We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Nearby Hotels
$261
$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
$44
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
$97
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$268
$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$235
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eloisa Royal Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
$59
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goldberry Suites & Hotel(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
$60
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haruhay Dream Resort(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,955)
Filter reviews
1,955 results
Traveler rating
989
636
170
85
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
989
636
170
85
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno tipping policysalt waterwall climbingfiji restaurantlagoon sidesavannah grillmogambo springskilimanjaro cafefiring rangewater poolsman made lagoonlagoon view roomswim up barpaddle boardingpoolside roomgames roomday trippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,054 - 1,059 of 1,955 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The facilities are great, the food is great, the people are friendly and everything there promotes great relaxation with the option of fun. There are plenty of activities to be involved in if you want to avoid being another sun soaking geriatric. The Hawaiian nights and the Filipino nights are great. The way that all the employees are happy is a reflection of how management treats the staff. I enjoyed firing off a few rounds in the firing range located in the hotel grounds and kayaking around the huge man made lagoon/pool.I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Theyre all good.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Reuben K,

Thank you for rating Plantation Bay Resort and Spa the best hotel in the country. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our various leisure activities as well as the Theme Dinner Buffets. Next time you come back, catch our Rockin' USA, Sahara Nights, and Brazilian Fever shows, too!


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

It's really sensible to not allowing tipping in the resort, it saves a lot for us as we would probably need to tips everyone in the resort, they provided with top class service! All of them are so friendly and eager to offer help in all kinds of ways.

We stayed in late July in lagoon side room which has a nice balcony and just few steps to the pool. Comfortable bed and spacious bathroom.

The only thing we would blame was the weather. If it keeps sunny all the time, we will probably stay at the pool all the time. You never need to worry about finding a lounge chair for sun bathing as there are plenty of them ready for you. Bath towels are easily accessible.

Never miss out the spa !! Therapists are all professional !

The location is a little bit far away from the city centre compared to other resorts, yet with such a great resort, you probably don't want to leave it. No worry , Taxi is also at low cost.

Just a little tips if you are not in great budget. Always wait for the public taxi by Meter. The hotel does offer hotel car to bring you out, yet extra cost applied as you gotta pay for the convenience and time saved. If for large family who probably need two taxis, hotel cars are definitely great choice though.

But some of the taxi drivers are quite tricky who tried to charge us extra for parking fee , claiming that the resort charge them when they enter the resort, which we believed is just an excus as only one cunning taxi driver tried to charge this extra to us!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GracyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear GracyC,

Thank you for sharing how you enjoyed Plantation Bay Resort and Spa's "top-class service", and our no-tipping policy. More experienced travelers like yourselves really appreciate not having to worry about when, how much, or whom to tip, especially at a 5-star resort where staff are serving you throughout the day.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We travel a lot and everywhere we stay always seems to have issues -with noise or service or whatever. I read lots of the reviews before we booked and was interested to say the least to see what it was like.
We were a couple with 2 children 10 &6yrs.
For us it was excelent. Yes very man-made but done well. It made it safe , clean & accessible staff were the best i have encounted - anywhere in the world- well 36 countries anyway. Lots and lots of easy and good stuff for the kids, good selection of restuarants and a big mall 5 mins away for shopping or a change of restuarants . We went the MOOON restaurant 3 times as it was so good.
The people staying at PBR were mostly asian and very well behaved, no noise or trouble of any kind.
For us very, very good value. A few minor issues with pool cleanliness but overall hands down the best place we have been.
There maybe be much better places in Maldives or parts of Thailand however anything approaching this level is way, way more expensive.

Room Tip: we had PP25 , a family room- superb
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyotoRory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear KyotoRory,

We are pleased to learn that, after visiting 36 countries, you consider Plantation Bay the best resort (staff-wise) you have been to yet. Our resort welcomes many different kinds of visitor, but young families like yours are typically among our most appreciative guests.

Thanks again for the high praise, and we wish you well in your future travels!


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

1. Check in and check out were a breeze.
2. All staff members were polite, courteous and friendly. My husband and I had 2 bad experiences at Shangri-la Mactan where we were treated like 2nd class citizens (in our home country at that!). Several of Shangri-la's staff were more courteous and friendly to the Caucasians and Japanese than to us. In Plantation Bay, we felt treated fairly!
3. The Villas were airy, simple and clean. Bathrooms were luxurious!
4. My daughter loved paddling in the lagoon.
5. The lagoons offered a great alternative place for swimming and water fun when the waves were big out at the beach.
6. No tipping policy: this is great since this results in fair and equal treatment of customers.
7. We were not able to avail of their welcome drink so they gave it to us during our departure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yeomatongbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Yeomatongbubble,

Thank you for your enthusiastic comments! We hope to see you and your daughter again soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This resort has everything you need for a relaxing holiday with a family. There are man made lakes and swimming pool everywhere and also a small private beach where you can swim with the tropical fish. We stayed in three resorts/hotels in this region and this was the most expensive. †here is no where to go outside unless you get a taxi. Saying that compared to Perth Australia where we live it was still cheap. There is different themed entertainment and cuisine at night in one of the eateries which was very entertaining. There is a good choice of restaurants/cafes and bars to cater for most people. There are lots of families here all having a good time. We had a pool side room which was very clean but a little noisy at night if you have noisy neighbours like us.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room the lower ones can be noisy from above
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollowaychris8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear hollowaychris8,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your family holiday at Plantation Bay Resort and Spa, and that you found our nightly theme-dinner buffets entertaining. Thank you for sharing your views.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews