We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“really nice resort”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We love the ambiance, the scenery. We like that there are many pools, fresh water and sea water. There are lots of things to do. The spa treatment is awesome. Foods are delicious and the shows are spectacular. Would love to stay for a week next time, but hope it won't be that pricey.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lylle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Lylle R,

Thank you for the enthusiastic review! We are heartened by the fact that you were so satisfied with Plantation Bay's ambience, spa, food, and themed dinner shows.

Guests who stay for a minimum of 6 continuous nights get 25% discount on their room rate (applicable only for non-peak dates), and we hope that you will make the most of this offer when you visit us next time.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    567
    156
    76
    66
See reviews for
817
393
39
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our 5 days stay is a blast! Me and my family were relax and treated well. I understand that the hotel is not on its 100% because of the recent tragedy. But it was awesome that the employees were still all smile - GOOD JOB.

I'm just concern about the incident involving my youngest kid, my eldest told me that my youngest was bullied by one of the employee's kid. According to my eldest, the kid, mic or nick or mickey, as far as my eldest remember, keep on mentioning that her mom is the manager of the resort, not a big deal but concerning to a point. But one of your attendant was there to resolve the issue.

Overall, still recommend this place

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear SJ858,

Thank you for complimenting our friendly service and for recommending Plantation Bay to our TripAdvisor readers.

We appreciate your report about the child of one of our managers, and apologize that her behavior toward your youngest child tarnished your otherwise good stay. Appropriate actions will be undertaken to ensure that there will be no further incidents of this type.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

i love the place, very spacious and there's a lot of activities to choose. I was there on their Christmas lightning, i love the show, the models and ofcourse the food was awesome because its for free! LOL! and i saw santa coming with mermaids LOL fun and unsual nice idea!i took pictures with the beautiful mermaids, wish i could wear those colorful tails LOL , and the fire dance while on a stand up paddle that was so cool!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Lai C,

Thank you for the detailed description of our Christmas Tree Lighting Festivities. Like you, most guests raved about it and were delighted to see Santa and his lovely helpers, mermaids, stand up paddle boarders, and the scenic beauties of Plantation Bay.

We're offering mermaid lessons to our guests. Next time you come back, ask one of our Recreations Staff to sign you up!


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Horrible. The food is my biggest problem, it is on par with Golden Corral here in the USA. So as you enter the "resort" on either side of you is a dried out, dead coral everywhere former shallow ocean water. It makes it look like you are entering Dante's Inferno, hell. Also, saw 2 men on a moped in full black SWAT Gear wth machine guns walking near the lobby entrance. No need for that at all, it just makes guests on edge thinking something is about to happen. The lagoon pool is ok, but, algae issue and also saw a kid bloody his nose on a water slide, he went head first and the slide is all concrete, not very smart building material for a slide. The staff are pleasant but the managers walk and talk with arrogance. I will never be back to Plantation Bay nor will any of my family in the states or Cebu.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank JTD724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reader:

When we attempted to contact this reviewer for details about his stay, he merely replied with
foul language. Thus, we cannot verify any of his vague complaints. Nonetheless, for the benefit of TripAdvisor readers, we take this opportunity to discuss concerns about food.

We agree that food is a matter of personal taste.

In order to account for different tastes, all our restaurants prominently display our Restaurant Satisfaction Guarantee in 3 languages: If for any reason you don’t like a dish or a drink, tell us before you’ve finished more than 25% of it, and there's no charge (and of course you may order something else).

This reviewer would have you believe that he spent 3 days receiving absolutely horrible food, yet instead of invoking the guarantee and getting something more to his taste, he just ate the horrible food. Every time. (We verified, by the way, that no guest who could reasonably be this reviewer ever made a complaint about any dish.) So, do you believe him?

Some people also complain that our food is too expensive. This is not true by any reasonable benchmark. Have you ever eaten at a Denny’s or a Boston Pizza in the US? A White Spot in Canada? Café de Corral in Hong Kong? McDonald’s in Paris? Our prices are similar or lower. Have you ever eaten at any 5-star hotel in Manila? Our prices are much, much lower. Don’t be misled by sarcastic reviews of people who evidently don't have much knowledge of food prices around the world; look at the numbers.

A TripAdvisor reviewer who genuinely wants to help fellow travelers will specify what dish he ordered, how much it cost, and what was wrong or right with it (or the service). When someone just complains in vague terms that “the food is awful, and the service sucks”, it is not helpful to other travelers or to the establishment.

In fact, most of our guests report that the food is quite good (and reasonably-priced, in view of the quality). But, just in case you get something that’s not to your taste, don’t be like this reviewer. Tell us immediately that something is wrong, so we have a chance to offer you something better.


Sincerely,
Manny Gonzalez
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This used to be a great resort. My last visit , i had to change rooms 4 times in 3 days- it even flooded inside one room when it rained- manager never followed up on his promises. The place caters to Koreans, which has lowered the bar to a very low place!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bk1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Bk1063,

We are sorry to hear that your recent stay wasn't satisfactory.

As the General Manager of the hotel, I wish to thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Appropriate measures were already undertaken to address them.

We apologize for our shortcomings, and wish you all the best in your future holidays.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I visited a while ago, but remember that the location is great for young families with the lagoons and slides being really fun for everyone. The biggest drawback was the choice of food - a little limited if you stay for more than four days.

Improve the food and I'll come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickCorben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear NickCorben,

We are happy to note that you and your family had an enjoyable time using our facilities, particularly the lagoons and slides.

We have updated our restaurant menus since your last visit in 2011. By the time you come back for your next stay, we hope there will be something new and exciting for you and your family to enjoy!


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Wonderful location, great value, perfect family holiday ingredients - massive lagoon pool, separate private beach with loads of tropical fish, activities including archery, rock climbing, kayaking and stand up paddling & the extraordinary staff that catered for our daughters often challenging allergies, at every possible turn made this our family's "BHE" - best holiday ever !! Well done Plantation Bay, take a bow

Room Tip: Select a room by the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerialTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear SerialTraveller101,

Considering that you stayed here an entire week, it is nice to know that during all this time you never ran out of things to do.

Thank you for sharing how our family friendly ambience and well-trained staff contributed to making your stay at Plantation Bay your Best Holiday Ever!

Looking forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
649 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing