We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to miss this one!”
Review of Iloilo Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Iloilo City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iloilo Grand Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Iloilo City
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Easy to miss this one!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Iloilo Grand hotel used to be the queen hotel in this city, and is located in the heart of China town, no doubt a bias of its Chinese owners. Depending on what your business or purpose is, the harbor is only five blocks away, University of Iloilo is 2 blocks away. Jaro Cathedral is a 20 minute jeep ride, City Hall and the archeological museum, 10 minutes. So location is likely its prime value.

Rooms are spartan, but comfortable. You can purchase a wifi card to gain access to Internet, 50 pesos for one hour, or 150 Pesos for 24 hours.

There is room service! But only one restaurant, basically Chinese menu, but they also serve sandwiches and other dishes. But be careful, all servivings are for 3 to 4 persons! You have to ask the menu for individual service. Nonetheless, you'll have a hard time spending more than $35 a day for room and meals. There is a small magazine shop for mineral water and newspapers, but it closes at 6 PM!

The Iloilo Grand Hotel has a sister hotel about 10 minute tax ride away, the Grand Tower, which features a low cost 'turo-turo' restaurant of local dishes (like a cafeteria). Excellent variety and authenticity of native dishes and for very low cost! Rooms at the Grand Tower, a newly built hotel, are only 15 % more expensive.

For transfer to and from airport, I urge you use the metered taxi, but pay 350 pesos flat rate. It's a no nonsense 40 minute ride. Drivers are usually polite and honest, they don't beg for tips like in Manila!!! Ilongos are very proud! They work for what they earn!

By the way streets are clean, no garbage, no sidewalk vendors, no beggars. This is not Manila!!!

Room Tip: For a single room, get the Business class A, its only a hundred pesos more and breakfast is free! Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indigoimpala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
3
3
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We were in town for the Dinagyan Festival and because we booked late our selection for hotels was limited. We thought we were lucky to find a hotel near the festival, which it was, but the hotel itself was lacking.
We reserved a deluxe suite which wasn't that clean, no safe, no closet or counter to put your clothes, and the toilet was broken. We called and they came up with a temp fix but not impressed. The beds were nice. Two firm queen size beds, nice tv, enough space for 2. The view overlooked the front of the hotel on a main street but the window lock was broken and cold not be secured. There was no balcony either. With no safe we just crossed our fingers and hoped nobody would scale the hotel and into our room.
Front desk staff were pleasant but the restaurant staff were more interested watching the festival on tv than helping customers that were dining. We actually had to get up from our chairs and flag someone down because 6-8 of them would be congregated in an area near the bar to watch the tv.
Food was ok but a little bland. Portion was below average. There was one bright spot when we went for breakfast. We actually had a waitress or supervisor that was great during the buffet. We didnt really need to ask for anything because she was on the ball. More coffee, extra napkins, asking how everything was. She stood out in a positive way and we tipped her very generously.
Would not stay here again though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orovian75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Iloilo City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights way back in 2009 for a tour and as far as i can remember it was nice back then. very reasonable for it's price and staff were friendly. the management was also very accomodating with our request of having additional people in the room and they didn't even charge us extra for that. we didn't eat at this hotel coz we mostly ate outside but i did see a small bistro like resto. this hotel is located in a shady part of the city but its pretty much at the center and gives easy access to most hotspots. check out was ok since we had travel guides do it for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel was booked by our agent during our stay in Iloilo. It was really affordable considering its location in the city. The façade and reception area were alright. Dining area and food were also just right, including for the budget. When we reached the rooms, lo and behold – the rooms really need an upgrade. Elevator was not that good and staff was rather languid in giving assistance. They had a wellness center and we decided to avail of their services but it was not one to remember – it was mediocre. No wonder the rates came in cheap; the services and amenities are.

Room Tip: Sometimes sleep quality comes with the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Upon entering the hotel lobby I was delighted by the greetings of 2 security guards, expecting that same thing will happen whenl I approach the front desk area. Unfortunately, what happened was I am the one who greeted them Good Evening!!! I could not believe that this Hotel will employs people who does'nt know how to welcome guests who came all the way from a long travel.
After the registration, they did not even spend a minute to inform us what is the time of the free breakfst to be served or until what time it will be. Haiissst nakaka-bad trip!
the room does'nt even have an outlet to use, the closet is like a box without any partition or divider for your garments, knowing that the occupants are 2 persons, the hangers are only 5pcs. they should at least prepare everything ahead of time because we made our reservation 2weeks earlier. there are 2 glasses in the room but does'nt have a pitcher of water or a bottle of complimentary water.
I've tried calling the front desk to ask something, but to my dismay the phone kept on ringing maybe 10 times before they answer...

the comfort room's toilet is quite dirty, maybe because the water that came out from the tank is also dirty, so everytime you flush the dirt comes out....kadiriiiii!
3-4 times we call the attention of the front dest for all of these, but she's just kept on saying we will have it check....check means 20 minutes of waiting!
the tv's remote control does'nt have batteries, so again we have to call the front desk to request for the battery...after 20minutes the remote control arrive w/ batteries in it but it did not function well.

I suggest to them to check everything inside the room before they endorse it to the clients...poor facilities, but I can say that the housekeeping people are accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ecnemelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

the hotel is right at the heart of the city with malls and churches within walking distance. the room is clean and just the right size for a solo traveler.it's a plus that the linens and towel are changed everyday.

staff are real friendly and i like it that they always have genuine smiles on their faces.they make you feel at home at once.

Room Tip: my room was at the third floor and it was just the right size and i have a view of a pocket garden f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariletb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

you really get what you pay for.

one hassle i found was the only power outlet available is too far from the bed side, not to mention a little hard to reach. another is that the room is poorly lit.

upsides are: personal fridge, hot/cold shower and wifi. the hotel's location is convenient too since from grand hotel, it's just one jeepney ride to most parts of the city.

again, its quite inexpensive. so this hotel is recommended to those who are travelling in a tight budget.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leksis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iloilo City hotels
0.1 mi away
Circle Inn - Iloilo City Center
0.3 mi away
Go Hotels Iloilo
Go Hotels Iloilo
#13 of 32 in Iloilo City
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor Town Hotel
Harbor Town Hotel
#6 of 32 in Iloilo City
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Injap Tower Hotel
Injap Tower Hotel
#7 of 32 in Iloilo City
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amigo Terrace Hotel
Amigo Terrace Hotel
#10 of 32 in Iloilo City
94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westown Hotel
Westown Hotel
#24 of 32 in Iloilo City
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iloilo Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iloilo Grand Hotel

Property: Iloilo Grand Hotel
Address: Iznart Street, 5000, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Iloilo Province > Iloilo City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Iloilo City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Iloilo Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing