We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel if you are in a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inns Bacolod by The Oriental
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bacolod
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This is my 1st time to stay in a 3 star hotel. Hubby and I stayed there last March for a 4days and 3 nights vacation in Bacolod. We chose it because of its location. It's near in Sm and you can easily get in/out of the town because local transportations are everywhere.Don't expect much from the rooms.You get what you pay for but the staffs are very much accommodating. Excellent service of the staffs. I have no problem from the time I made a reservation by phone till the time we check out.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xeryl_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 94 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

All in all, Sylvia Manor was an excellent choice for us. We had come to witness the Masskara festival, and hence wanted a place close to the festivities.

Pro - location -
Sylvia Manor is really close to everything - to watch the parade, we just walked 4 mintues along San Sebastian street and arrived at Araneta avenue, where we stayed put, watching the parade and street dancing, beginning to end.

Pros - Hotel staff -
The customer service was excellent, cheerful and very helpful - whether it was the smiling well dressed man who picked us up at the airport, the reception who served us a welcome drink, and the itinerary for the Masskara, or the restaurant personnel.

Pros - Room -
The air con was good, room was BIG, bed was soft, and TV was good (though we hardly watched it - we were out most of the time, enjoying the masskara festival).

Pros - Food -
The free breakfast in the morning is good - buffet style, juice, coffee, toast, eggs, llonganisa, rice, fruit. Since the restaurant is small and cosy, we thought it would be a trouble to accommodate crowds during the festival, but we never had any problems. They ahve a large seating place in the meeting room / big restaurant adjacent tot eh lobby.

Food was fantastic - especially the sea food. I have to admit, Bacolod city is among the only places in the Philippines (alongwith Boracay and Manila) where I actually enjoyed the food!

Cons - noise -
I think another guest also had written about this. We had taken the street facing room. the sound proofing of the windows is average (or perhaps the noise from outside was too loud?) There was a shop opposite which was selling stereos and had music blaring loudly - we could hear some of it despite the "sound proofing" - I hope the hotel does something about this.

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms - they are too loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank New_YLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during our short trip to Bacolod. The location was good as it is in the city center and near the SM Mall. The staff werevery helpful in assisting us with our bags and arranging our transfer to the airport. Breakfast had only a few selections but tastes good. Rooms were a bit dated and need updating.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Asombrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating: from the concierge, to the receptionist, the floor housekeepers, and the waiters at the coffee shop. The room we occupied was big and clean. There was free Internet with fast connection. The beds inside our room were good. Wish list: free coffee, better soap, better shampoo and conditioner, and bigger TV set. I recommend this hotel for anybody who wants to be within or near downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cesjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Clean and comfy in a very hot and dusty city. Staff very friendly and rooms clean and air cond.

Room Tip: Only a short walk to city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterEastDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The rooms are decent but poorly lit. The furnishings are not not luxurious. They make the scheme of the rooms different, hence they call it a boutique hotel. I think the owners do not know what it means to be one. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Their wifi works at the very least. Breakfast food was okay but nothing extravagant. I agree with one of the reviewers, it strikes me more as a pension rather than a boutique hotel. It is centrally located in the middle of town thus making it convenient. The hotel strikes you more as a budget hotel with a not so budget but reasonable price.

Room Tip: Get the highest possible room for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank id-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

ROOM = old fashioned but will clean sheets.. need to refurbish rooms including comfort rooms.
BREAKFAST = average
LOCATION = superb
CUSTOMER SERVICE = excellent
my stay = pleasant

Room Tip: nothing extraordinary... a basic hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank obman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacolod hotels
1.1 mi away
Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
L'Fisher Hotel
L'Fisher Hotel
#2 of 30 in Bacolod
355 reviews
1.9 mi away
Go Hotels Bacolod
Go Hotels Bacolod
#10 of 30 in Bacolod
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Business Inn
Business Inn
#14 of 30 in Bacolod
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences
1.7 mi away
Royal Am Rei
Royal Am Rei
#8 of 30 in Bacolod
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inns Bacolod by The Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inns Bacolod by The Oriental

Address: 18 San Juan | Barangay 13, Bacolod, Negros Occidental 6200, Philippines (Formerly The Sylvia Manor)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Bacolod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bacolod
Price Range: $24 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inns Bacolod by The Oriental 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Inns Bacolod by The Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sylvia Manor Hotel Bacolod
Sylvia Manor Bacolod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing