We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Executive Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Try the Executive Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

For our third stay in Circle Inn, we decided to book their Executive Room in order to experience something different for a change. The price quoted to us was double the price for a standard room. Check in was straightforward and we were given keys to our room a few minutes after approaching the front desk.

The room was considerably larger than the ordinary rooms, had more decors, and the amenities were naturally better than in the standard room. This included a refrigerator, mini-bar, internet access, carpeted flooring, plus an in-room safe. The bed was also much more comfortable, especially after a long day in town.

One good thing about the Executive Room is that it is located in a newer, more well-appointed wing of the building, facing a garden with a small pool.

The Executive Rooms come with free breakfast, which composed of tasty Filipino fare such as milkfish, longganisa (Filipino sausage), tapa and the like.

All in all we had a pleasant stay in Circle Inn and I would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Liked — Price, service
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ACChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    169
    61
    22
    21
See reviews for
84
89
47
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

great hotel! nice, clean rooms!

the pool was really tiny though.

  • Liked — it was new looking & clean
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

I began planning my trip to Bacolod right here on TripAdvisor in August 2007 reading up on the hotels and what they offered. Since I was paying the bill for the whole family, naturally I was concerned with cost and Circle Inn caught my eye from the get go!

I stress this to all planning on going to Circle Inn, at all times our entire party and belongings were as safe as in mother’s arms! You can take that to the bank! The hotel owner actually lives on the property and monitors the going on and activities over closed circuit security cameras installed on all floors, the lobby, dining hall and banquet faculties. There is also an armed guard at the front door and security is 24 hours a day 365 days a year!

Except for a couple of the ladies in housekeeping, all other employees are graduates of Universities around the Philippines and have four year degrees in everything from Engineering to Business at a minimum!

There was a big golf tournament in Bacolod at this time and finding a room was very hard to do. Sugarland and Palma Del Mar were solidly booked as well as most every other hotel. Asians are fanatics about Golf it turns out.

After being turned down on rooms at many hotels around Bacolod I called Circle Inn and asked for two rooms to be reserved for the dates we would be in town and a I was informed by the reservationists that there would be no problem at all and they would be more than happy to hold the rooms for us till we arrived.

We arrived at Circle Inn about Noon on the 26th of February 2008 and were checked in with ease and little waiting even though the front desk was swamped with people checking out and departing. Within a few minutes we had our rooms. It had been a great number of years since I had been in the tropics and I clung to the air-conditioner for the first couple days.

The rooms were spacious and comfort and each had cable TV programming on 32 inch screens in color. We had a refrigerator in the room that the staff kept well stocked with cold drinks and a bathroom with shower. There is room service and you can order anything you want while the kitchen is open. After hours you can get small snacks, beer and sodas from the bar or have it delivered.

If you get the munchies in the middle of the night there is not much open in Bacolod. Outside the hotel is a 24 hour mart with snacks like at a 7-ll, but no hotdogs or burgers. I suggest that you make a trip to the supermarket at the SM Mall and stock up on the canned food stuffs that you like for those midnight hunger pains. Buy bottled water and keep it in your room! At no time should you ever drink “tap” water anywhere in the Philippines except in some parts of Manila.

If you do not listen to anything listen to this, “DO NOT DRINK THE LOCAL WATER ………… EVER”! Sure Filipinos can drink it their bodies have been accustomed to the parasites and bacteria all their lives…your body is not used to these tropical microscopic creatures and if you do not listen to my advice you will without a doubt get the worse case of diarrhea you can imagine, which could even put you in the hospital if you don’t get medical attention soon enough.

Downstairs the hotel has a majestic staircase leading to the second and third floors. If you are elderly or have problems climbing stairs you should book a room on the first floor. There is another wing of the hotel located behind the Jacuzzi area with two floors of rooms. The one thing lacking at this hotel that would make it “equal” to other hotels or better is to remove the Jacuzzi and replace it with a swimming pool.

The bar has a wooden bar with tools and is well stocked with most what ever you might want. There are three large air-conditioners on in the bar to the left of the bar it’s self and one to the right of the bar located in the quiet lounge but blows into the bar area and another in the lobby which blows across the pathway leading to the bar restaurant. There are also several large overhead ceiling fans helping keep the air circulating.

To the left of the bar / restaurant is a hallway that leads into a banquet hall which is rented out to another company that is a telephone Technical Support service for an American company and they tend to operate from around 7 am to 6 pm. There is no conflict or problems at all with the company or its activities.

The restaurant is large enough to seat about maybe thirty people at a time. However the food is the only problem! The native dishes are excellent and exquisite! Your taste buds will be tantalized! However, do not expect much if you are ordering and thinking you are going to get anything like you would, taste or quality wise, from a American restaurant.

Bless the heart of the chef, I know he tries his best; Lord knows he gives it his best shot! However he most probably has never tasted a real T-bone steak or New York steak or even hamburger made from USDA choice grade A, grain fed Beef. Same is true with the chicken and pork.

The problem is it is all locally grown in the Philippines and they do not feed or raise their cattle or other animals as we do here. Over there animals are fed left over foods and waste products and left to graze on what ever is growing. This is what gives their meat a “wild” and “gamey” taste. On the other hand our beef and livestock and raised in fields planted with and abundance of grasses that promote growth and before slaughter they are grain fed and that is what gives our beef its great taste and flavor. You won’t find that in the Philippines!

Also if you ask for catsup you will be given a bottle of “Banana Sauce” A sweet sauce that taste nothing like ketchup. I advised the owner to keep it on stock in the kitchen along with A-1 Steak Sauce and Wostershire Sauce as Americans will surely ask for it when they order a burger or steak.

If you are going to put something on the menu, make sure that it is real and authentic and you can serve it as it would be served in the U.S.A. otherwise you will have some disappointed guests. Americans pay for good food and expect good food. Americans are more than happy to pay more for great food, so provide them with great food and all the trimmings and you will ensure you becoming a 5 star restaurant! Though the restaurant tries their best, it also is lacking in real, properly cooked American food.

Of all the restaurants I went to, and I went to a lot of them Carlos in Goldenfields, an Italian restaurant was the absolute best! It served great dishes that tasted as they should and made from only the best ingredients. Goldenfields is the entertainment center of Bacolod with many bars, a casino, restaurants and a dance floor and band area. It is also the place to go to find action after dark!

Location is important and Circle in is located in the center of Bacolod and you will be only minutes away from the SM Mall, Goldenfields and a host of other destinations and activities. You can not ask for a better location unless you want to be on the beach like at Palmas Del Mar. If you want to go anywhere just tell the front desk and they will call a taxi for you, or the guard will go out to the street and hail a cab for you.

If you bring a laptop computer with a good processor and Wi-Fi receiver you will be able to use the Hotel Wi-Fi system at no cost. If you want to surf the internet or check email back home the hotel has a desktop computer that you can rent at very low rates and use.

Beds are low to the floor and firm Pillows are thin. Extra pillows and blankets will generate an extra charge. You can rent a mattress to put on the floor for any guest you might have. Sheets are changed every other day. Rooms are cleaned daily and beds made at that time.

If you have any special requests the staff will bend over backwards and try to accommodate your request, if possible. If you need a shuttle van to the airport the hotel has one that can accommodate about 6 people and luggage at very reasonable rates.

There are other businesses in the same building such as a barber shop beauty parlor and they also offer massage and steam baths and body scrubs! I highly recommend the massage and steam and the next day go back and have the body scrub! Less than $20.00 and you will feel like a 20 year old again!

Also there is a gift shop next door to the lobby entrance and they have many good things available for souvenirs.

We returned to the U.S. on March 28, 2008 and as we were being driven to the airport I was looking out the windows at the countryside and the people in passing. Out there in the sugarcane fields I met people who fed their families on 50 cents a. In all cases the people I met had a smile and a kind word!

They taught me something I never learned before in the materialistic world we have here “You do not have to have it all, to find happiness in this life” Happiness in life comes from family, true friends and from within! And therein my friend is what gives this country its true beauty; it is the good and loving hearts of the Filipino people!

I reached the airport fighting back tears and trying not to let the others see how I was affected by my stay here. Never before did I want to stay anywhere so very much and some day I hope I will return and live out my final days among these special friends and very special people.

  • Liked — The freindliness of the staff and helpfulness
  • Disliked — the American food. Native food was fantastic!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Last_Paratrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

We stayed at the Circle Inn for an extended period over January & February 2008.
The hotel itself is well appointed, clean, secure and quiet. Food liquor and room rates were reasonable. Service was excellent at all times.
The reason we chose it was because they offered family rooms.
We have visited Bacolod on numerous occasions in the past, but this is the first time we chose to stay at this particular hotel.
By far the feature that most impressed us was the friendly, hardworking, efficient and honest staff. They were great. Nothing was a problem. All of them were chearful at all times. They are, in our experience, the friendliest hotel staff in Bacolod.
The only negative that we found was that the family rooms are not as well appointed as the other rooms and there is no elevator which was a bit of a disadvantage to us as the family rooms are on the 3rd floor.
We definitely would stay there again and probably will in the future.

  • Liked — Friendly and efficient staff
  • Disliked — Family rooms not as well appointed as standard, deluxe rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

Out of randomness i decided to visit bacolod city to see what it has to offer, other than that i personally went to bacolod to meet a friend who lives there. Having heard that bacolod is a city of smile i expected much from it..

i visited the place last feb 19-20 2008.. and had some search for a nice hotel to stay in, and i stumbled upon circle inn..

i made a reservation through their website and i got in...

the hotel is wide.. the lobby is kinda cozy... and since its my first time to visit bacolod city, i wanted to make my first impression.. and i had it from the staff attending the front desk. they look interesting, nice and very attentive... they were soft spoken, arrangement was short and i had my room in like 5 minutes..

since im just looking for a place to sleep for my overnight stay at bacolod i booked at their deluxe room.. the room was clean, nice linens.. soft pillows, clean bathrooms, and the hot/cold shower did worked... the aircondition was on its optimum (very cold which is a good thing) , the tv was big, and the prices of the goodies on their freezer was reasonable.

I had an worthwhile stay in bacolod city. .. i'll surely bring my friends over to bacolod and i know where to take them!!! CIRCLE INN!!!

p.s

i just wanna say thank you to the staff who were on duty during the morning of feb19 (930am) who checked me in, the 3 ladies... they were pretty and nice.. esp. to the lady who helped me put my "stuff" into the safety deposit..

  • Liked — The room, the staff, the KEYS!! hehe they got nice keys... big one!
  • Disliked — distance from the New Silay airport.. but not a major prob.. transpo is everywhere...
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially at the bar, those guys are hilarious. The Hotel has a nice ambiance inside. The food was not the best, so i only had breakfast there. There is no pool and few diversions to the stay there. The room is ok..as advertised. I stayed there during the offseason and they gave me a break on price per day on the executive Zen room. As a Hotel, except for the food....its ok.....its only a room to sleep....no resort features here......probably best classified as a Business Hotel only.

  • Liked — Executive Rooms are nice
  • Disliked — Food was unimpressive, no pool or entertainment
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaTIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2008

The hotel is located a distant away from Lacson St, which is Bacolod's main street. The area is probably quiet 'scary' to stroll at night but you feel secure within the hotel grounds which is fenced.

Take note, there are 2 types of accomodation in this hotel. The standard and executive. The standard type rooms are all located in the main building while the executive rooms are in a new wing of the complex. We booked 2 executive rooms. The rooms are clean, nice with modern furniture. The service is good, hotel staff are courteous and friendly. The free breakfast comes in set menus and there's a variety to choose from.

Within the complex, there is an internet cafe,beauty parlor, 24 hrs convenience store, laundrymat. Taxi service may be a problem at times but the hotel concierge is always happy to assist.

Overall, I wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again. It's value for money, nice and friendly atmosphere.

  • Liked — nice executive room and service
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank newington20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacolod hotels
2.1 mi away
L'Fisher Hotel
L'Fisher Hotel
#1 of 29 in Bacolod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luxur Place
Luxur Place
#11 of 29 in Bacolod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.3 mi away
Go Hotels Bacolod
Go Hotels Bacolod
#8 of 29 in Bacolod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences
0.8 mi away
Royal Am Rei
Royal Am Rei
#10 of 29 in Bacolod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avenue Suites
Avenue Suites
#15 of 29 in Bacolod
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites

Property: Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites
Address: Lopez Jaena-Malaspina Streets, Capitol Shopping Center, Bacolod, Negros Occidental 6100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Bacolod
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circle Inn - Hotel and Suites is located in Bacolod City, Philippines. The hotel offers 84 spacious rooms including the first and only direct pool access rooms in Bacolod and a new outdoor swimming pool. All rooms have complimentary wifi Internet access, 70 plus channel cable television, air-conditioning and hot and cold shower. Higher end rooms are furnished with a mini-bar and coffee and tea making facility as well as in-room safety box. There is a coffeeshop, 24 hour room service and in-room massage service. An elevator has recently been added for guests' convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circle Hotel Bacolod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing