We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price 😉”
Review of Highway 21 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highway 21 Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Iloilo City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price 😉”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We came a week after dinagyang festival and in time for Jaro fiesta so its obviously best that we had our room reserved. We had the first flight from manila and scheduled to go to Guimaras for day 1 but due to signal no. 2 storm we weren't able to cross the island and we can't check in early because the hotel was full . There are some leaks in the bathroom shower but other than that it was clean. There is a big window but you can only see rusty roofs of nearby houses but if you are after a good rest after a long day of walk its all worth it. Plus attendants were really nice and will they can help you get a cab also. Plus according to my friend the area is accessible to many places. We paid less than 100PHP to go to Palazuela (where tiange and maridel's can be found) 50PHP to go to one esplanade (afrique and nothing but desserts). And almost same price to go to the market, sm and museo iloilo is just in the same street. I think the next time I go to iloilo I'll go back to this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    33
    30
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
20
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Although clean and above average in room size for its price, the property has no striking features. The atmosphere at the lobby and bedroom is staid, mainly due to the white light and ordinary floor tiles. There is lack of furniture in the room. It has only one chair which goes together with the small writing table. It's not easy to do some paperwork, as your other travel items "compete" for space. When I entered my room after check in, there were no towels. At the lobby restaurant, no other coffee except 3-in-1 in the evening. Complimentary WiFI is available in guest rooms.

This hotel is alright for travelers who need a clean place for the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nav795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were small, room rates were very affordable.
....really for budget travellers. The location is good .one thing though which i dont like about.this hotel is that, they placed a plastic sheet in their beds-weird.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JojoVito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked in for four days in this hotel. The first thing I noticed are the hotel staff, they are not welcoming. In four days, only one staff greeted us when we crossed our path, the rest would only look at you, no greetings nor smiles. We pre-ordered our breakfast the night before since we intend to have our breakfast served at 6.30 am. our food came 5 mins before 7 am. there were supposed to be 2 eggs in the set breakfast, I ordered scrambled eggs but the size of the scrambled egg served seemed to be one egg only. so, the following day, we pre-ordered again our breakfast, this time, I ordered sunny-side up eggs since the scrambled egg the previous day is small in serving and my colleague ordered American breakfast. then came our breakfast, the American breakfast was served with rice, bacon and egg. we were surprised, since the previous day American breakfast served was the right American breakfast we expect (bread, butter, bacon and eggs), instead, it was served with rice this time. My two sunny-side up eggs? I was served a scrambled egg again (in a small portion again). weird isn't it? water in our toilet bowl does not automatically filling up. for two consecutive days, we have to call maintenance to look into it. our cable signal is very poor. we cant watch tv shows comfortably. our side table is being moved somewhere else every day we request for room clean up. In four days, we did not experience to browse internet even for a minute. The signal is strong but there is no connection. We report it every day, and we were given different alibis everyday (earthquake, heavy rains, strong winds, etc.). Overall, I wont come back to this hotel even if its for free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank may_toyo_ako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Iloilo City hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

a nice and pleasent hotel, very clean and helpful staff.. and u have the added feature of a security guard 24/7. nice breakfasts too, only thing is, the cups of coffee are so small wen u order from the reception.

Room Tip: if you dont like ur room location they will relocate you if there are more rooms empty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank branno624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent 2 weeks at this hotel in a "superior room", (2 people) A small fridge was an extra cost, but worth having. Hot water only in shower recess, not in hand basin. Our rear room in the new wing was on 3rd level, overlooking some type of generator room with huge fan/air con installations on roof. The large diesels started up at 2am on one occasion (later on others), waking everyone up in the hotel I should imagine. I was told the reason was a "brown out":
Door's slamming in the middle of the night was not uncommon, some guests obviously indifferent to other's comfort. Service not so good in this hotel, due to poorly trained staff, and low management standards. However, all staff tried their best, always had a big smile, and were always very polite....the training to international standards is a job for the Hotel Management to address. The security guys on the front door were very helpful, always eager to organise taxis, and give assistance whenever asked. All staff were very friendly.
Tried a meal here a couple of times, not impressed, and went elsewhere to eat daily. I noted that room service meals were rarely covered, so a cold (should be hot) breakfast with the odd fly drowned in oil may be a problem? Hot food should be served hot...period! Breakfast can be a long wait even in the dining area, and the coffee urn is visible, right near reception/staff area.....go figure. A coffee or tea served, while waiting for cooked breakfast may alleviate the frustration of a long wait.
Having said that, the old axiom holds true....you get what you pay for, and I would only recommend this hotel if you are on a tight budget. On the plus side, the rooms are clean, bed comfortable, plumbing ok, staff friendly, and overall, not overpriced. Basic, but clean is about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is decent enough. Price is a bit reasonable, room is ok for 2 persons. Locations is a bit off and it was beside a very big hotel so you might miss this.

The one thing i like with this hotel is the reservation. Hassle free and they allowed without any initial deposit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iloilo City hotels
0.6 mi away
Go Hotels Iloilo
Go Hotels Iloilo
#13 of 31 in Iloilo City
189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor Town Hotel
Harbor Town Hotel
#6 of 31 in Iloilo City
56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Circle Inn - Iloilo City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iloilo Business Hotel
Iloilo Business Hotel
#21 of 31 in Iloilo City
64 reviews
1.1 mi away
Injap Tower Hotel
Injap Tower Hotel
#8 of 31 in Iloilo City
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amigo Terrace Hotel
Amigo Terrace Hotel
#10 of 31 in Iloilo City
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highway 21 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highway 21 Hotel

Property: Highway 21 Hotel
Address: General Luna Street, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province 5000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Iloilo Province > Iloilo City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Iloilo City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Highway 21 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing