We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed every minute of it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2008

WE stayed in Plantation bay for 2 nights and despite the price it was an excellent retreat and vacation hotel for us in Cebu.

The buffet breakfast was great since there was a lot of choices and the staff were very friendly and accomodating.

It also provides a lot of leisure activities like pool, computer, riding in horse drawn carriage, biking,sauna etc

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,269 - 1,275 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2008

Horrible!!! It is a "all fake" resort!!! With a lot of bling bling and very noisy!!!!! You cannot sleep from the music outside and later you cannot sleep from the noisy neighbours - you can hear everything through the walls!!!!
The food was really horrible, we could not even eat what we ordered....and the breakfast is by far overpriced!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The rooms are dated and not tasty or inviting at all!!!!
Therefore the rates are by far too high! We definetly don't know what people like about this resort!

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Hongkonglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

Our stay at Plantation Bay was surely great, relaxing and delightful. It took all our worries/stress from work and our other day-to-day activities. My husband and I had a good time marveling at the beauty of the resort and we have once again achieved our goal of at least seeing an ‘out-of-ordinary’ place in a year.

Although the coaster that was suppose to fetch us at Mactan Airport had a problem with its radiator, the attendant was able to get for us a van right away to bring us to the resort. We were welcomed at the lobby by good-looking attendants. Coleen in particular attended to us in a very sweet and polite manner. She even gave us choices of room. We were booked to stay at a lagoon-view room. To our knowledge, that’s supposed to be on the second or third floor. But she said that they have lagoon-view rooms at the ground level that has better access to the lagoons, although the lagoon view rooms at the 2nd or 3rd floor has better view of the resort. We opted for the ground level lagoon view room, and indeed the Tahiti Room that we got was nice and strategically located. It’s near the salt water lagoons, the freshwater swimming pools, the restaurants (Savannah, Kilimanjaro and Palermo) and the Mogambo Springs (whose facilities we were able to use to the max; thanks to HSBC credit card), and we didn’t have to tire ourselves going up and down the stairs. J

The room where we stayed was well kept. We had a king-sized bed (which we really requested). We had complimentary bottles of water and small packs of dried mangoes everyday. The bath and toilet were clean and well designed. Hot and cold water was not a problem, although we can hear the noise of the water ripples in pipes whenever the occupants above us (2nd floor) use their own bath and toilet.

Plantation Bay also has a state-of-the-art gym facilities. What we’re so happy about is that my husband and I were able to do our workout even if we were out of town. There’s also a bike that you can borrow for an hour for free and for the succeeding, they charge P150 per hour. (Although, they’re not that strict on the 1-hour free policy.)

They have also mini jeeps that go around the resort on a regular basis. It can take you from one place to another, and yet again for free. They also have horse-drawn carriages (karitela) that can bring you around too. We had a nice ride with the coach driver, Mang Boy. He even took a picture of us with his horse. J

And yes, the no tipping policy is strictly followed. The attendants and the room boys really wouldn’t accept them. And even with this policy, they’re service is still excellent and well performed.

Mogambo Springs: The BEST. They have a sauna and steam room, cold and hot Jacuzzi pools. We used these facilities everyday. They usually have a cover charge of P300 per head to enjoy these facilities but since we’re HSBC cardholders, we were given unlimited use. My husband and I actually enjoyed the serene & tranquil moments. Ambiance is so relaxing compared to the noise you get to hear near the lagoons and pools. Massage was ordinary but the attendants were courteous as ever. It’s also pricey but you only get to experience it once-in-a-blue-moon anyway.

We also experienced doing the dive at one of the lagoons with the diving rock. A lot of foreigners were trying it (especially Koreans) so we decided to go for it. It was a thrill and it was fun. My husband gets to do it several times because he wants a picture-perfect photo taken. I did it once, just for the experience.

Plantation Bay at night is unruffled and quiet. When we were there on our last night, almost everyone was back to his or her rooms, I think. J The only noise we hear were coming from the nearby restaurants. A few people are swimming. My husband and I are so much enjoying relaxing on our sun-beds, delighting on the good life we were currently experiencing!

And lastly the food: It was good/delectable but so pricey. You really have to allow budget for this. Buffet breakfast at Kilimanjaro was almost P1,000.00 per head. But they do offer a wide range of selection. Everyday, they have different themes. Friday is Mexican, Saturday is Mediterranean, Sunday is Filipino, Other days, they have Chinese, etc.. What we tasted was the Mediterranean set and we liked it. There were lots of fruits!!! The hamburger and hotdog at Savannah Grill were also scrumptious. French fries were nicely cooked, but again, expensive. I advise that you bring/pack your own little “meriendas” but be discrete. They don’t check your luggages anyway. Pack also water and sodas if you wish, it is really expensive to buy a can of soda, almost P150 + service charge. We also tried Fiji restaurant. Their lobster and barbeque are the best. You would have to shelve out more money, but what the heck… It’s lip smacking! The only restau we weren’t able to try was Palermo. It’s Italian themed and it opens at evenings only.

Over all, Plantation Bay was worth our time, money and thought! We wouldn’t miss it for the world.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dreamy_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

I have stayed at the Plantation Bay before, and it always comes through. This last trip was no exception.

My mom organized a family reunion at the Plantation Bay for 4 days and 3 nights last November 1 - 4, 2007. Everyone had a great time!

First, it is always a good idea to book way in advance; this way you get better rates. My mom had planned this 6 months ahead of time, and so she got really fabulous rates. It is also best to contact the hotel directly; they can arrange all manner of things to one's liking.

Since we were a large group, 38 people to be exact, the hotel got us our own bus for our airport transfers. I am sure that if other people had to share with us, they would have been deafened by the constant chatter.

Once we arrived, we waited just a short time before we were herded off to the electric trams to bring us and our luggage to our rooms. Most of the families were booked into 2-bedroom suites. You can't beat the comfort and huge, huge bathrooms. The younger set preferred to stay at rooms at the water's edge, where you can just step off your porch into the saltwater lagoon.

Our own immediate family stayed at the resort's equivalent of a Presidential Suite, called the Quantum Villas. It is composed of 4 separate suites arranged around a private pool and one's very own private function pavilion, which had its own bar, refrigerator, water dispenser, television, living room area, and a huge dining table. To arrange for a bartender/housekeeper, one needs only to call. It was very convenient for everyone to meet there and was a safe place to watch the younger children.

The resort has quite a lot of facilities. The resort gives every guest a guide to all these. There are all sorts of water sports available, and anyone can rent a bicycle and ride around the resort. For those who don't want to skip their exercise regimen, there's the gym, and the paths are pleasant to run.

The main, and best feature is the saltwater lagoon. Seawater is filtered and pumped into the man-made lagoon and one can enjoy being in a beach atmosphere without the inconveniences of a real beach, such as jellyfish (quite prevalent at this time of year), sea urchins lurking in the sand, and the slimy caress of seaweeds. If you're the type who doesn't like to rough it, this is the resort for you.

There is an actual beach but it is very small although picturesque when viewed from the dining area above it. Galapagos Beach is mainly enjoyed by foreigners.

The food is plentiful and savory; local dishes are a must-try.

Also, they have a very strict no-tipping policy. The service is very good although if you call for room service at noon, expect delays as this will be a peak time for them.

Nearby attractions include the Lapu-Lapu monument, and more important (for the shoppers of the family), the Sutukil area where there are local crafts (such as long strings of egg pearls) to be had at very low prices and the best fresh seafood restaurant around (Salo-Salo sa Sutukil). It is very casual, and you may be put off by the wet bathrooms but the food is excellent. Try steamed blue crabs, a ceviche of fish, and their adobong pusit (squid).

And don't forget to miss seeing Magellan's Cross at the Basilica of the Santo Nino, which is also where the oldest image of the Child Jesus resides, as it was originally brought from Spain more than 300 years ago.

Finish off a day's touring with dinner at the Lighthouse, located at the Metro Gaisano mall, where you can partake of roast suckling pig tender enough to be cut by a plate (very much in the Portuguese style).

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank miranjelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

This place was the resort my kids and partner loved! I have stayed here twice, my first time was not that great as the swimming pool made me extremely itchy, that they had to get the nurse to give me a check over!

But when we stayed there last October, I was fine swimming in there water and loved it too. We stayed at the penthouse, it was cheaper for us 8 people to stay in that particular room than to booked 3 different rooms! So why not?!

I do think they should packaged some of there rooms with breakfast it would make things a little bit easier.

We liked the service and the people who stayed there too, as my children made a few american friends. Thoroughly enjoyed it and I would highly recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shuty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

2 nights stay at this hotel was one of the worst vacations i had. First off, Rooms are old, they mask it by saying it's the "rustic appeal" -whatever that means. carpets, sheets, bathroom and most things you see are dirty compared to other 5 star hotels (must be part of the rustic appeal though) then there are so many Korean tourists who are constantly noisy from morning til night, then, just as you are falling asleep, Korean guests start shouting outside your door- and it's 1:00 a.m., then you ask what the noise is all about and they tell you they have Korean arrivals. In the morning after you eat breakfast (which is not included in their room rate), you just decide to go to the city to get "away from it all"- you inquire about transportation and the front desk lady points to a table where you have to inquire. the price of their car service blows you away! and they wont let you get a cab so you are forced to take their car! Best part of staying here is the check out. No tipping policy? maybe a bad idea...

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank borachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

Plantation Bay is a delight and on the first visit a genuine surprise to come across a resort that looks like it should be in the Deep South of the US yet located in the Philippine Islands.

It is a resort for families as it is safe and with lots of activities but for couples or older folks being enclosed inside one resort can be boring and you need a car to get anywhere else.

The resort has been beautifully constructed so it is very highly recommended for weekend stays and longer if you have a young family.

There are a number of restaurants in the resort but I wish they were more adventourosu with the food, regular buffets are not enjoyable for regular travellers but overall it is super

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AngusPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
729 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $190 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Otel, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing