We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Price, Average Service, Poor Food and Not-so-fixed Fixtures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Regal Hotel Bacolod
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my mom and chose their standard room. The rooms are cheap, and the add-ons are also very reasonable. The service was quick and good. The food is a little bit the downside, we were mistakenly given a 'complimentary' breakfast instead of a buffet which was later realized to be part of the booking package.

The 'complimentary' breakfast had two servings of liver and meat, which was quite strange for breakfast. Everything, including (especially!) the rice, was cold. Only the coffee was warm of course, but even the egg was cold. I've eaten in carinderias and street kiosks where rice-egg-meat combos were tastier and of course, hot.

The next day we got the buffet breakfast, and sad to say, it was not anything different. Food is indeed a bit warmer, but there is not much to choose from. You end up getting a piece of everything and still feel unsatisfied - perhaps the point is, to get you moving out to enjoy the city's main offer - city cuisine.

The rooms are ok, but half the room's floors creaked. We inspected the flooring, and deemed that it was just the tiles or else the creaking would be wider and louder.

But the worst thing that happened during our stay is that the shower room's glass doors were not fitted and they fell in, fortunately not breaking. This happened while my mom was in the shower, and fortunately she caught them just in time, and let the door gently fall on the opposite wall. We immediately called to let them fix it and they simply put the door back up, it not being fixed at all.

Over all, it is a good cheap place to spend a few nights to sleep in, but not to stay in longer. It is across the Gaisano mall and should you need to buy anything quick, you simply have to cross the street.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jieroque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Grand Regal Hotel Bacolod
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 35 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

We travel to Bacolod almost every month on business and stay at the Grand Regal. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel provides airport pickup, for a fee, of course. The rooms are fairly large and generally well maintained. This is an older hotel and could use some renovation especially in the bathrooms, but it's ok. They have free WIFI in the rooms and lobby and if you forgot to bring something, there is a mall directly across the street. You can either eat in the hotel restaurant, which is ok, not great, or go to the mall. They have a free breakfast buffet, which is not extravagant by any means but it's free.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

First, let me say, if you ever go to the Philippines, get away from Manila, Luzon and try to get to any other island except for Mindanao where the rebels are located. The flight to Silay airport outside of Bacolod is only 1 hour and 10 minutes, you go up to your elevation and almost immediately begin your descent.Once at Silay it only takes a few minutes to get your luggage. Since you will want to rest before going to another location on Negros, take a taxi to the Grand Regal Hotel, the driver will know where it is located. We had stayed at a few other hotels in Bacolod before the Grand Regal and have paid about $40 to $45 a night, about P1680 to P1890 depending on the exchange rate and for the purpose of this review I will use P42 per one U.S. dollar. These other hotels were rather disgusting and I won't go into detail. However, I don't know how the Grand Regal keeps the room rate where it is, at P999, under $24 a night. The rooms are spacious with a king size bed, next to the bed you have a control panel for all the lights. Each room has its own air conditioner and hot water heater for the shower. Also included is a large enough television with many channels. The staff is very good with the best being Rose Marie, one of the hostesses at the restaurant. She speaks excellent English and loves to talk when approached. They offer a wonderful breakfast buffet as well as many choices on the menu, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. But even better, there is a mall right across the street where you can do any shopping, including groceries if you so choose, plus a good number of eateries. One of them you will find in every city in the Philippines called Mang Inasal. They offer fish and other items but the best deal is the chicken, either dark or white meat, the dadrk being the whole leg and the white being a breast and wing, including all you can eat rice. If you want to fill up and only spend, at least the last time we were there, either P85 or P95, a little more then $2, this is a great place. They also have a movie theater if you need to kill some time. I recommend staying there when you get to Negros and when you leave, as you will have to go through Manila both ways, and in my mind, Manila is the last place you want to be unless you have business there. Whatever you do, get out of the cities and see the country, it is beautiful. Green all year, rice paddies, sugar cane and groves of mangoes everywhere you look. Plus, almost everywhere you go you can eat fresh seafood for very little money.

Room Tip: Ask if any parties will be going on outside the hotel. If so, get a room on the other side of the ho...
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days this past May and was really impressed by how clean it was and how courteous the staff was. The location was great, just across from a mall. And the price was right, just 19USD per day. This was my 3rd trip to the Philippines and this was the best hotel experience to date!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

A group of us, 20 all in stayed at this hotel. Overall it would have been a great stay. Just opposite a shopping mall and very easy to get things if you need it. The staff are friendly. You can count breakfast out....not worth it. The rooms are ok except the water that comes out...either it trickles like they are being rationed or it turns out black...we had a clean cloth covering the shower spray and guess what? At the end of the trip I realised it was black! Mine is not the only room, others as well, so it is not just which room I stayed. As it was promotional price of 999 pesos a night it's not too bad. The room is big enough and yes, they clean it daily which is good.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-GetPaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I booked for an overnight stay. I was with my girlfriend. The location is very convenient. Just across the street is a big mall. It is also very near Bacolod's night life district, just a few minutes walk. They got a really nice and big room for a cheap price and the receptionist was kind enough to let me check in earlier than the check in time. Our room was clean and well-appointed, particularly the bathroom. They also charge cheaply for ironing clothes. The internet connection in my room is decent. Some things I noticed, when I took a shower, the water had some kind of foul smell which eventually disappeared anyway. The stand lamp isn't also working like the one in the other room where we stayed last month. But nevertheless, overall, I had a nice sleep and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FWB004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Grand Regal is a OH-KAY hotel for me. They got a big lobby and parking lot. I'm kinda disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathroom, it definitely needs refurbishing. We got two standard rooms and my dad said that their bed sheets are kinda looks like not totally clean. The hotel also have this creepy feeling since its huge and there are a lot of doors in the hallway.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MavDuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacolod hotels
0.6 mi away
MO2 Westown Hotel-Mandalagan
0.6 mi away
The Inns Bacolod by The Oriental
0.7 mi away
Goldenfield Kundutel Hotel
Goldenfield Kundutel Hotel
#22 of 29 in Bacolod
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luxur Place
Luxur Place
#14 of 29 in Bacolod
42 reviews
1.9 mi away
East View Hotel
East View Hotel
#24 of 29 in Bacolod
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Regal Hotel Bacolod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Regal Hotel Bacolod

Address: Araneta St | Singcang, Bacolod, Negros Occidental, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Bacolod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Price Range: $27 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Regal Hotel Bacolod 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Bacolod City, fronting Gaisano City Bacolod Supermall, with ninety-one (91) spacious rooms and suites fully furnished in a modern classic style to provide timeless comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Grand Regal Hotel Bacolod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Bacolod
Bacolod Regal
Regal Hotel Bacolod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing