We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed and will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was in Cebu for 2 weeks with my wife and decided to go stay a few days. I was not disappointed.It was amazing being able to step right off your deck into the Lagoon. The pools are so big, that it is almost like having your own private pool. Yes they are salt water, but who cares. It's like swimming in the ocean without having to worry about all the nasty things. (*note they have several freshwater pools also).Very very uncrowded and laid back. I will go back for sure. I even took my wife to the shooting range and discovered she is a natural with an M-16. They have a real Colt M-16 A-1 fully auto capable with an M-203 grenade launcher attached you can shoot. Imagine that ! The instructor apologized for not having rounds for the 40mm Grenade launcher.. ( I had to explain I was joking) LOL.

We also got couples massages for 1 hour for 50 bucks apiece. That is unheard of cheap at a resort much less anywhere else. The same massage at a resort in Jamaica or at at health spa here in the states is well over 100 dollars.

The Breakfast bar was a little pricey but heck your at a resort. It was almost the same price as the buffet at the Radisson downtown. There are other options. The in room Breakfast was about 10 dollars U.S., which is not bad at all.

All in all for what you get it is a real bargain. It is beyond friendly and if you want to do your own thing it is big enough to escape a crowd. I recommend going down to the dock and feeding the fish. The attendant got a bag of bread and the fish put on quote a show.

I plan to stay for a week next time and if I had known how nice it was I would have come out of the province and stayed longer this time.

Room Tip: They don't have bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scruffydawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear scruffydawg,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the moments you spent with your wife at the firing range and at the spa. It was also nice of you to share that Plantation Bay’s service is “beyond friendly” and that all our rooms are similarly appealing.

We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,873 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have just finished our stay in this hotel (7 nights). Let start by the positive points: very kind staff, a lot of different pools and...
For the rest, many aspects must be improved to reach the rating of a 4/5 stars hotel: the lagoon (which is artificial!) is very durty, the beach towels are stained ( time to change them!), the staff is not competent (phone call during the night, very slow reaction when we needed a simple ombrella), the breakfast buffet is disappointing (for 24u$, you could expect at least a fresh orange juice), no possibility to have dinner close to the hotel. Overall, if you want to come to Philippines, you can probably find better deals in Boracay for example.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Lasad_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Lasad_J,

Thank you for your kind comments about our facilities and staff, and for calling some lapses in service to our attention. We will do our best to improve for your next stay here.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My family celebrated the birthday of one of our children in this wonderful place, we were not expecting that this place is really awesome. There is a beach with white sand, a swimming pool, a cozy hotel rooms where you can choose staying near the pool or near the gardens. The theme of this place is like a resort within a resort, you will not get tired of surprises. We had our money's worth. Our daughter's birthday was unforgettable and besides all the staff are friendly and more than accommodating. We asked a man who is working there about a spot we where about to go( the place is huge and you might get lost) he really went out of his way to show it to us. Thank you for the unforgettable stay definitely we will go back!

Room Tip: Choose the room near the pool you can swim even during night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Tessa B,

It is always nice to read about how our guests had an unforgettable stay at Plantation Bay. Thank you for sharing how the resort’s ambience and service became pleasant surprises and how your daughter had a memorable birthday celebration with us.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There's something for everyone in this place! Other than swimming in the no. of pools they have, you could go wall climbing, shoot some arrows, golf, go biking, use the gym or play in their gameroom. All of these come free when you check in one of their rooms. The scenery was great which was perfect for our most favorite activity - picture taking.

It's a great place to relax also for the place was quite and serene. I think it was just me and my friends who were making the rackus over there. Thankfully, we did not receive any complaints. I'll definitely be back someday!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ysaik0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear ysaik0,

Thank you for the rave reviews about your visit to Plantation Bay. We're pleased that you enjoyed the many swimming pools and found the scenery perfect for picture taking.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fantastic place to visit. Beautiful, exotic, but very expensive. Best to visit during day and stay elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2012
1  Thank Zeus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Sean C,

We are glad that you realized your dream holiday in Plantation Bay. Our rates and sample prices are readily available on our website and comparable to or are even lower than other 5-star hotels in Cebu. When you visit us next time, please remind us of your comment about prices, so we can provide options on how to get the best value of money at Plantation Bay.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Been here twice, the first time was around 13 years ago and it already blew my mind. During my second trip, I noticed some changes in the place, and I am happy to say that this place only improves with age.

The unique thing about Plantation bay is the way it is laid out like a small village rather than the typical hotel setup where everything is in a big enclosed building(s). Like most large resort hotels, they have multiple bars / restaurants, but because of its design, moving from one place to another feels like you are bar hopping around town but never having to leave the place.

the food is amazing and the views were stunning, but I think the best thing about this place is the service, everyone greets you with a smile and my favorite is their strict (and I mean strict) no tipping policy. No influence of tips ensures that everyone is treated the same way.

Plantation Bay can be quite a relaxing experience, it is like you are transported to a different place, a stark contrast to the hustle and bustle of Metro Cebu.

Room Tip: There are many room types available, from apartment type rooms to single detached bungalows, it real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dok418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear dok418,

Thank you for the glowing review. We are pleased to learn that our food and service have won you over and that you are a fan of our no tipping policy. Plantation Bay does its best to make sure our guests need not go far to relax and have fun and we are happy that you had such an enjoyable experience during your recent stay.

Thanks again for the kind sentiments.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Very relaxing resort, facilities are great, people are friendly. We got the family room with two double deck, 1 queen sized bed, bean bags in front of the flat screen with playstation 3, a  dining table and a basket full of complimentary snacks what more can you ask for. There are plenty of activities in the resort, each member of the family will truly have a great time. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anyabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Anyabear,

We are pleased to know that you liked our family room and that your family members had a great time with our activities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Plantation Bay Resort and Spa soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
729 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $191 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing