We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Black Sheep in a Very Good Resot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One Black Sheep in a Very Good Resot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are a family of four and have our fair share of travels. Because of my husband's job, we get to travel frequently. In those travels, we saw numerous places with its own unique quality and beauty - and I would say that Plantation Bay is at par with the world's best. Finding this wonderful place, especially in our own backyard, is beyond my expectation. The amenities and the quite laid-back feel ambiance make this place a remarkable one. And don't forget the staff, with their modest and sincere smiles, makes everyone feel welcome and at home. Can't say more about this resort but Great!!!!

However, there was this one drawback - sad to say... and the management should really take notice.

There's this woman named "Chookie" - I guess a supervisor of sorts, her manners towards the staff, lashing out in front of people is totally not acceptable. Seeing that totally ruined my day during my stay. We are not prefect, no one is, but to think of it, that was the first time I've seen that unprofessional and rude behavior towards ones subordinate. She should talk to her staff privately and not in front of guests. I hope this is just an isolated case because this will really tarnish the reputation of this great resort.

OVERALL, we have a very wonderful stay at this place called the PLANTATION BAY!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolores A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Dolores A,

We appreciate your candid report about our Recreation Manager, Chokie, and apologize that her behavior toward her staff tarnished your otherwise perfect stay. We teach all our supervisors and managers to be respectful not just to guests, but to each other and all our staff. Fortunately, most of them are, most of the time, and that is why we have such cheerful and motivated staff at Plantation Bay.

We have counseled Chokie about the incident you reported, and hope that there will be no further incidents of this type.

Still, we are glad that, even though you have been to many resorts around the world, Plantation Bay surpassed your expectations, and was a pleasure for your entire family.

And thank you for bringing your whole clan to us, and occupying four suites! Happy extended families like yours are among our most satisfied customers.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    569
    156
    76
    66
See reviews for
818
395
39
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

* Fantastic accomodations
* Very friendly, warm, always helpful & smiling staff provided the best services
* Food was perfect!
* Beautiful place, clean lagoon/pools, busting of great activities to engage in; well 'manicured' landcape and not a single plant or branch out of place
* Quite entertaining dinner/dance shows
* Bit pricey but we did not mind paying for the great overall value!
* Highly recommend vacationing at Plantation Bay!

Room Tip: We requested for ground floor room with direct access to the lagoon -- it was well worth the $12+ US...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Rob K,

We are delighted to learn that, coming all the way from California, you consider Plantation Bay a fantastic resort with great leisure activities, excellent food, and exemplary service.

We are also glad that you appreciated your romantic room accommodations, with a mahogany 4-poster king bed and a direct view over our East Lagoon. And a big thank you for specifically mentioning our clean lagoons and well-manicured landscape, which we do our best to maintain.

We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at Plantation Bay. This was our ninth visit. It was a nearly perfect relaxing vacation. The things we love about Plantation Bay: No matter how full the resort is we can always find a place to be away from others. No tipping. So many water places to choose from that we are never bored: salt water lagoon, beach, freshwater pool with Jacuzzis, pools and the spa with heated pools. Great variety of food choices from Fiji with its fresh seafood and sushi, Palermo with its pastas and tapas, Kilimanjaro with its wide selection of international options and Savannah Grill with its grilled hotdogs, hamburgers and chicken. They also have theme-featured buffets for breakfast and dinner. We especially enjoy eating outside at Fiji overlooking the ocean. The spacious rooms and comfortable beds and reading chair. The sit-up tub and separate shower. Plenty of hooks to hang wet suits and towels on. Good selection of cable channels. Friendly and warm staff who greet you by name. The ensamadas which are freshly made each morning are to die for! The environmentally friendly transportation carts that will take you to other parts of the resort when you don’t feel like walking.

PB’s rooms are in buildings with names labeled from A to Z. This time we stayed in Edo which is on the lagoon. We could walk out our room’s back door onto a private porch and then a few feet away into the water! We also enjoyed several massages at their spa, and their provision of a hotel car for two off-resort meetings we had. We paid extra for the door-to-door service from airport to hotel room check-in and check-out. This is a very nice perk for additional privacy if you want it.

The resort is also well-designed for families, and you can read their website for information on the activities they have for kids of all ages.

The only negatives for this trip were that the main public road to the hotel is closed off so it takes a bit longer and bumpier ride for the last 15 minutes of the drive to and from the airport, and I wish they would get real cheese that melts for their omelets and burgers.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anneharper1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear anneharper1951,

It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Plantation Bay. We are very delighted to learn that, even upon your 9th visit to Plantation Bay, you still found it relaxing, charming, and as good as ever.

Thank you for your enthusiastic comments! Reviews like yours are highly appreciated, and inspire us to do even better at upholding our standards.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Bill 621

We had a fantastic experience on our stay in late January 2013. The staff is incredible from the registration desk, dining room staff, housekeeping and the spa personnel. The Executive Chef, Mario, was "hands on" giving us excellent suggestions on what to try whether it was at breakfast, lunch or the theme dinners -- we had wonderful conversations with him. Entertainment at the lounge (we especially enjoyed Dan and Emily) was very enjoyable. Interaction between staff and guests is the key to a fantastic experience that all hotels and resorts should aspire for - the bar set on this stay will be hard to beat. We are looking forward to returning very soon to Planatation Bay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Bill621,

We are happy to hear that your recent visit was enjoyable and that our standard of service "set the bar" for your future travel expectations.

At Plantation Bay, we strive to offer responsive but otherwise unobtrusive service, which is what experienced travelers like you appreciate. Thank you. We will definitely share your kind comments with our staff.

Looking forward to your next stay.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a very wonderful stay here with my wife and our 2 young kids. So many pools to choose from. And after that there is still the beach. The water and the resort grounds were very clean. The room were spacious even for the 4 of us. The staff were very courteous and nice. The food though was quite expensive. There are no other options like going outside the resort because its quite secluded. I liked the food at the Fiji Restaurant. But aside from there, not too good. Unfortunately for me, the Fiji was closed during Mondays. Overall it was a great vacation. My daughter even asked me when we were onboard the plane going back to Manila when we would be going back to Plantation Bay. She said she really enjoyed it. Thanks Plantation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas4594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Dallas4594,

Our resort welcomes many different kinds of visitors, but families are typically among our most appreciative guests.

We're glad that you liked your spacious room, and that your children really enjoyed our facilities. When you book with us next time, please remind us of your comment about prices, so we can offer suggestions on how to get the best value for money at Plantation Bay.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

the rooms and hotel grounds were nice and clean the pool nice and big but if you're not into karaoke the evening night out options are very limited unless you take a taxi outside to search for bars as walking out is not an option due to the hotels isolated location

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear graham t,

We are happy to know that you liked your room and the resort's ambience. We regret to learn that you felt your evening entertainment options were limited. During your one-night stay, you may not have had enough time to appreciate our nightly Theme Dinner Buffets, or our after-dinner entertainers at Savannah Lounge. Some of our guests stay 3-6 nights and still feel they still have not discovered everything. When you come back next time, we believe you will find many more activities than you originally imagined.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

When I visited the hotel last month, I found the place much improved from when I was there more than 10 years ago. The lagoon looked prettier and
The room looked brighter and smelled cleaner! I also found the entertainer at the Spanish resto and most specially the pair of singer and musician at the bar good and really entertaining.

I enjoyed the spa with the heated pool and the cold running falls. Even the view while I got my massage was serene and quite relaxing. I just happened to have a not so good masseuse who I later found out from interviewing her that she was new at the job and just had a few months training. The massage I got at the mall a few nights before at a fraction of the price was significantly better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Esther C,

We're glad to learn that on your second visit to Plantation Bay, you found it even better than you remembered, rooms-and-facilities-wise. And thanks for the kind words about our entertainers at Palermo Restaurant. Next time you come back, check out our Savannah Lounge entertainment too.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing