We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favorite Restaurant in Cebu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hola Espana

Hola Espana
Ranked #30 of 133 Restaurants in Lapu Lapu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in Cebu!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Love this restaurant! While I have only dined at this location near the Shangi-La Mactan a couple of times, I have been to the location in Cebu City so many times over the years that I have lost count. One thing that remains the same is the fabulous food and wine! I highly recommend the Filets, Tapas and the Vegetable Paellea. The Co-owner/GM, Mr. Villarreal, is a legend. Ask him about soccer/football or the Hollywood Rat Pack (he was and still is quite the dashing gentleman) and what an amazing conversationalist you will find him to be.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    62
    46
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome Sangria and yummy 'tortilla espanola', at to-be-expected tourist prices”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This restaurant is located directly opposite of the Movenpick and Shangri-la hotels in Mactan, and presumably receive the bulk of their business from guests staying in these two premium establishments, so the touristy price tag is to be expected. By international standards the food really isn't pricey I admit, but by local standards it most definitely is. Having said that however, the food and drink is really decent all things considered, and our group of 6 had an overall enjoyable meal in a pleasant setting with good service.

The winning dishes were the tortilla espanola (we even had seconds because it was so yummy!) and their deliciously potent Sangria – the pitcher was gone in minutes. Skip the chorizo (more of pork belly than chorizo) and the marinated mushrooms, both of which were highly forgettable and rather disappointing for a Spanish restaurant. The garlic soup was tasty, and the paella (even if not entirely authentic) was satisfying and substantial. If you have a sweet tooth, you’ll probably find the desserts to your liking. My personal recommendations would be the ginger crème brulee – surprisingly very good even if not particularly Spanish in origin - and the classic churros.

We actually dropped by to lunch with friends who were staying at the Movenpick, but otherwise would have chosen to dine elsewhere. If you’re staying at either the nearby Movenpick or Shangri-la hotels in Mactan, this would be an excellent lunch or dinner option for days when you’re not keen to stray far from your accommodation. The environment is relaxing and laid-back, with a nice alfresco area at the entrance to lounge with your book and Sangria in hand and watch the world go by (and there aren't that many good alternatives within walking distance of these two particular hotels) But I would not recommend this to anyone who has to travel some distance just to get here for a meal.

Just in case this helps - for some bizarre reason, this restaurant has a couple of posters on the walls that state ‘credit cards are not accepted’, but when we inquired about the possibility to pay by credit card, we were told that it was no problem, and we successfully settled the bill by credit card.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hellochubbybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place seems to be in a convenient location near several big hotels (it was right next to ours) and it does have a decent ambience, but our food was dissapointing. We ordered the black paella for two, which turned out to be a pan of black rice with 3 shrimp thrown on top. Anybody that knows what a paella is would agree that this wasn't it. The prices are probably slightly lower that what we would have paid at our hotel that night, but given the huge difference in quality it hardly seemed worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JmanPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It's pretty good.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Spanish and Italian together. Our first meal in cebu, so nothing to compare to. But as far as taste goes, not bad! The black paella is good, give it a try. The pizzas are very thin, more like a flatbread. Service is attentive, but our group was the only people in the restaurant in the late afternoon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hayashi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance and GREAT food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's located just across Shangrila resort in Mactan island.
It's got nice ambiance and European - bar like settings. The food was very good. Taste like the real ones.
Service was good as well with the waiter being so friendly.
Thank you for that...
The background music played latin songs.. so it was a plus

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank iraSmurA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hola Espana also viewed

Mactan Island, Cebu Island
 

Been to Hola Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing