We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinoy Spanish food”
Review of Hola Espana

Hola Espana
Ranked #25 of 227 Restaurants in Lapu Lapu
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stay away from this place if you are expecting authentic Spanish food; everything on their menu has been "Philippinenized" to suit local taste plus recipes and ingredients are not Spanish. We ordered a large Valenciana Paella(which they said was house specialty, and amongst the most expensive items on menu) and the rice came out dry and seafood toppings all minuscule, although we did get a lot of large wedges of lemon instead. The US Angus ride eye steak was tough and sinewy at PHP 1,800; I doubt that steak had ever been close to the USA!!

Service dismal and staff very unknowledgeable of menu offerings, asking about menu items resulted in mumbled descriptions leaving one more confused after asking. The restaurant also suffers from appearing "closed" even while one is dining as certain sections are closed and lights turned off, very strange ambiance altogether.

Some of the menu items tasted sweet, obviously adapted to the local taste; during my travels throughout Spain, I rarely ate anything sweet unless it was a dessert.

If you are looking for authentic, head to Enye at Crimson, which although not brilliant, offers a much better rendition of Spanish food and quality.

Hola Espana obviously is confused as what to offer as being a Spanish restaurant they also throw in Italian items, saw some pizzas floating around also...

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank World_Traveler8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 245 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

We thought the same as many to have a break from the Shangri La and try a local cheaper place.

Sadly they didn’t deliver.

The Caesar Salad was white iceberg with dressing and 1 crouton. The Spanish Omelette was ok but cold.
The Squid was just Ok but I’d guess frozen and very ordinary.

The fish was much more expensive than at the Shangri La Cowrie restaurant and supposedly Dory. I’d say it was frozen Basa farmed Fish, crumbed, undercooked.

The Pizza looked ok so if you go maybe stick to that.

It’s a shame as it’s a nice place and a perfect alternative to the hotel but totally underwhelming. With so many good chefs and good ingredients, there’s no excuse for this place.

It was marginally cheaper than Cowrie by a few hundred Pesos but way under in service and food.

No revisit.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank ScambusterSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

Good food / Few people , just what we really needed. If you are craving for Spanish food , this is a good place to go. Just right in front of Shangrila Hotel

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank mskaryoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

we were checked in @shangrila and after weve tried every in house restaurant, we wanted to try nearest one outside. we should have just gone to Jollibee seriously

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank simisterignacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

The menu is long.. and they have lots offerings. However the dishes i had were just ok but i dont think I will be going back soon.

They also serve pizza which was the best thing I ordered. The black ink paella was ok as well. The gambas, salad etc etc was nothing magical.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank accebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hola Espana also viewed

 
Mactan Island, Cebu Island
Mactan Island, Cebu Island
 
Mactan Island, Cebu Island
 

Been to Hola Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing