We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SmallVille 21 Hotel
Ranked #2 of 51 Iloilo City B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good location, very satisfied”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in January after moving from different accommodations in Jaro. Our walk-in rate was less than the online rate but we had to pay for a triple room as there wasn't an available matrimonial room (so if you want to secure a room ahead of time maybe call directly to see if there is a promotional rate rather than booking ahead online).

The hotel is newer and situated in a newer commercial area. There are coffee shops, food outlets, bars and a convenience store at the same site as well as a couple other hotels if you want to shop around. The hotel a few meters away was advertising a lower rate but we weren't sure if it would be as nice and didn't go in at the time to see a room.

Our room at Smallville 21 was clean and comfortable. The hot water shower pressure was great and much welcomed after the last place we stayed at. Staff was polite and responsive. SM City is about a 15 minute walk up the same side of a busy major road.

There are probably other good options in other parts of Iloilo for the same rate or less, but as we needed to be close to Jaro, Smallville 21 is a good choice for the price range in that area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeeohhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    73
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
30
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
quezon city
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here last January 17-19. There are a lot of decent hotels in Iloilo, some definitely grander than Smallville 21. But one cannot discount the fact that Smallville's proximity to restaurants, mall, convenience store, bars, esplanade, and Iloilo City's tourist attraction gives it the winning edge. You literally just have to step outside the hotel doors for a variety of gastronomic delights and entertainment. Thus, it also allows you to save on transportation costs.

Being a coffee and dessert lover, I was delighted that a branch of Coffee Break and of Nothing But desserts were right across the street. The entire compound is also full of restaurants but only a few open for breakfast. The downside, of course, would be the noise and vigor of the place if you seek a tranquil vacation. We stayed on the 3rd floor but we can still slightly feel the reverberations of the music outside when the bars are full to the brim with customers. Also, if you want a somewhat Iloilo (local) vibe, you won't find it here because the area is very modern and metropolis-like.

The room itself is above average. It's interiors are barely decorated but it doesn't feel like a sanitarium like other hotels with super minimalist design. We stayed in a matrimonial room for P1,700 (without breakfast) per night. What I really liked about the room was that it was spacious, clean, and almost new. I also loved the bathroom because the space for the shower area was really big. You can have a luxurious bath without elbowing your toiletries or banging against the wall. Of course, it's a plus that they have a blow dryer and all bathroom amenities felt clean. If at all, I was only bothered by the heater because it fluctuated from time to time.

The pros are: location, value for money, spacious, modern, and clean rooms, plenty of taxi outside to take you around the city.

The cons: if you don't like night life and the chaos it brings, you won't like the area. It's not so much the hotel but the area where it is situated. Also, it doesn't make you feel that local vibe. It feels like you are in Eastwood City in Libis.

Room Tip: Request for late check out until 1:00 PM for free. It's supposed to only be til 12 noon then the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jambaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I hadn't been expecting much of any accommodations in Iloilo City but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself is located conveniently to all with resto's, coffee, bars, & mini marts, etc only 30 seconds to a few minutes walk. Hotel staff was pleasant & accommodating. The room, bed, & CR were all slightly better than average. Wifi, TV, AC, free coffee all included & working. The only thing that I would have liked would to have had an indoor ref but certainly not a deal breaker. Overall would definately stay there again if in Iloilo City.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorgdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My dad booked us at this hotel. We were glad that we did not book online because they had a promo going on that week. The hotel workers were all nice and they were always ready to help customers. We stayed during the week and it was quiet.

Our room was on the 8th floor and had the Guimaras view which was gorgeous. All the furniture was new. The AC was blasting and the room was very clean. The bed was nice and it was not a problem to request extra pillows from them.

I will stay here when I visit Iloilo again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Capsgirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

For the prices they offer in this hotel, one may be skeptic on what to expect in this hotel. I have stayed at this establishment for the 3rd time now and I'm glad that the rooms and the service are still maintained. The rooms are clean and spacious. On this trip, we were 3 in a room and we fit comfortably as the room provided 1-double and 1-single bed for only about PHP2500 a night for a deluxe room for 3. All the basic amenities are provided for though our room did not include a minibar. You can request for a mini-fridge for a minimal rental fee as an option. However, we did not need a mini-fridge because we can just buy what we needed anytime at the mini grocery shop right outside the hotel. It should be mentioned that this hotel is surrounded by numerous restaurants/coffeeshops/bars and you will not run out options. Since this hotel is located apparently in Iloilo's party district, do expect that the area can be pretty crowded on a weekend and the bars/restaurants in the area will be blaring loud music until wee hours of the morning. We didn't mind the noise that much but if you prefer quieter rooms, just request for the rooms on the wing not facing the bars/restaurants and be placed on higher floors. We also did not include breakfast in our reservation...good thing 'cause when we decided to have room service for breakfast instead, the rates were almost the same if we had included it in our reservation. At least, we did not need to go down for breakfast at their scheduled times. There is a taxi stand in front of the hotel so it's very easy to go around the city. Also, one of the city's biggest malls, SM City Iloilo is a mere 5-minute taxi ride away where you can buy all kinds of souvenirs and delicacies. Hotel staff is very welcoming and accommodating. Overall, I was very satisfied with the hotel especially with the price they are charging.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here overnight during a business trip. I didn't expect much looking at the facade of this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to walk into a very spacious room with a big bed all to myself. The shower area is also big it can fit 5 people! Plus it has a hair blower which is very important to a female traveler like myself. There's a safety deposit box. TV is a Sony Bravia. Breakfast was served at the restaurant across the reception area. It was set rather than buffet, but the serving size makes up for it. The location is great, very near the bars and other restos. Near the office as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemdumlao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalibo
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We often stay in this hotel everytime we are in lloilo. We love its spacious and clean rooms. The food they serve in their restaurant are yummy and delicious. The last time we stayed however was a big letdown. On the afternoon of our arrival when we have not yet fully settled in our room, we heard someone knocking on the door. It turned out that somebody mistook our room as part of the many rooms somebody reserved for a wedding entourage. No problem there. The next morning however while we were fast asleep, as we stayed up all night watching tv, we were startled by loud bangings on our door. At first we thought a fire broke out. Once again there was a group of people, with one or two sporting what appeared to be hotel uniforms, inquiring if we were part of the entourage. They offered a very lame "sorry" when they realized their mistake. Talk about good manners and right conduct. When we informed the front desk about it while checking out, one employee apologized while the other one also manning the desk offered only excuses. By the way, l have to repeat myself several times before they took notice of me. To think we were the only ones at the desk at that time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poe lnigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iloilo City hotels
0.8 mi away
Injap Tower Hotel
Injap Tower Hotel
#8 of 31 in Iloilo City
217 reviews
2.3 mi away
Go Hotels Iloilo
Go Hotels Iloilo
#13 of 31 in Iloilo City
189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westown Hotel
Westown Hotel
#23 of 31 in Iloilo City
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Circle Inn - Iloilo City Center
1.4 mi away
Iloilo Business Hotel
Iloilo Business Hotel
#21 of 31 in Iloilo City
64 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harbor Town Hotel
Harbor Town Hotel
#6 of 31 in Iloilo City
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SmallVille 21 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SmallVille 21 Hotel

Property: SmallVille 21 Hotel
Address: Smallville Commercial Complex, Diversion Road | Mandurriao, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province 5000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Iloilo Province > Iloilo City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Iloilo City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your SmallVille 21 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing