We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service but still got rooms for improvement.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service but still got rooms for improvement.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed for 3nights on a 2BR suites on the 5th and 15th floor. We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff are all friendly. And I'm happy that they granted my request to surprise my hubby and my bro with a birthday cupcakes (cakes are chargable) upon arrival though it was initially a bit messed up coz the staff at the concierge was clueless about it. But still appreciated. Rooms are spacious but doors on the bathrooms are "see thru" and got no bidet lol. During our stay, d suite aircon was not cold. Free shuttle service to city are very limited timings. White
jeepney limousine are on
display.Ibiza dinner buffet would be nice but a bit pricey for me to treat my whole family of 15. The
beach is a picture perfect but not to swim at.Overall, nice hotel for couples and small families to unwind and be lazy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NadyaEmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
thank you very much for your review and for selecting our hotel for your recent stay here in Cebu.
I am glad to read that you had an overall good impression of our hotel and especially our staff.
I have taken note of some of the comments you made and we will see how we can address those concerns to further improve.
We do hope that you will be staying with us again on a future visit to Cebu.

Thanks again

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    617
    275
    99
    58
See reviews for
645
598
74
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philip, South Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

It was surely fun to be around friends you haven't seen for almost 2 years. Unfortunately, I wasn't as pleased with this hotel. I loved the fact that it was popular among foreigners but as a locale who has been away for 2 years, it didn't quite meet my expectations. The parking area by the basement was dark and congested. The rooms were small, we ended up asking them to transfer us. And the elevators? They were tiny especially when you got a big company of 8 people. Luckily for the hotel though, they have a bar called Ibiza located at the beautiful oceanfront. The drinks were mediocre. The waiter didn't carry a pen and a paper he made a mistake on getting us what we ordered. I just graciously accepted it and ordered again because my friend was about to yell at him. Besides, it was happy hour! Drinks are practically 50% off! That was the best part! As for the hotel crew, I love the smiles on their faces. Nothing beats Filipino hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b_paraiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
I thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to Cebu. I do apologize that we have not lived up to your expectations and I appreciate your feedback.
While it will be hard to address some of your concerns, like the car park space and the size of the elevators, we certainly will look into the problem you encountered at our Ibiza Beach Club.

I appreciate you pointing out the smiles and hospitality of our employees, as we believe they truly are our most important asset.

I do hope, that despite the various shortcomings you pointed out, you will give us another try on a future visit to Cebu.

Thanks again

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at the Moevenpick Hotel while on business in Cebu. I had reserved a suite room and was surprised that it was a little on the small size. I had stayed at this hotel when it was a Hilton and was on the Executive Floor then. The bed was comfortable and the a/c was great. When I got up the next morning, I found out that my Shower did not work, so I was forced to use the hand shower in the bathtub. I ate at Ibiza and the food was good but a little on the high end. I thought breakfast was also a little pricey. I would say that the staff is a plus and that they seem very helpful. Overall, I would probably stay there again but not because I really want to but because my other choices are not as good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
I thank you very much for sharing your views about our hotel on this website.
My apology for the apparent problem you encountered with the shower in your room.
Overall you seem to be satisfied with your stay but we hope that your next visit will be even more enjoyable. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance for a future booking. You may want to try our new Executive Lounge next time as well to experience the improvements we have made.

Again, thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

So far all I have tone is check in and for a Movenpic resort I expected a whole lot more. Let's start with transportation, they will not allow taxis in and if you have to call one you are calling on your own. They do have a car that will take you to the airport but they charge you an additional 600 pesos. The ride from Cebu city was only 300 peso. The rooms are old and musty and small. After staying at the Marriott last night this hotel is a major disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reddogsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I appreciate you sharing your observations with us as this helps us to further improve. I am sorry to read that your initial impression was below your expectation.
I was however a bit surprised about your comments on Taxis as we certainly allow taxis to enter our property and also call taxis for our guests from the street level. I therefore would appreciate if you could maybe personally contact me for further details so I can understand the concern better. you can reach me at: Knuth.kiefer@moevenpick.com

Thank you

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel lobby is impressive. I really like how they styled the lobby. We checked in after lunch and the rooms were already available. We booked a suite and a regular room. The receptionist was accomodating and nice. The beachfront of this hotel looks beautiful But the beach is rocky. It is difficult to swim around. Shangri-La Mactan's beach is way much better. We have tried the food both in our rooms and in the restaurants. They have advertised this hotel as a 5 star in service but it is not.
Here are the bad points:
-our suite sink leaked and flooded our bathroom. Service was available and quick tho.
-we ordered advanced breakfast using the one hanging on the doors. The kitchen didn't inform us that both the main and the dessert had some side dishes not available. Guess what, we had lots of rice cakes and mangoes. No one even called us to inform us that what we ordered were not available that maybe we would like to change it. The rice cakes taste gingery. No one liked it.
-all restaurants share the same menu. We took a cab and had our lunch in Shangri-la instead.
- service in the restaurant is not a 5 star, not even close. Sails, the restaurant, was the only restaurant who never provided a placemat and put the utensils just above the table. The chicken we ordered, 4 out of 4 had some raw parts inside. Too bad, chicken was delicious.
The bill took a bit long too. The receipt mentioned some complimentary appetizer, guess what, they forgot to bring them to our table! My goodness!

The rooms were clean and beds were comfortble. The bathroom was spacious but I find it dark. They should have used light colored walls. Dark walls don't show you how dirty they are already. Toiletries were generous. Housekeeping was also very helpful to us.

Having stayed both in Shangri-la and Moevenpick, I will still recommend this hotel but not my first choice. Expectations never met. It is a beautiful hotel but needs a lot of improvement especially on restaurant service.
Also, I wonder why a luxury hotel sells pouches, mobile phones cases that can also be found in the streets of Manila sold by street vendors? I am referring to the shop on the right coming from the entrance. What's funny, they have logos of high end brands. Cute but no thanks.
Best part/s:
-My thumbs up for the housekeeping personnels.
-the receptionists were accomodating.
-Beef caldereta, crispy pata and molten cake were amazing. Try them!
-Fastest check out ever! Amazing.

Our stay wasn't perfect but we still had a good time. It could be a lot better though.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
I appreciate you taking time to share your observations with us and I thank you for the constructive feedback.
My apology that some of the experiences you had were not up to your expectations and certainly not up to the service levels we set out to provide to our guests. We will look at the various points you have raised so we can address those areas accordingly.
I do hope that you will give us another try on a future visit to the area in order for us to hopefully leave you with a much better impression than we did on your recent stay. Please feel free to contact me personally at any time if I can assist with a future booking.(Knuth.kiefer@moevenpick.com)

Thank you

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
370 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Formerly The Hilton Cebu Resort & Spa, the resort has been given a new look.

Features rooms and restaurants with good views of the beach and water sports facilities for you to enjoy during your stay. The pools, private beach and bar are perfect areas to unwind by. The F&B outlets within the hotel serves a variety of cuisines and are great dining options since you will need to get a car or taxi to get around the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for the positive review you have posted based on your recent stay with us.
We are happy that you left us with a positive impression and that you enjoyed the new look and feel of our hotel.
We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future if your travel plans bring you back to Cebu.

Thanks again

Knuth Kiefer
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

The moment we arrived,he reception was very friendly,professional and attentive.The hotel is set aside from the major points in Mactan Island so you will need to take cabs to most places,such as other restaurants,Cross of Magellan and Lapu Lapu.
The hotel offers buffet breakfast and no onsite regular dining room.This is available in the rear of the hotel which offers a Brazilian style concept with all the salad,meat and various fish,chicken and seafood specialties as well as a la carte.Prices are moderate and the food and service is very good.

We were offered a two room suite with all the amenities and a view that was wonderful toward the sea.One side however had a view of a building undergoing some sort of renovations which was not pleasant to look at.

For an extra fee we had access to a private dining area at the hotel,which offered fruits,some foods and very helpful and friendly service.We also had private breakfast prepared as we needed to depart early that morning to catch a flight.

All in all this was a very pleasant stay.The hotel goes out of its way to ensure you have the best stay possible.Location is within a 30 minute ride to the Mactan International Airport.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyn318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your review here on TripAdvisor.com. We are always happy to read when a customer had an enjoyable stay with us.
I appreciate you pointing out our friendly employees as those are the ones who truly make the difference to our guests.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks again

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#15 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Property: Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Address: Punta Engano, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired enclave is set on its own private beach on Mactan Island and offers white sandy beaches, year-round summer weather and exceptional diving and snorkeling. Business is easy with various Executive Floors and an Executive Lounge. All accommodations feature high speed internet access. The resort is just ten minutes from Mactan International Airport and 25 minutes from cosmopolitan Cebu City, offering vibrant nightlife, extensive shopping and 24-hour casinos. For the ultimate dining experience, choose from the hotel's 5 restaurants and bars, featuring the Philippine's first and only Ibiza style Beach Club. Stay active with a visit to the fully equipped health club offering a professional gymnasium, steam room and luxurious garden spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu Hotel Lapu Lapu
Movenpick Resort And Spa Cebu
Hilton Cebu Hotel
Hilton Mactan Island
Hilton Lapu Lapu
Lapu Lapu Hilton
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing