We don't charge for these things, so folks can have a good time. We are not lace and glamour, but more of a hands-on place sitting on the edge of the world. Very comfortable, relaxing and quiet. But, things to do here are very exciting, if you're into the outdoors. Folks visiting have to make their own entertainment. Bars and discos are in town 10 min away. So if that's your thing just walk over the bridge - it's close and easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pirates Cove Beach and Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing