We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Resort in a Rain Forest..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mambukal Hot Spring Resort
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bacolod
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This is more or less 2 hours away from main city of Bacolod. There are sugarcane fields on other sides of the road on the way here. We rode an ordinary bus because taxi would be more expensive, and we are quite on a tight budget..

I stayed here with my friends the night before the Masskara Festival's main events. Because of the festival, resort was fully booked and good thing that we have a reservation because it was raining when we arrived..

Our room was good for 6 person and since we are only 4, there's alot of space for us. It has a double deck and 2 double beds, aircon, dining table, bath, and a sink..

There are few carinderia style restaurant inside the resort. The foods are "made to order", you can even choose which fish or meat you want to be cooked and the menu you prefer. The food is pricey for an ordinary or regular tasting food..

There are swimming pool, and complimentary use for two guest per room was given to us. They require strict swimming attire. As for the hotspring, there's a separate payment and the dress code is not too strict. The water was hot and looks relaxing, but we didn't tried it.

Will I go back?.. I'll think about it.. Lol

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jeanycula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wife and I went March, 2013. Went midweek so no crowds around. Travel from Bacolod by car took less than 1 hour and cost us around 50 US. Although we found out that you could ride buses right to the gate of the resort from Bacolod. Don't know from where so it's a mute point.
Read about it in Philippines Travel Guide, so went expecting to stay the night. Got there and decided on a cottage for around 2000 piso a night. It was a very nice room. New furniture indoor and out on the porch, plus hot water, ref, and aircon. No phone ,tv, or internet, but thats not why we went. Plenty of activities to do during the day, and we sat outside at night and had a few drinks. Definately need insect repellant and coils at night.
During the day we went to see the water falls. Only made it to 2 as the trail starts to get steep after #2 and it was hot and humid. My favorite was the swim in the hot spring. Also had a large pool but couldn't see getting in it when there was this 45 degree spring to soak in! Also bat watching. The colony was said to number 5000. Quit active even in the daylight. Plus a bridge with thousands of swallows under it, you walk under and see close up. A lovely place to walk as there is no traffic and lots of the trees have the name and common uses for them on signs.
There is a food court open during daylight hours with pinoy food and a surprising selection of seafood, considering it's on the side of a volcano! Plus soft and hard drinks. And a bunch of sari sari stores at the little village by the resort entrance. We went there and sat drinking beers in the evening talking with the locals, seemed real friendly. I will definately go with my kids next time. They love water.

Room Tip: We asked for the best room they had. There are also family and cheap rooms in the old Inn. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bossjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Mambukal is still a great place to relax and bond with your family. The place maybe old but well maintained. When you are in that place you'll forget the inconvenience of having no wifi. You will enjoy the place and be with the nature. Being surrounded by nature is refreshing to the soul.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhesean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We wanted to hold our business conference in a cool, hilltop-surrounded-by-trees setting with a quiet and unpolluted environment so we decided to book it in this mountain and hot spring resort .

Booking was only one phone call away. We immediately got a booking for a modest size conference in the coffee shop area and a suite room (2 adjacent rooms with 3 beds each sharing a common bath). The arrangement was pretty straightforward. They provide the facilities and we can bring our own food without corkage.

We got a 20% senior citizen discount. Overall, we got a good value for the package but there's an entrance fee of P50.00 per head and P15.00 for light vehicles. There's also an extra P100.00 electrical charge per gadget plugged in.

Upon arrival, the staff were very accommodating. They provided for most of our extra requirements for a business conference, e.g. table for our LCD projector and hot and cold water dispenser, with a smile.

The hotel though was very old and rustic but far from the maddening crowd. It needed a lot of repairs. But we were satisfied with the conference area and the rooms although some windows were broken. There was a balcony overlooking the property where guests can relax. One can see the roofline of the new cottages below. We were told that the local and foreign tourists prefer to stay in the modern cottages (with 4 beds in a room) versus the traditional hotel accommodations.

They also had a dormitory which can accommodate 20 pax per room. I plan to hold a students' seminar there sometime in December.

Room Tip: Hilltop hotel is quieter but farther. Cottages below are near the swimming pool and hot springs area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank profzulueta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived during the afternoon and we stayed at one of their LGU cottages the room was spacious since ther's nothing in much in it. It has 2 beds, an open cabinet (no hangers), a table with 2 chairs, a kitchen sink & cupboards and has a bathroom with hot & cold shower. The bed was uncomfortable so we asked if we can transfer to a different cottage(since it's off peak we were able to do be transferred to a different cottage). The 2nd cottage is pretty much the same except for the shower head in the 2nd cottage it was old & not really functioning well. we requested for an extra pillow and you will have to go to their reception area(which is a walking distance from the cottage) JUST TO GET A TOWEL (it wasn't ready for the guest). aside from this overall the resort was fine, they have a spa beside one of the dipping pools which is GREAT (it was so relaxing that i fell asleep)...OVERALL THE VIEW IS REALLY GREAT...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mhilani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I arrived very late and took a room then..............The Room...... dirty and smelly damp soaking pillow and as for the matress it should have been in the rubbish dump...................slept on a couple of chairs The hot spring was nice, and the guide that took me up to the water falls was excellent. Would i go again yes but will never stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We booked a quiet cottage where the entranced and primary view was against a beautiful hillside.. but it turns out it was where all the workers there gathered and noisily did chores all day.. we complained but there was nothing they could/would do. even construction was going on 15 feet from our entrance as they prepared materials for other areas of the resort. overall the place has a lot of potential but from a service level they really have no idea of what reasonable expectations are concerning foreign tourist.. also, no security anywhere.. we were sometimes 'befriended' by young men on the paths in the jungle that wanted to help us or guide us to various places but we had no idea who these people were.. when hiking on some of the trails we encountered groups of young filipino men camped out and making food and for all we know they could have been rebels. we just had no idea.. they didnt seem to be tourist.

Room Tip: make sure you see your accomadation before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacolod hotels
15.4 mi away
The Inns Bacolod by The Oriental
15.6 mi away
L'Fisher Hotel
L'Fisher Hotel
#3 of 30 in Bacolod
345 reviews
14.9 mi away
Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Go Hotels Bacolod
Go Hotels Bacolod
#9 of 30 in Bacolod
198 reviews
15.2 mi away
Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences
15.1 mi away
O Hotel
O Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bacolod
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mambukal Hot Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mambukal Hot Spring Resort

Address: | Minoyan, Bacolod, Negros Occidental, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Bacolod
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bacolod
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Mambukal Hot Spring Hotel Bacolod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing