We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Avenue Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Suites
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I find this hotel too good to be true because aside from its being affordable, our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and smiling as Bacolod is known as the City of Smiles. Very quiet in the hallway and if you are looking for privacy, this hotel is for you. The spa and restaurants are located in the top floor. Unlike in many hotels where you need to pass by the lobby and the reception as you take your breakfast. The location is excellent because there are many restaurants and other business establishments around. Though in our room, I did not feel safe with their balcony door because it is not made of good quality materials. In fact, I even asked the room boy to lock it for us because the lock got stuck up. And the balcony is not also safe for small kids so I instructed my children not to open the balcony door as it is not safe for them. Good thing my kids are obedient!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    56
    46
    18
    15
See reviews for
38
22
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well, I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2013. I was in Bacolod for work and our hosts had booked this hotel for us. After a long flight, the quick check in was well appreciated. I was sharing the room with a colleague. We were shown to the room. The hotel doesn't appear very old so everything looks pretty new and clean. The rooms were clean, though I didnt appreciate the lighting. (White light). Nevertheless, the room was average size. Window mounted aircon & LCD tv were part of the amenities.

Hit the shower, no hot water and the shower drain was not draining the water quick enough. We were too tired to complain, so we went to bed.

Buffet breakfast was included with the room and the next morning, after another cold shower, we were at breakfast by 7:15 am. Surprise, the food was over. Do not expect a lavish spread, but 3-4 dishes at the most. Even that was empty and the staff made no attempt to refill it. Quite offended, I decided to go next door to the pancake house for breakfast.

On our way out, I told the housekeeping people to fix the hot water and the drain. They said they would do it. Back after work later that evening, and nope, they didnt fix it. Cold water shower again.

Next morning, I complained to the reception about the cold water and how nothing was being done. They said they will fix it. No surprises when we came back later that evening that the water was still cold. We didnt bother going up for breakfast that day, had the pancakes next door, which were very good.

General apathy to genuine complaints, and non availability of basic services make me give this property a poor score. It looked very promising to start with, but fell flat on its face.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. L'fisher down the road looks better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_amjad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bacolod hotels

Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booked my relatives here for 3 days and they were happy with their stay. The rooms offer 2 queen sized beds which can accommodate 4 persons however only 2 persons are paid for breakfast. Additional towels and services are to be paid separately.
Rooms are clean and staff are willing to help.

Room Tip: No swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabsGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you are looking for a good location in Bacolod City near restaurants, airport etc., then this is it. However the housekeeping and cleanliness leave much to be desired of. We left the room all day and returned to used cups, water glasses, etc. Mini ref took forever to get cool and you had to request for a reading lamp and hair dryer. We called the attention of the front desk and the next day we suddenly had slippers, tooth brush/comb set. There was an effort to clean better. I feel this should be a standard though and not done only when one's attention is called.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwithMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Pros:
- good location, walking distance to many nice restaurants, easy accessible to all modes of transportation
- new hotel, great room, clean and quiete
- free breakfast
- free wifi, LCD TV
- very friendly staff, always smiling and ready to lend a hand

Cons:
-like the common complain from the other reviewer, the elevator doors closes too soon. May cause injury to babies or kids. They need to adjust the sensitivity of the door sensor asap.

Room Tip: Overall, my family really enjoyed our entire stay (5 nights) in this hotel. Makes my visit after 9yr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at executive room with balcony with 2 free massage and 2 breakfast buffet never mind the unlimmited brewed coffee! Well, the room is spacious, the beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is ok. The spa? Average. The receptionist is not friendly. Service crew, they just put open glass of water at the counter top for those who needs water after the sauna. It's very unsanitary! And if you need something, you can't find them! Therapist needs more training. They seems to be not aware of the etiquette. How about the breakfast? It's terrible! " Sister, whats this butter or margarine?" she replied "MARGARINE!" Sorry, I forgot the taste of margarine!

Anyway, the location is very good!

Room Tip: executive room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Pros--value for money,very good location,close to many good restaurants,very comfortable beds,helpful reception staff and housekeeping personnel,free wifi good connection,

Cons--Elevator doors close very fast could hurt kids, breakfast is 6:30 to 10a.m but at 9 a.m there was hardly any food left on the buffet table.Food refills need to be prompt, service needs to be improved in this area.
Overall our family enjoyed our stay will recommend to friends and will come back but hope food service improves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xenmd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacolod hotels
0.6 mi away
Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Inns Bacolod by The Oriental
0.1 mi away
L'Fisher Hotel
L'Fisher Hotel
#1 of 29 in Bacolod
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
O Hotel
O Hotel
#2 of 29 in Bacolod
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences
0.9 mi away
Go Hotels Bacolod
Go Hotels Bacolod
#6 of 29 in Bacolod
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites

Property: Avenue Suites
Address: 12th Lacson St, Bacolod, Negros Occidental 6100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Bacolod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Avenue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing