We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went during the 25th anniversary of the resort, which probably contributed to everything and everyone feeling quite festive. As soon as we arrived at the airport, a nice man offered to help us with our luggage and ushered us to the Bluewater Maribago coaster for its free transfer service. The ride to the property took no more than 30 minutes. When we arrived, we were greeted by a handful of their staff, handing out fresh lemongrass coolers and cold towels, and they gently placed blue beaded leis around our necks. With all their wonderful, smiling faces, it was a really warm welcome.

We arrived on the first flight to Cebu, but they managed to arrange for early check-in. Half of our group had to be temporarily accommodated at another suite while our actual rooms were still occupied, but some hotels don't even offer to do this "so we can lay down while waiting" so we appreciated the initiative. We also didn't mind because the breakfast buffet was already open, so we got our first taste of their fare.

Their offerings were pretty extensive, with plenty of choices for proteins, starches, soups, salads, yogurts, cereals, and sweets. Coffee was excellent. It must be noted that their menu probably has a three-day rotation period, and since we stayed for four, we noticed a "repeat" of the same dishes on the last day. I didn't mind at all, because there were some dishes that were worth having again.

The beach was unimpressive, as with most of the inland shores of Mactan, as they are unnaturally manipulated into man-made lagoons and sand bars. (On good weather days, you have the option to go island hopping to better beaches, made available at their activity shack found on the beach. You can ask their boat men and dive instructors for suggestions.) On the other hand, the resort is unique with its little pockets of villas, each with their own swimming pools. The swimming pools were all impeccably maintained, and very enjoyable. The pool closest to the Allego dining area and bar is so pretty, surrounded by trees and vibrant bougainvilleas! (It was unfortunate that there were some foreign guests at the time whom I caught spitting in the water of the pool near Amuma!)

My most favorite part of my entire stay was the sauna cabin and jacuzzi in the Amuma Spa wing. I stayed there for hours, just alternating between the cool jacuzzi with water running down from rocks, and the steam cabin right behind it. For me, it was a picturesque and delightful experience. I've never seen and had anything like it in all my travels.

It rained for most of our stay, but there were may activities around the resort, like free use of the billiards and table tennis tables in the recreation area. Across from it, there was a pond where they had shark feeding daily at 4:00 (which I regrettably missed!)

I wish I didn't have any substandard things to say, but I honestly did not get a good night's sleep the entire time; which was surprising since the beds and pillows were comfortable enough, the surroundings were peaceful, and the temperature of the A/C was pleasant. Also, though most of the staff were one of the reasons why our stay was so fantastic (they had a really personal manner of serving, and just made me feel like a part of their family -- kudos to Ronaldo and Rolando? The server at the seafood restaurant and the boatman? -- some of them seemed blank and lost. But they were definitely a minority to an overall wonderful trip. Happy anniversary, Bluewater Maribago! Excited for your many more years of Amuma!

Room Tip: Each wing has its special offerings: the Amuma for those who wish to be closer to the spa, then ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

Although I only stayed here for one night, I was impressed by the facilities and hospitality at Bluewater. Rooms were clean and spacious and the pool was relaxing. I found the meals to be a tad overpriced and the servings were small. Drinks and dessert were both tasty and reasonably-priced. Very efficient check-in and check-out process and the staff are friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank obses2ion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is late review sorry. Food was really good. But a bit expensive. Rooms are neat and spacious. Bathroom big. Staff were really courteous and always ready to assist. Best to book thru an agent/agency as rate is bit expensive and youlll get good discount with an accredited agency. Best for families... But also romantic place for couples..specially dinner by the beach...

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank Luisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This wonderful big resort is excellent for stay with family or group of friend.
Has got very nice big swimming pool, access to beach and wonderful bar and restaurant with excellent breakfast buffet.
Only if they take care of guests little better, take care of cleaning bathrooms and communicate about mass corporate events during the booking process so that guests can plan well

Booking Experience & Arrival
Booking was smooth, all the email confirmation and negotiations were handled well.
Booking staff is very open, proactive and making sure you get everything before arrival.

Arrival was completely handled badly.
During booking it was confirmed to us that Airport pick-up is arranged, flight details were shared, however at the airport we were told there was no Airport Pick-up arranged for us. Which became very frustrating as it was only arranged after lot of convincing to the staff along with showing proof.
Upon arrival at the resort, we were presented with welcome drink which was nice.

During the check-in process we were told that one part of the resort will be closed next day as they had some big corporate booking for a day, while they were offering free city tour etc. but when you get such surprise after the arrival when your trip plan in-fact had one day to spend in the resort is not so good treatment.

Apart from that, first time in Philippines we were asked to pay Deposit amount (50% of total room cost) along with 100% payment for your stay, which is extremely frustrating.
Had to spend almost an hour convincing why do we have to put additional deposit when we are paying 100% in advance? had to tell them to cancel the booking, thats when they let go of the deposit amount.

Rooms (2/5)
Rooms were very nice and specious, however bathrooms were totally mess, specially bath-tub with bugs and dirt.
We had books 4 rooms, out of those 1 room was given exactly facing Aircon exhaust so face all the heat all the time, we had to literally beg to get the room changed.

The room location is also very noisy were outside of resort there are some bars and restaurants kept playing loud music till late night, and early morning honking started, we hardly could sleep. (given that Spa pavilion we were expecting calm environment)

Another surprise was when we were told rooms and Spa Pavilion is "Non-Smoking", and we saw other guests were smoking without any issues, when one of my friend lit up the smoke, he was asked to go outside to smoke. (seems rules are applicable to some guests only)

Services (4/5)
Everyone (except front desk and lobby manager) are very helpful, always smiling, happy to help, faster services time and make sure they attend to you as fast as possible

Food (5/5)
Only reason we would go back to this resort is food. Awesome breakfast spread, restaurants and bars are very well stocked and many options.
Services are also very nice. Special mention to "Gill" who not only served our food with smiling face but went out of his regular job to ensure we get fully satisfied with the food services

Things to do (4/5)
Very nice beach front gives you access to take a dip whenever you want (provided it is not closed due to corporate bookings)
They have a small island strip just a 2 swim laps away where you can have some quiet time.
3 big swimming pools gives you many options and ample space to relax
some artificial ponds with fishes gives an additional quiet time for yourself

Overall (3/5)
Next day when they had about 1000 people arriving for corporate booking, it was a mess, very noisy, they couldnt handle these many people so staff was unable to meet the expectations of existing guests. They should really "stop" such mess.

They need to upgrade their game room, pool table is very old, table tennis table and rackets are broken or worn-out, Foosball table is non-playable

while we had many challenges, hotel manager did understood what we went through and did ensure we get some freebies like City drop and pick-up, early check-in, late check-out for 2 rooms. Which was really a nice gesture.

I would recommend my fellow travelers to definitely visit this nice resort, to experience wonderful scenery and food, but please make sure you ask for rooms which are not noisy, make sure they dont have corporate booking as well as airport pickup.

Room Tip: Get beach facing room only, Amuma Spa pavilion gets very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mehul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were in Cebu for a family wedding and the groom suggested we stay at a beachside property for our holiday even though the wedding & reception were in Cebu city. We were lucky that transport was provided for us by our hosts so we didn't need to worry about taxis etc - wouldn't have liked to walk around outside the resort as everywhere seems a bit of a mish-mash and fairly grubby. All staff at the resort very helpful, premier deluxe bedroom & bathroom absolutely huge - quiet but no sea view. Good choice of restaurants at reasonable prices and buffet breakfast which was included had the most enormous choice. Lovely to have a choice of 3 pools plus the sea. Adequate exercise room and prices in the Amuma Spa were very reasonable. Quite a few functions at the weekend but luckily we were out at the wedding one day and on the Sunday, although the music was loud, it only lasted from 5-10pm so wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: Choose a Premier Deluxe or above for lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed there for the weekend, the rooms in the Amuma spa wing are spacious with an equally big bathroom! Great accommodations. The burger is to die for. If you ever visit, you should try the bluewater burger. Beefy, juicy and very good! However, the staff especially in the restaurant need more training. They don't clear out the dishes from the veranda where we ate if they aren't told. We had lunch last sunday, left for the city and came back 6 hours later. The dishes from lunch were not yet cleared. They probably expected us to clean up. Although the staff are courteous, they still need to be told what to do.

Room Tip: Get a room from the amuma wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 364Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet and clean beach geataway in Cebu make sure to stay at Bluewater Maribago Resort. The cottages are big and spacious. Plus you get your own thong sleepers when you checkin. The staff are nice and friendly. And food, especially the breakfast caters for all types of palate. I recommend this place if you are looking for your next getaway!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Geraille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
720 reviews
2.5 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 43 in Mactan Island
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $90 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing