We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Clean Hotel”
Review of Avenue Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Suites
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simple and Clean Hotel”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in Avenue Suites for a weekend in November 2013. We stayed in their Deluxe Superior room which could accommodate up to 4 persons. Room was spacious and clean, and beds and pillows were comfortable. There was a small window but no view. It came with free buffet breakfast. Very basic buffet breakfast was served at the rooftop restaurant which had outdoor and indoor seating. Nice place to have a beer and wind down. The top floor also had a spa which was very good and affordable. Our friends stayed in the Standard Room which was quite small (good for 2--no window), but the rate was very reasonable. Good location, located along Lacson Street close to the city center.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with windows. The Standard and Budget Rooms are a bit claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueBrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    56
    46
    18
    15
See reviews for
38
22
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

service is above average...bellboy offered to carry our luggage (for free).

was given welcome drink..

sound proofing of rooms, not soo good...(or maybe it's just that my rooms facing the main road.

bar at the penthouse is good..

breakfast? acceptable.

Room Tip: request for a room not facing the road, it could be terrible for you to get sleep. make sure to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pointandshootnoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here for a business trip last weekend. The room was very clean, and I didn't feel the need to wear my flip flops in the bathroom. They also provided an open closet, a safe, plus a few drawers where you could store your things.

The beds were comfortable enough. We also requested for an extra bed, but the mattress they provided wasn't that thick, and you could feel the metal frame on your back while lying down.

I also had second thoughts about using their towels because they weren't as white as I had hoped. Kinda disappointing for a new hotel.

Furthermore, it seemed that there wasn't enough power or voltage coming out of their outlets because my Samsung phone wasn't fully charged overnight (from 30% to 90% in 6 hours).

Lastly, I wish they had used warm instead of cool fluorescent lights in the rooms to make them more inviting.

Their staff was very attentive and pleasant. Less than a minute after calling for an extra bed/hair dryer, one of them already came knocking on our door carrying the items that we requested.

For buffet breakfast, they served steamed white rice, scrambled eggs, toast with your choice of jam or butter, sausages, breaded fish fillet, watery brewed coffee with milk and sugar, and dry sliced papayas.

Additionally, Calea (where you'll find the best cakes in Bacolod) is just a short walk away. So are a couple of convenience stores and some well-known restaurants.

Overall, our stay was average. It was my second time to go to Bacolod; I had a better experience with another hotel in the vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyssp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I booked a matrimonial room for an overnight stay in early January. We got to the hotel at around lunch time and they said it was too early, so my fiance and I decided to have lunch out and came back at 130pm. They still said the room wasnt ready and that we had to wait til 2pm. We waited in their little lobby sitting on the floor since there wasnt enough couches. None of the staff members asked if we were comfortable sitting on the floor. That's not normal for hotel staff.

Believe it or not,at exactly 2pm, we got called because our room was ready! And I sarcastically asked, "you mean you just finished cleaning our room at exactly 2pm? Wow! Good timing!" Obviously, these receptionists do not know how to make business. You do these little extra things for your guests and they will remember that and eventually come back!

Anyway, we got in our room and wow after so many hours of preparing our room, the TV did not work!! Some maintenance people kept coming in and out trying to fix the tv and eventually replaced the whole tv. Not convenient for your guests!!!

Breakfast! Ugh dis-gus-ting! They had riceand probably 3 other things that did not even taste nice! I could cook better than that! They looked like 5-minute meals! Waiters need to learn how to smile!

This stay was actually our second stay. The first one was ok-ish, but breakfast then was still crap! Their restaurant is like a little hole in the whole hotel! It was that small even hobbits could not move!

Overall, this is a new hotel. It's a shame that it looks like it's gonna go down the drain because of the lack of staff competency and quality. They should not forget that their advantage to big hotels like LFisher and the like, is that their hotel is new, thus it seems cleaner and fresher to guests. Old 5star hotels were probably at their peak 30 years ago, but because of old agem no one wants to stay in a 30 year old room that hasnt been maintained well. In my experience, hotels that used to be popular, now have stinky carpetd. Guests nowadays do not care about the hotel name. Cleanliness, staff competency (smile!!) and location are the 3 key qualities of a good hotel. They have the location, Avenue Suites is losing the first two.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Em C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bacolod hotels

Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I recently stayed there over Christmas , and I must say I was taken aback at how clean my room was. for the money this is one of the best places I have stayed. The staff was very pleasant and helpful ....I really could not have wanted for anything.

Room Tip: try to get a room a little farther from the Lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Avenue suites has a potential for tourist and business goers.
Rates are not cheap but if service is maintaines there reasonable.
Rooms poor maintenance NO cold water just hot water who the hell would like to take a HOT shower. No plumber or plumbing service as requested.
Curtains fell down when we moved them
Chairs cant balance and the freaking room is dark. 2 small light bulbs only. Sockets dont work only 1 working socket for the room. Fix it and we will comeback.
Oh the aircon is cold really comfortable 5 star for the airconditioning.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I cannot say anything positive with this hotel! Rooms are dark, hallways are warm with no aircon, elevators close automatically after one person gets in causing the next person to be squeezed in between when entering, front office staff are incompetent! They do not know the meaning of customer service! They have a promo of less 30% if you use your bdo credit card but for some twisted reason they refuse to give you the discount! And when i asked for the number of their manager, they will not give it to me! This is the worst hotel ever!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rowenalim82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacolod hotels
0.6 mi away
Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Inns Bacolod by The Oriental
0.1 mi away
L'Fisher Hotel
L'Fisher Hotel
#1 of 29 in Bacolod
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
O Hotel
O Hotel
#2 of 29 in Bacolod
207 reviews
1.5 mi away
Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences
0.9 mi away
Go Hotels Bacolod
Go Hotels Bacolod
#7 of 29 in Bacolod
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites

Property: Avenue Suites
Address: 12th Lacson St, Bacolod, Negros Occidental 6100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Bacolod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Avenue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing