We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had a great stay in Plantation Bay. Lots of activities in the resort, nice beach and pool. My only complain would be that they do not include breakfast in the hotel price so you have to pay it separately. overall it was a nice and relaxing stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenzo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear lorenzo l,

Thank you for your review.

We're happy to know that you appreciated our various leisure activities and swimming facilities and that you and your family had a memorable stay at Plantation Bay.

We are now offering a special breakfast package to our guests. For only $30++ per day per room, every occupant of our regular rooms will enjoy a full breakfast buffet, up to 3 adults, or 2 adults + 2 children. We hope that like most recent guests, you will find this a good value for your money.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    570
    156
    76
    66
See reviews for
818
396
39
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

"Where everyday is an adventure". I have just returned from another wonderful stay in Plantation Bay, Cebu and I have nothing but good words to say! Definitely one of the best resorts I've been to. The place is wonderful, the staff are seamless, food is extraordinary and the overall experience is unforgettable. Spent a whole day in Mogambo Springs (The Spa in PB) and I felt rejuvenated. PB is now my favorite "home away from home". (RM - Tahiti 07 (Oct '13), Nile 22 (March '14))

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear MackyroniMD,

We are happy that you had an enjoyable second visit to Plantation Bay.

Thank you for the high praise and for sharing your love of our good food and the wide array of activities we have for everyone to enjoy. And a big Thank you! for highlighting our spa and staff in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Cebu soon.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Plantation Bay in Cebu made my first time visit there with family very memorable. The place is like a small subdivision with pools and beaches, spa, and packed with so many recreational facilities that you'd hardly know where to start.

First thing one will notice is the remarkable customer service. They have a "no tipping" policy since we were told that all their workers are paid very well so much so that they are happy and able enough not to need tips. I've never had a time when I would encounter a staff who didn't greet and serve us so courteously, this hotel truly lived up to the expectation of exceptional service.

I loved the design concept of this resort too. Of course once cannot exactly replace a real beautiful beach, but the man-made beach/pools were still fun to swim in and made for a very pretty layout over-all.

I also absolutely LOVED their spa. It had many different kind of hot and cold pools, I made sure to try each and every one of them.

My family and I also enjoyed the many recreational activities the resort provided. I was able to borrow a bike and drove around the entire resort, after which, my family and I enjoyed archery and wall-climbing. The resort also had a library, a billiard pool and many others I could not remember now. They also had a big play place for my then 4 year old nephew who enjoyed the place.

The resort also had many different restaurants that you could choose from. The only downside is they're charged a bit higher and we weren't that happy with the taste (the lobster wasn't cooked so well). That's our only regret though and we wished we could have gone out to eat restaurants in the city that charged less but were more delicious.

Other than that though, I had an extremely great time :)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ubechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear ubechan,

We are happy to note that you and your family had an enjoyable time bonding over our activities. Moreover, that you appreciated our service and spa facilities.

We recently included stand up paddleboard races, yoga, gondola rides, and mermaid lessons in our activities. By the time you come back for your next visit, we hope there will be something new and exciting for you and your family to enjoy!


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This resort is fantastic, small enough to walk the whole place on foot & big enough to house all the accommodations & facilities. The lagoon is well maintained and beautiful, enjoyed the activities available in the lagoon. Food were excellent from the 4 restaurants, but our favorites were breakfast/lunch at Kilimanjaro & dinner at Palermo. Tried Scuba Discovery & Para-Sailing at Aqua Sports, went shooting at the Shooting Range and taught my children how to play pool & darts at the Gym & GameRoom. Throughout our stay, all the resort staff were always friendly & helpful. My 8 years old son gave a 5 Stars for this resort & said he wants to come back again, and we couldn't agree with him more. Thank you Plantation Bay for making our holiday a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear bhslee,

It's nice going through your photos and reading about your enjoyable holiday at Plantation Bay.

Considering that you stayed here an entire week, it is good to know that during all this time you and your children never ran out of things to do. We do our best to make sure our guests need not go far to enjoy and have fun and we're happy that you appreciated our efforts and took the time to really explore the resort.

Thank you for the positive review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Went on a stay-cation as couple. Extremely impressed with level of service of staff, prompt with requests and always polite with genuine smiles and greetings. The strict no-tip service is especially refreshing and surprising! Very family-friendly, for kids big and small.

Facilities plentiful and most included with resort price - gym, pools, lagoons, archery range, games room, plenty to keep oneself occupied. Didn't manage to try the spa but on a walk-around inspection the facilities seemed good. Kids have extra facilities available to them such as "beach side" activities and free single kayaks and life vests.

Rooms tastefully appointed with rustic charm and extremely large space available. Rooms surprisingly clean and fresh despite size and location of resort! Balcony spacious and good for entertaining guests. Water pressure (a large issue in the Philippines) not an issue at all. Lagoons clear and large, spectacular during sunsets and feel is of a cheerful resort. Majority of visitors at time we stayed Japanese and Korean family and small groups, non-obtrusive and generally pleasant.

Dining options on-par with international cuisine. Tried all dining options apart from Savannah Grill & Lounge and the open-air buffet and happy with quality and value of all. Fruit shakes refreshing and large. Portions all large and designed for sharing. Fresh buko (young coconut) cold and refreshing on lagoon-side chairs.

Trip arranged via the front desk about 4 hours drive from the resort for whale shark diving/snorkeling was extremely well organised with staff provided from the resort to accompany. Great value with inclusions of bus ride, personal set-up area, shark snorkeling with equipment provided by the resort, and generous lunch, with stop-overs at historic churches on the way back. We just added-on an underwater camera service on-site which was excellent with well over 150 photos taken for approx. PHP2000.

Major downside is location not ideal for traveling outside the resort, as it is away from the main city and also out of the way of major taxi routes (in fact many will request extra payment given the problems with finding customers in the area afterwards). The resort service is considerably more expensive than regular meter taxis. However, most would spend the majority of time inside the resort enjoying all the facilities. Also, air-conditioning unit would often leak due to high humidity in the room, and would take time to cool the whole room down given size.

Would gladly pay a visit back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms on the sides have larger balconies lagoon view rooms upstairs but still a short walk to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear DrBK,

We frequently welcome guests from Australia and like you, they appreciate Plantation Bay's ambience, rooms, and various leisure facilities and activities.

Thank you for the kind words about our food, which we really put a lot of effort into; it is great to see that well-traveled couples like yourselves know what good food is about.

Thanks again for the high praise and for recommending the resort to our TripAdvisor readers. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The resort is splendid. From the time we arrive to the time that we finally are leaving the place, the staff are wonderful and accomodating to all our needs. The pool are magnificent and we really enjoyed it especially my son. The dinner buffet was also a treat with the lechon and all. The free coupons we got also are worth it for we made it a point to use them in all their restaurants there. The food is nice and the serving is pretty generous. Overall our stay in this resort is relaxing and luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia Monina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Marcia Monina A,

We're delighted to know that you appreciated our swimming and dining facilities and that while here, you got to try Cebu's famous lechon.

Like you, many guests appreciate that Plantation Bay’s annual Summer Frolix Promo comes with Gift Certificates for our restaurants and spa. We're happy that you took advantage of this special offer, and hope that we will see you again this summer.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talamban, Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We celebrated my son's bday in this resort.. The lagoon is amazing and very pleasing to the eyes.. Staffs are friendly and very courteous.. Family room is ok nothing special aside from that ps3 (for the kids)..

My stay in this resort would have been perfect if that life guard assigned near their pool didn't shout @ me coz i was wearing sleeveless shirt while enjoying the water with my son. Gosh! I know its not allowed but to my excitement seeing my son enjoying the water I forgot to take it off.. It would be nice if he approached me and say its not allowed other than shouting in public..

I still love plantation though :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chard89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear chard89,

Thank you for bringing your family to Plantation Bay to celebrate your son's birthday! We are happy that you found the resort picturesque and our staff friendly and very courteous.

Thank you too for sharing your experience with one of our lifeguards. We apologize for his actions, and hope that you would be kind enough to respond to our private message and provide us with more details so that we can provide him with more training.

Thank you for your review.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing