We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little eatery”
Review of Hola Espana

Hola Espana
Ranked #29 of 142 Restaurants in Lapu Lapu
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice little eatery”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Directly across from the entrance to The Shangri-La is Hola Espana. It is a small, unassuming restaurant with a Spanish theme (unsurprisingly) but pizza and pasta also available (there appears to be a pizzeria upstairs). Menu is as expected offering tapas and Spanish style main courses. Service was prompt if not a little erratic. I plumped for three tapas dishes which were served rather randomly either side of a superb bouillabaisse. My wife had Australian tenderloin which was a bit heavy on the garlic but declared a hit. My daughter had a gnocchi and the clean plate said more than words could. The menu is accompanied by a wine list whilst very impressive is rather odd given it is almost exclusively Italian with no Spanish wines featured. However being big fans of Italian reds we found no problem in ordering a lovely Ripasso for about £35. The wine list was probably deserving of a more upmarket restaurant but it was nice to have such a wide choice of wines from all over Italy.
The whole bill came to less than £100 for three courses, coffees and a couple of 18yo Macallan that shocked and delighted this single malt enthusiast as it was sold at under £4 a dram.
Highly recommended for guests of The Shangri-La and other nearby hotels who might want a change from the hotel offerings at a very reasonable price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    65
    47
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“reasonable”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We visited at dinner time and took some cheese and hamon serano, squid paella and beef steak.the food was just good or I should say more than price so if you stay Shangli-ra or Movenpick, you can try it as you can walk there. Wine was also reasonable but small selection. and the churos was so greasy and heavy which I do not recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kymy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

It was the only place right out side the Shangri-La. We did not try it and took taxis to other places due to the poor reviews here. Then a few days in needed a change from the resort and walked here. Loved it. Tried a number of items all were good the pizza excellent. Service was typical of that in Cebu and on the slow side of acceptable

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in Cebu!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Love this restaurant! While I have only dined at this location near the Shangi-La Mactan a couple of times, I have been to the location in Cebu City so many times over the years that I have lost count. One thing that remains the same is the fabulous food and wine! I highly recommend the Filets, Tapas and the Vegetable Paellea. The Co-owner/GM, Mr. Villarreal, is a legend. Ask him about soccer/football or the Hollywood Rat Pack (he was and still is quite the dashing gentleman) and what an amazing conversationalist you will find him to be.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome Sangria and yummy 'tortilla espanola', at to-be-expected tourist prices”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This restaurant is located directly opposite of the Movenpick and Shangri-la hotels in Mactan, and presumably receive the bulk of their business from guests staying in these two premium establishments, so the touristy price tag is to be expected. By international standards the food really isn't pricey I admit, but by local standards it most definitely is. Having said that however, the food and drink is really decent all things considered, and our group of 6 had an overall enjoyable meal in a pleasant setting with good service.

The winning dishes were the tortilla espanola (we even had seconds because it was so yummy!) and their deliciously potent Sangria – the pitcher was gone in minutes. Skip the chorizo (more of pork belly than chorizo) and the marinated mushrooms, both of which were highly forgettable and rather disappointing for a Spanish restaurant. The garlic soup was tasty, and the paella (even if not entirely authentic) was satisfying and substantial. If you have a sweet tooth, you’ll probably find the desserts to your liking. My personal recommendations would be the ginger crème brulee – surprisingly very good even if not particularly Spanish in origin - and the classic churros.

We actually dropped by to lunch with friends who were staying at the Movenpick, but otherwise would have chosen to dine elsewhere. If you’re staying at either the nearby Movenpick or Shangri-la hotels in Mactan, this would be an excellent lunch or dinner option for days when you’re not keen to stray far from your accommodation. The environment is relaxing and laid-back, with a nice alfresco area at the entrance to lounge with your book and Sangria in hand and watch the world go by (and there aren't that many good alternatives within walking distance of these two particular hotels) But I would not recommend this to anyone who has to travel some distance just to get here for a meal.

Just in case this helps - for some bizarre reason, this restaurant has a couple of posters on the walls that state ‘credit cards are not accepted’, but when we inquired about the possibility to pay by credit card, we were told that it was no problem, and we successfully settled the bill by credit card.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hellochubbybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hola Espana also viewed

Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 
Mactan Island, Cebu Island
 
Mactan Island, Cebu Island
 

Been to Hola Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing